We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Iroquois New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Iroquois New York
Ranked #38 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

The Iroquois Hotel it is a recommendable place for staying in New York City, the situation is perfect close to Times Square and Grand Central Terminal. The room very comfortable and the staff all the time is taking care about you.


  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MontseD532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear MontseD532,

Thank you for choosing the Iroquois New York and for your feedback on your recent stay! We hope to see you again soon and if you need any assistance arranging your next NYC visit please don't hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,323
    868
    168
    57
    31
See reviews for
815
1,402
206
414
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

I stayed in a few different hotels in NYC during my recent visit. The Iroquois was the most traditional and charming and probably the nicest hotel I have tried in NYC. I got a good rate, on a Sunday night.

The Iroguois is located in midtown, one block from Times Square and between 5th and 6th Avenue (Av. of the Americas). So it's well located for shopping and access by bus or subway to most places in Manhattan.

When you walk into the lobby it feels like an oasis in midtown. Reception staff are nice and helpful. The very pleasant lobby has free refreshments at various times, fruit or iced lemon water. Off the lobby is a small library, with a couple of desktop computers and printers, so that you can easily print out boarding passes or reservations for your next hotel. There is also free wifi in the lobby and the rooms.

My room was very small, with a window looking out to a fairly large light-well. The room was traditionally and pleasantly furnished with a good bed, small desk, good sized bathroom and a separate walk in wardrobe, that had hanging space and the safe.

Unfortunately the flat screen tv didn't work on most of the channels in my room.

I didn't try breakfast in the hotel, but walked up the street for a minute, past the Algonquin Hotel to a reasonably priced diner/coffee shop for breakfast. There were lots of other cafes in the area.

If you want to stay in an elegant, small, traditional style New York hotel and you can find a reasonable rate, the Iroquois would be hard to beat.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oft_travelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Oft_travelled,

The review you have provided on your recent stay with us is much appreciated and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I apologize in regards to the issues you had with your television and I can assure we don't find that to be a common issue or an acceptable for that matter. We look forward to your next stay and if there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable please feel free to contact us.

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warner Robins, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We booked a 4 night stay to celebrate my husband's retirement from the Air Force at the Iroquois and had a fantastic experience. We had a room on the 10th floor away from the elevators and we never heard any hallway noise or street traffic. Our room was an upgraded king sized room and yes, as others have noted, it was not large. This is very common for NYC. The bed was comfortable, and the towels were nice too. The concierge services were terrific - both Vanessa and Bill were great to work with! They were extremely helpful and quite knowledgeable of the area. The location of the hotel was perfect. We only took the subway twice our entire visit as most things we wanted to do were within walking distance. The only negative thing was the internet service went down while we were there. It wasn't down long for but neither my Iphone nor our Ipad would connect in the room - it would out in the hallway or in the lobby. Our rate did not include breakfast, yet the Red Flame Diner is right down the street and was ok for a quick bite. So glad we chose to stay at the Iroquois - we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel4fun2148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Travel4fun2148,

Thank you for staying at the Iroquois New York! We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and that we were able to make your stay so memorable. I will be sure to pass along your sentiments to Vanessa and Bill and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

This is an old but really nice hotel that has been tastefully updated. The location is superb if you are wanting near Time Square and Broadway. The rates are reasonable for NYC. The bed, bedding and pillows were wonderful. The size of the room was large by New York standards. The decor was very pleasing to the eye. The bathroom was marble and well appointed with high quality toiletries. The front dest staff, which seemed quite young, were all professional, warm and welcoming. They went out of their way to get a room ready for us so that we could check in by 1:30pm (normal check-in is 3:00pm) and drop our luggage in order to make a Broadway show that started at 2:00pm. There is a highly rated french restaurant attached to this hotel but we did not get to use it as they are closed on Sundays. Room service to a limited degree is still available on Sundays. The one and only problem we had with this hotel was the street noise. If you have a room over the street expect to hear EVERYTHING all night long. Trash truck emptying dumpsters at 3:00am, sirens, horns, people yelling, entire conversations like the people talking were right next to you. Something about the buildings along this street traps the noise and sends it upwards. We did not get any sleep as the noise levels were constant all through the night. This wasn't just the usual city noise it was LOUD city noise. I would recommend this hotel as it is quite nice if they can give you a room away from the noise.

Room Tip: Make sure when you book this hotel that you ask for a room that faces away from the front of the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Idratherbesailing69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for your candid review, I’m pleased to know that you were able to enjoy the accommodations as well as our attentive staff. I apologize for the noise you experienced from the street; while we do have sound proof windows on our street side rooms the noisy city streets certainly put them to the test. Luckily we do offer a variety of room categories which are located off the street for any individuals who prefer such as yourself, it is always our pleasure to accommodate your requests to our best ability.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Warm Regards,

Kelli Phillips
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm City
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We enjoyed a 3 day girls weekend at The Iroquois. The proximity to Broadway show and Times Square as well as the metro is superb. Just off the hub, the hotel is very well appointed and the staff are helpful and welcoming. Free wifi added value,too. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lori P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
It is a pleasure to hear we were able to be your home away from home for your girls weekend. Thank you for your complements and we can’t wait to welcome you back!

Warm Regards,

Kelli Phillips
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Went to NYC with my youngest son. This hotel is fabulously located. Easy to get to Times Square, Rockefeller center, easy access to the subway, and the Empire State Building. Staff was great. Breakfast included and good, but nothing special.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay with us here at the Iroquois. I’m pleased to hear you were able to take advantage of our central location and thank your for you compliments of our staff; we pride ourselves on our attention, genuine service.

Please come visit us again soon!

Warm Regards,

Kelli Phillips
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We spent 5 nights at the Iroquois for Easter. Our luggage was lost at London Heathrow and we arrived at 11pm at the hotel with a warm welcome. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is great. The beds were very comfortable, the room was small but very clean. We'll definitely stay at the iroquois again next time we go to NYC.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on a high floor and there was no noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank savon30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to New York, I’m happy to hear that we were able to make a stressful situation less of a challenge for you by providing you with the service you so deserve.

Please come see us again soon; we look forward to welcoming you back!

Kelli Phillips
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,402 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,244 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#63 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#71 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,639 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#60 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iroquois New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iroquois New York

Property: The Iroquois New York
Address: 49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in New York City
#29 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#32 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#41 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iroquois New York 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TravelUp so you can book your The Iroquois New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing