We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Iroquois New York
Ranked #39 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and perfect location”
Reviewed 4 June 2009

We went to New York in February for a week and after much research we decided on the Iroquois mainly due to the reviews on here and also the great rate on hotels.com.

LOCATION
Perfect. Couldn't have asked for anything better, 1.5 blocks from Times Square, literally a 5 minute walk. A lovely street just far enough away from the hustle and bustle.
The Red Flame diner is a few doors down and like many have said in reviews it really is the best diner for breakfast. We went there most mornings before we set off for our day.

HOTEL
Free internet access in the reception which we never had to que for. Recepetion were helpful and helped with any requests we had. Always said good morning etc.
Our room was small but we were expecting this as everyone says it, small really is small!
There was no view, unless you love walls! on our first morning we walked past an open room that was being cleaned and looked much bigger and brighter so we asked the maid if we could move! Recpetion said it was no problem and would be a little extra for the week, we were happy to pay this, we moved everything over and were much happier.
The size of the room really isn't important as you are up and out so early and back late it really is just somewhere to sleep. The toiletries were lovely, molton brown and were replenished daily as were towels.

We had no complaints.

Getting around.
New York is so easy to get around, we were so surprised. We had booked a tour with Real New York Tours thinking we'd never find anything but this tour wasn't until our 3rd day. To our surprise in our first couple of days we'd done miles and found it so easy we were worried we'd wasted money on a tour.

Tours
For people thinking of booking Real New Tours or one similar my advice is to book this at the beginning of your stay ie day 1 or 2. Any later and i don't think it's worth the money.
Ours was a half day and yes it was really interesting and the guide was lovely but we could have done it on our own in hindsight. She did take us to Harlem which we wouldn't have done on our own and took me to Carrie's house :0 ) which again, i wouldn't have found on my own! Just book it for your first days there.

Things to do.

1.WTC Museum Workshop
Go. Worth every penny. Extremely moving. Would highly recommend. 12/10
2.Ellis island
Really enjoyed, more than we thought actually. Don't do the statue of liberty as a seperate trip unless you really want to get off and climb it, the boat to Ellis stops to let people off at Liberty Island so you get a really good look and plenty of photo opps. The boat goes right round too so in my opinion not worth the extra ££
3.Empire State
Worth doing, wanted to do it to say we'd done it, view was well worth the que!
4.Chelsea Market
Really liked it hear, smaller than i thought it was. Stop for chinese, lovely.
5.Grenwich Village
Loved walking about here. Friends building, SATC Carrie's house and of course Magnolia bakery-stop for a cupcake or 2, there lovely.

Had an amazing time and will definatley be back! x

Broadway
We went to see Mary Poppins and it was out of this world. Go and see it you'll love it! We're in our 30's and sat grinning like cheshire cats on the 1st row! Brilliant.
i booked tickets through www.broadwaybox.com and good a good price and got front seats even though it was only 2 weeks before the show.

Eating
Red Flame for breakfasts
John's for pizza.......best pizza ever!
Serendipidy's....we went twice, my b/f loved it! Advice is to book a table as there's always que's outside the door for up to 1hr, we went booked and then went to Macy's did a bit of shopping and went back.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank zipy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,448
    912
    179
    61
    35
See reviews for
873
1,467
217
443
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2009

I've just got back from my stay at The Iroquois and felt compelled to give it a review.

I really liked this hotel. I thought the staff were great (unlike the previous reviewer). I get fed up of that fake "have a nice day" stuff that (some of) our North American friends like so much and I thought the staff here had the balance just right... Not too overfriendly and very helpful when required (I would particularly like to mention the barman Casey).

While the rooms were a little on the small size and my room didn't have much of a view, the bed was fantastic and the bathroom clean. There's free WIFI in every room, an iPod dock, big TV, as well as all the usual stuff (iron/ mini bar/ umbrella/ safe). What else do you want from a hotel room?

The location is great for all the usual sightseeing stuff, (I'm not a huge fan of Midtown) and my step mother, who was visiting NYC for the first time, was equally impressed with The Iroquois.

My only negative point was that the bar shut rather early (around 11pm) on the Saturday night and is closed all day Sunday.

My step mother's (and my) holiday was enhanced by my choosing this hotel. That is recommendation enough for me.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Badbob1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level 6 Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2009

The hotel is located in Midtown Manhattan on 44th Street between 5th and 6th Avenues. It is only about two blocks from the small, but beautiful Bryant Park. The taxi ride from JFK is a flat $45 plus $5 toll and tip. It is a relatively small hotel sharing a narrow street with the Sofitel and another hotels as well as a diner and a few restaurants, including the Triomphe which is the hotel's restaurant and where room service comes from.

I cannot comment on the food because I did not eat any of it. However, the Triomphe was rated high by Zagat (average of about 23 or so). The Internet worked intermittently, but no different from anywhere else in the USA.

The staff were uncaring and barely helpful. Also, when the doorman opened the door for us I overheard him saying to another staff member, "You know Jose only made $20 in tips?" That is just not classy. At night, there was no staff at the desk or no doorman, so security is a bit of a concern. There was a video camera installed in the elevator, but I think people can use the staircase from the first floor. The guy who was there at night was not very friendly or even really tried to be helpful. The concierge was only seen a few times during the day.

The deluxe room was very nice with an old New York feel to it. However, it was a bit cramped New York-style, too. When you go use the toilet and leave the door open, for example, you have to pee sideways because the door blocks your way. Also, the shower/bathtub is an older type in which you need to pull all the way to get proper water pressure and then push a metal stick to have the water come out of the showerhead. The bathroom amenities were alright though. Our rooms faced the courtyard which had a noisy airconditioning system or some kind of machine that hummed loudly all day. The lobby is like a mix between a classic New York pub and someone's living room (there is a den with computer).

The price of the hotel jumped up to double when we tried to add extra nights. So I think we got a very good deal. The manager was helpful and negotiated a lower rate for us which was nice of her.

SUMMARY: This is a four star hotel in quality of the rooms, but I think the service could be much better. It was really lacking when we were there and so I want to give this hotel three and a half stars overall. I would stay somewhere else before choosing the Iroquois Hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Westinhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2009

First time to New York--would definitely recommend the Iroquois--outstanding location near Times Square but far enough from the noise--room was quite small, which is typical for NYC from what we've heard--comfy beds--wonderful shower--pleasant staff--all made for an outstanding trip and anniversary celebration!
Would highly recommend O'Lunney's Pub, Cranberries, Cafe Europa, and Kellaria Taverna. Would not recommend the double decker bus tour.
All in all, an amazing trip! Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank birthdaygirl925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2009

I would and have recommended this hotel to a few people. I have stayed here twice and have now made it my destination for NYC visits. Location is perfect, within a 3-5 minute walk of Broadway, Times Square, Rockefeller Center, Radio City and Fifth Avenue. Tons of great restaurants around the area - but make sure to take in dinner and drinks at Triomphe. Ask for Robin--she is the best! The hotel staff was fabulous, concierge even knew where the best coffee was (The Red Flame)--and she was right. Room was clean and comfortable and the bathroom spotless! You won't be sorry.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank NewYorkGIANTSfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2009

Our stay at the Iroquois got off to a rough start because--after wandering around NYC for a couple of hours, waiting for a room to be ready--we erroneously were put in a smoking room. Though staff at the front desk acknowledged the mistake, they were unable to put us in a non-smoking room that was the size we had reserved (four months earlier). So, we spent our first night at the hotel in a very small non-smoking room, then had to repack in order to be moved for the balance of our stay to the type of room we had reserved. The move did go smoothly; we left our bags in our first room and when we returned later in the day, they had been transferred to the "right" room.
That said, we have visited New York on numerous occasions, never finding--until now--a reasonably-priced (by NYC standards) hotel where we cared to stay a second time. We will stay at the Iroquois again. It has been nicely rehabilitated, the rooms are attractive and comfortable (though some are quite small), the staff was friendly, and the location couldn't be better for visitors. The theater district is just a block or two to the west, Fifth Avenue shopping is a block east, and Grand Central Station is just a bit farther east. And, the legendary Algonquin Hotel--with its lobby bar and resident cat--is two doors away.
Besides initially being put in a smoking room, the only problems we noticed were that there rarely was a concierge on duty (though staff at the front desk could provide assistance) and the promised nightly turn-down service didn't actually occur nightly--and when it did occur, it was strangely early (5:30 p.m.). Housekeeping staff also left tip envelopes in the room, a practice we've not previously seen.
All in all, though, we were very happy at the Iroquois.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Historybuff52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2009

We where staying to do some sightseeing and shopping and catch a show.

The location means 5 min from Broadway, 10 min from Central Park and close to metro.
We travelled all over the city but always experienced the location as easy to get to and did a lot on food.

The room was clean with good appointed bathroom and important clean and comfortable beds (rooms are smaller but size was not a problem).

Staff was very pleasant. Present to help but never pushy and provided some real advice.
Pick up or delivery to airport was arranged well at reasonable price.

Wireless internet could be improved but it did work.

We will most certainly return to this hotel. Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PeterDino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#62 of 467 in New York City
3,194 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
3,626 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#100 of 467 in New York City
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 467 in New York City
2,976 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#66 of 467 in New York City
6,476 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iroquois New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iroquois New York

Property: The Iroquois New York
Address: 49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in New York City
#29 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#36 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#41 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iroquois New York 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your The Iroquois New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing