We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Iroquois New York
Ranked #45 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 January 2010

Incredible location and very comfortable for a hotel in NYC. Friendly service and staff!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank silwie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,733)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,087 - 3,093 of 3,733 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2010

The rare but ultimate Christmas holiday in NYC was only enhanced by the stay at The Iroquois Hotel. From check in to check out we were treated with respect, friendliness and always attended to. Special thanks and note of appreciation to Nick Mullins, Concierge, for his friendly outlook, attention to details, and his selection of restaurants for the holiday season.

Well done, everyone!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RileyPerth_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2010

We stayed in the Iroquois for five nights as part of our honeymoon and we loved every minute of our stay, The staff were very helpful, friendly and courteous. Our room, while small (as most New York hotel rooms are) was extremely comfortable and the furnishings of a very high standard, The frette linens made the bed one of the most comfortable I can honestly say we have ever slept in. The bathroom was pristine and the Molton Brown products which were replenished daily were very luxurious. The hotel was very central but located far enough away from Times Square that you felt removed from the touristy zone. A special word of thanks to the Concierge Nick who was most accommodating when helping us make our dinner reservations. We would return here without any reservation at all and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BmurMlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2010

Quick stop in NYC for shopping and shows between Christmas and New Year's.

Incredible staff did it again, exceeded our expectations. We arrived early, and they got us into rooms due to our, ahem, minor emergency. My daughter had a shampoo bottle explode in her luggage, covering everything. Nick, the new concierge, took over at that point. He got everything to a local laundry, with wash and fold service and it was back by dinner time. The housekeeping staff steam cleaned or power washed the suitcase, and all was fine before we headed out to the theatre. Rooms are cozy, but always comfortable. So comfortable in fact, that getting up the next morning proved difficult.

Kudos too to the staff at Triomphe for their excellent service, fantastic food and extra special care when I needed to send a bottle of Champagne to some guests we had just met.

As we checked out the next day, our luggage was stored (no charge, which is nice) as we had a late flight out that night. After a full day of shopping, we re-sorted our bags in the Library, and were whisked to JFK airport by the hotel's limo service. Perfect from start to finish.

Really, it is my only choice for where to stay while in New York city.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Goose62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2009

Our family with young adults spent a wonderful night in the James Dean Suite at the Iroquois and it could not have been better! The rooms were spacious by New York standards, the bathrooms clean and comfortable, and having the middle lounge in the suite made for a great family time. We were in the city to take in holiday sites and shop so the Iroquois's location was perfect. I had searched for a Times Square area hotel in hopes of a room with a view, but was so thankful I had decided on the Iroquois without the hustle and bustle of the city just outside. The room was quiet which is unbelievable for a city hotel! Parking was also easy and the front desk held our bags both at check-in and check-out. We had the continental breakfast at the hotel which was a great start to a busy day. The offerings of fresh croissants, toasted bagels, granola, yogurt, fresh fruit and smoked salmon and cheeses pleased everyone.

Because the location is central to all we wanted to do, we did spend a bit of relaxation time in our suite. Staying at the Iroquois means you can shop 5th Avenue to Central Park, and return to rest before dinner and evening activities. It made for a nice break in a busy day.

The BEST thing about this hotel is the staff. It was so nice to speak with an in-house reservationist when booking so I certainly was able to arrange lodging as I wanted it - no compromises had to be made in booking the 2 bedroom suite I had requested. Check-in and check-out were flawless. We especially liked Nick, the concierge, who suggested fabulous restaurants within an easy walk. He knows exactly what you are looking for and works magic at getting reservations!!

I agree with other posts that it is a bit of an annoyance to call for ice, but our request was quickly attended to. (and you have to agree that it is SO nice not to hear or see an ice machine around the corner). This is so minor to the wonderful ammenities, the helpful and courteous staff, and the great location that this hotel has to offer. The Iroquois truly is a hotel not to be missed. I only wish we had more time to spend here.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank t00thfairy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2009

Surprised my wife with a last minute trip to NYC. It was the first time either of us had been to Manhattan and staying at the Iroquois couldn't have been more perfect. It's a great location, out of the way and quaint, yet just a very short walk from everything.

We had a standard king room and found the room size quite decent after reading how small NYC hotel rooms can be -- and honestly, if you're hanging out in your room while in NYC your doing it all wrong anyways -- just stay home. ;)

The hotel including our room was impeccable, the staff was very helpful, and the amenities were great. There is a great little hometown bar across the street and down the block 100 yards for when you just want to grab a nightcap -- this is where employees in the area go, cheap drinks & great people. We could have also had the nightcap at the bar in the hotel but wanted to mingle with the locals a little and got to do that which was great.

Only improvements I would make: (1) the high speed internet was a little spotty in the evening and (2) when you want ice you have to call the front desk. I assume it's because they don't want to waste the space for an ice machine room on each floor -- no big deal really, just kind of odd if you are used to staying in chain hotels.

We would (and will) stay at the Iroquois again. Fantastic experience, well worth a 5 star rating.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank helmblogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2009

This hotel is small, but very upscale and comfortable. It is located right in the middle of midtown and close to everything....Times Square, Theatre District and walk short walk to Fifth Avenue for all the shopping.
It is also across the street from the Royalton Hotel which has a great hip bar!
The hotel is immaculate and even though I didn't have a view....it was very cozy and nice!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank msmabel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 469 in New York City
3,700 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#16 of 469 in New York City
3,069 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#63 of 469 in New York City
6,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#64 of 469 in New York City
3,247 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#97 of 469 in New York City
813 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iroquois New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iroquois New York

Address: 49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in New York City
#29 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#40 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#41 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £171 - £438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iroquois New York 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Iroquois New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing