We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Iroquois New York
Ranked #38 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A wonderful boutique hotel”
Reviewed 18 February 2010

We returned from the Iroquois hotel last evening and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. First, the location is FANTASTIC! Our room was very clean, the bed comfortable, and the bathroom large and sparkling. We always appreciate having two comfortable chairs in the room because so many times there is only one. It was great for reading the NYTimes, which is delivered to the door each morning. The hallway was also newly carpeted and clean. We were almost next door to the James Dean suite. We found the staff to be helpful, pleasant, and knowledgable. We ate breakfast at the Red Flame coffee shop which is almost next door. The portions are large and the prices low. When we go to Manhattan again, we will not consider staying anywhere else!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank moe in SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Desk Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, 22 February 2010
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We understand that small details make a hotel stay wonderful, and we appreciate you noticing our efforts. We hope to welcome you back soon.

-Caroline Lakin
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,373
    890
    175
    60
    32
See reviews for
845
1,429
210
427
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2010

My new bride and I (both 59 years of age) had the most incredible honeymoon in New York, staying at the Hotel Iroquois. From check-in, to the quality of the room, to the helpfulness of the concierges, to the level of service - we could not have been more pleased with our stay. The decor of the room was great. The amenities in the room were thoughtful. The staff was attentive and extremely helpful. The recommendations by the concierge were terrific.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank msrphila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Desk Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, 8 February 2010
Its wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for the review, and we hope to welcome you back for your first year anniversary!

Congratulations again,
Caroline Lakin
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2010

i understand from what you wrote as my room carpet was worn and older. but...i requested a smoking room so i knew the room would be colder and in that area. the king size bed was amazing, loved the furnishing and attention to detail on most things. a special thanks to angelique and nick who helped me being alone. they did everything for me i needed. i had a couple of issues with cold coffee delivery when i needed it at 3 am, but overall...fantastic place! seriosly - ten minutes one way, 30 rock... ten the other - broadway times square. the red flag next door round corner was brilliant for food with huge portions and good food at a great price. only needed to eat once a day. also, great pharmacy/store Duane Richards beside that which has EVERYTHING you need. i mean EVERYTHING. the sauna was nice after a long day of walking in the cold- i felt lile a million bucks whilst there! thanks Iroquis staff

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jonesylake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Desk Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, 3 February 2010
Dear Ms. Crocker,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It was truly a pleasure accomodating you during your stay, and we will look forward to welcoming you back to the Iroquois!

Take care,
Caroline Lakin
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bassethounds2
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2010

We went to New York for a long weekend and were so very disappointed in this hotel. We were able to speak with the concierge once while there from a Friday night until a Sunday morning. The carpet in our suite was worn and dirty looking. The screws on the bottom hinge of the bathroom door fell completely out and the fan in the bathroom made a horrible noise before dying altogether. We ordered a bottle of wine from the less the terrible selection and it was the staffer brought it to our room and handed it to my husband at the door unopened to the tune of an added 18% gratuity and service charge. There was no coffee maker in the room and none available in the lobby until after 6:30 a.m. and we had a 7:30 a.m. flight. The halls were very small and again the carpet very dingey and the elevators were very slow.
There were a couple of positive aspects to this hotel. The other guests were very friendly and the bed was extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bassethounds2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottgeres, General Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, 3 February 2010
Thank you for taking the time to complete this trip advisor review. Your direct feedback is a way that we gain insight into guests’ experiences and identify some of our opportunities for improvement. I have reviewed your comments with all necessary departments in our hotel and can assure you that they will be addressed accordingly. I apologize for the inconveniences that we caused to you during your visit and would ask if you give us another chance to allow us to meet your expectations. Please feel free to contact me directly at 212-453-4008 or email at sgeres@iroquoisny.com. It would be my pleasure to personally take care of your reservation and offer the best available rate to you.
Sincerely,
Scott Geres
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia, pa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night this past weekend. The staff at the front desk were unprofessional and rude. We pre-arranged an upgraded room, and at our arrival we were unpleasantly told that it was not possible, we were then escorted to a tiny room across from the elevator! We finally ended up on a smoking floor with a view of pigeon droppings and a fire escape. Also, the staff were not helpful in getting a cab or opening the door when it was 12 degrees outside, we had to walk 3 blocks to find one. Bottom line, stay somewhere else, unless you don't mind being treated poorly and sleeping in a closet!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank curlyhead77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottgeres, General Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, 3 February 2010
I wanted to take a moment and apologize for the inconvenience that occured to you during your stay at the Iroquois hotel. I want you to know that I will forward your comments to the Director of Front Office for further discussion and future development. After reviewing your reservation, I did not notice any request for an upgrade until you arrived at the hotel. Unfortunately, due to our hotel being sold out, we could not offer an upgraded room. We strive for exceptional customer service and invest a great deal of time in training our staff to achieve higher guest standards. I am sorry that you left feeling disappointed. If any other details exist that you would like to address or bring to my attention please feel free to call me at 212-453-4008 or email at sgeres@iroquoisny.com. Thank you again for your feedback.
Sincerely,
Scott Geres
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2010

With all the raves on this hotel and knowing how good the location is, I had high expectations that were just not met.

The Pros
Location
comfortable bed & linens
clean rooms
reasonably quiet
staff that tries hard & is pleasant if somewhat unpolished
got a great price on travel-ticker.com
excellent value buffet breakfast

The Cons
very small dark rooms (the first room I was shown faced a brick wall)
poor cell phone reception for At & t
security seems lax- I won't write more here about this, but hotel needs to pay more attention to front door/ lobby coverage
front desk staff seems unseasoned

The Iroquois feels more like a club than a hotel. I can recommend it if you get a great deal & don't mind small rooms.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nywhiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottgeres, General Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, 3 February 2010
Dear NYwhiz,
I wanted to reach out to you and thank you for taking the time to complete this trip advisor review. It is through direct customer feedback like yours that we gain insight into guests’ experiences and identify some of our opportunities for improvement. I have advised our team regarding your comments and we will strive to do better in these necessary service areas. Please feel free to contact me directly for any future reservations at sgeres@iroquoisny.com and I will be sure to offer our best available rate. Thank you again.
Scott Geres
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2010

Alex and his staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome. The hotel is in a great location, charming and friendly environment

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ortolano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Night Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, 3 February 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and my colleagues and I will look forward to welcoming you back!

-Alex Cabrera
Night Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,500 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,368 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#64 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#70 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#19 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,789 reviews
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iroquois New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iroquois New York

Property: The Iroquois New York
Address: 49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in New York City
#29 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#33 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#41 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iroquois New York 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your The Iroquois New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing