We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the Iroquois”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Iroquois New York
Ranked #38 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Canadian in Moscow
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the Iroquois”
Reviewed 27 December 2006

I just spent three nights at The Iroquois and thoroughly enjoyed the hotel. The location is great and the hotel itself is very clean and well maintained. Sure, the rooms are a bit small and mine had a view of an alleyway, however, that isn't much different than most New York hotels. The sauna wasn't working well when I was there, however, the staff was attentive to the problem and got the situation worked out.

The beds are very comfortable and the flatscreen television worked well. The free WiFi helped me get over the jetlag.

I recommend the Iroquois.

  • Liked — Location and cleanliness
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BirdmanMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,371
    890
    175
    60
    32
See reviews for
843
1,429
210
427
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2006

I stayed at the Iroquois a couple of years ago and had a pleasant enough experience so I returned a couple months ago. Much to my delight, they had made major improvements in almost every area. New super high-quality linens, absurdly comfortable beds, high-def LCD screens, etc. etc. Anyone who has ever booked a room in NYC knows there are always two things you are forced to deal with: rooms priced at a premium and they're relatively small. So the Iroquois is not cheap but nothing in NYC is and it's really great to see they have put a lot of that money back into the hotel. And with the new TV's the room seemed twice as big. Those annoyingly huge bureaus that you see in hotel rooms are no longer there with the new TV's. All in all, a great stay with a great location.

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank DfromDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2006

We stayed at the Iroquois for three nights in November.
The night we arrived there was no doorman/bellman ton duty to help with luggage so we dragged our heavy cases from the car, up the steps and into hotel. The check in staff were polite but unfriendly.

I had booked a superior room and requested one with natural daylight and a view if possible. The room we were given was a rude shock!
It was tiny by any standards - absolutely not suitable for two people. We could not stand in the room together along with our luggage. As we had flown for twenty four hours from Australia we had planned to order room service for dinner. Our plans had to change - there was Nowhere to eat in the room.

A very small desk on one side of the bed doubled up as nightstand but no nightstand on the other side, I made do with the window sil to balance a glass of water on.

The Frette robes were yellowed all over and really threadbare in places, the door handle came off the bathroom door, so we had to leave that open to avoid being locked in.

There was no natural light At All in the room - the window faced a brick wall, so that, coupled with the Tiny size of the room made for a very claustraphobic experience so bad we moved room next day and paid the extra for a slightly larger room.

So disappointed with the Iroquois - we won't be staying again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room Size
  • Tips/Secrets — be prepared for tiny rooms
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank gottogo2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2006

The Iroquois is in a perfect location for seeing all the sites and only a couple of minutes from Times Square.
The Iroquois has well equipped bedrooms but they are small. We booked a superior room which was very comfortable and clean and the Molton Brown toiletries were an added bonus.
The coffee served in reception each morning was a great way to start the day.
I would recommend the Iroquois although I did think it was expensive. However, we stayed during the marathon weekend and we haven't been to New York before so it's difficult to say whether there are better places to stay which are better value for money.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Seemed expensive
  • Tips/Secrets — Visit the top of the Rockerfeller centre at night for fantastic views
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank ellemankv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2006

We came to the Iroquois on Columbus Day weekend. It has a terrific location being 2 blocks from Time Square and 2 blocks from Grand Central Station. The location to everything really made our stay enjoyable. The rooms are very small and you don't necessarily know what you are getting when you arrive. We booked out room well in advance, but when we got there we were put in a small room with a double bed--so small that with two of us, one person needed to stay in the bed while the other person dressed. We complained to management and they moved us to a queen room on the third floor which was great-also not that larger, but much roomier, and made the rest of our visit very enjoyable. The free internet is nice and wireless were great. It is right next door to the Algonquin Hotel which seemed like a nice place as well. The bed was amazing-very plush and wonderful--and the plasma tv was really nice as well. We'd stay here again-but we would want a guarantee of a queen room.

  • Liked — The location and the bed
  • Disliked — The attitude at the front desk could be a bit snooty at times.
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for a queen on the third floor
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ceisen1037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2006

I booked our stay more than 3 months prior to arrival, booking a small suite. I was called a few days before my arrival and asked to relinquish my suite. The excuse they gave smelled fishy, but I decided to be a good guy. I told them they needed to give me 2 adjoining rooms because I had a 10 year old daughter traveling with us. I stressed that the rooms must be adjoining. We tried to gain access to our rooms at 3 p.m. and we were told that only one room was ready, that there was still a guest in the other room. At 6:30 p.m. the "guest" was still in the other room. My requests to speak with a manager were dismissed, although he was on-site. We overheard the staff discussing the fact that some investor's brother had the room and had left the hotel without removing his luggage and they didn't want to bother him by removing his luggage. Finally, they moved the luggage out at 7 p.m. The rooms could hardly be considered adjoining. You had to cross a small hallway between them; there was a door between the hallway and the rest of the hotel with no more than a bathroom door lock on it. The next morning at breakfast we overheard the manager with his guests at the next table, and we surmised we had been bumped from the suite to accommodate the manager's daughter, her cousin and his inlaws. DO NOT TRUST THIS HOTEL. THEY PUT EVERYONE AHEAD OF THE THIRD PARTY PAYING GUESTS.

  • Disliked — Management
  • Tips/Secrets — Do not book a room here
  • Stayed May 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank TooDisgusted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2006

My husband and I had a guarenteed reservation made weeks ago. Our reservation was for a larger room with a queen bed. We arrived and were told we had a double bed, which meant the room was very small. I showed the desk clerk our quarenteed reservation. I was told the hotel DID NOT quarentee their bed size? We went with the bellman to look at the room. With the three of us in the room there was no floor space left. The bed looked smaller than a double. We refused the room and my husband went looking for another hotel. I waited in the lobby with our luggage, while I waited several guests checked in and were giver a larger room with a queen bed. i asked why our reservation was not honored and was told the other people were with a group? Fortunately we were able to find another hotel at a higher rate.
DO NOT STAY HERE. The hotel is not to be trusted to honor you confirmed reservation!!!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The hotel did not honor their confirmed reservation!
  • Tips/Secrets — Do not book a room at the IRoquois Hotel, New York!
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank 2lilly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,500 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,367 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#64 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#70 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#19 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,789 reviews
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iroquois New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iroquois New York

Property: The Iroquois New York
Address: 49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in New York City
#29 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#33 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#41 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iroquois New York 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your The Iroquois New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing