We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A NYC Gem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Iroquois New York

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Iroquois New York
Ranked #37 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Malvern, PA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A NYC Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2010

My husband just did a quick overnight in the city to visit friends and didn't want to pay a fortune for a nice hotel. We booked a standard room at The Iroquois and hoped for the best. When we got there, they let us check in early and even upgraded our room for free! From moment one the staff were courteous, friendly and very helpful. Our room was small but very clean and with a great bathroom. Even our friends in the city were impressed (they met us there to start our day) - they will reccomend The Iroquis from now on for out of town guests. Everyone from the concierge to the desk staff to the doorman were friendly and great to talk to! the only consideration is that the place isn't super 'cheap' and our room had a view of a fire escape - but this is pretty standard for a downtown hotel - in the end a good value. I'll be staying there whenever we go back to NYC in the future!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank casualpafoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,325
    868
    168
    58
    31
See reviews for
815
1,403
207
415
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
111 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2010

Good location. Clean rooms. The room size is ridicously small and in fact has more furniture in them than there is room for hotel guests! Service is average for this level of hotel.
If we visit NY again, we are probably inclined to stay elsewhere.
Not a disaster, but think there are better hotels for the price.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoriBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2010

I actually stayed at this hotel in June 2007 (i know i know I’m very late to write this review but i just had to write a few lines as it was an unforgettable trip). Every time i think of New York i automatically think of my 1 weeks stay at this fantastic hotel. There is absolutely nothing wrong with it and i will stay where time and time again (Financial budget permitting).

Everyone from the porters, reception staff, concierge and cleaners where polite and helpful.

The complimentary Molten Brown toiletries were very unexpected but much appreciated.

The location is spot on for this hotel – shopping, theatre, restaurants, Subway.

If you are planning a visit to New York then look no further – if you stay here you will NOT regret it.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Knowledgeable_One
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2010

This was our first trip to New York to celebrate my 50th birthday.The location was Brilliant for all mid town attractions. The rooms were small but adequate. When we arrived it was in the middle of a heatwave with very high humidity and so all the aircon units were at full blast. The room we were in was right next to the adjacent buildings aircon unit and so it was quite noisy. I approached the Front Office Manager ( Antonio ) to ask if we could be moved to another room. He couldn't have been more helpful and arranged for my wife and I to be moved to a different room ( at no additional charge ) and also wished me a happy 50th ( Great Service ). Nick the Concierge was brilliant as well arranging trips,meals and theatre tickets for us and his knowledge of the city was second to none ( Thanks Nick hope to see you soon ). This is the first time I have ever written a review but I thought it was my duty to let everyone know what a little jem this Hotel is and I couldn't recommend it highly enough. BIG THANKS TO ALL STAFF.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Somca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, 12 July 2010
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. I'm glad to see you had an enjoyable time in NYC while celebrating your 50th birthday. On behalf of our entire staff, it was a pleasure serving you and being "your home away from home". We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

Antonio Alfama
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2010

I stayed at the Iroquois July 1st to 4th and I just have positive things to say about the Hotel.
The hotel with it's décor and atmosphere is a welcoming place to go too. We where greeted with a smile by everyone we crossed. Checking in was fast and effective.
The room we where assigned to was Clean and confortable which is what a woman looks for in a room! The room was a fair size considering we are in New York city and that we go there to sleep!
The restaurant in the hotel as wonderful food.
Now let's talk about Location.
People say "Location, Location, Location" and with the Iroquois you get the package deal as we are close to a lot of the most popular attraction Empire State Building, Rockerfeller center, Broadway theatre, etc.
This hotel is just great and I can't wait to go back to New York and stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MTL2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2010

This was our third trip to NY in 2 years. This time to see Springsteen in Madison Square Gardens. The Iroquois is in a brilliant location for all the main mid town attractions. The bar is very good and the rooms well kept.
I know it's New York, a boutique hotel and rooms are generally small. These rooms are tiny, we sayed at Sofitel and Crowne Plaza before and these rooms seem much, much smaller than those. There was a mini heat wave when we were there (went to the meadowlands for Football in T shirts) and the AC is not great.
I liked it but would go back to the Sofitel in preference.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andyfatowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights and enjoyed it thoroughly. It's a beautiful place, well appointed room, good sized for Midtown, great service, very convenient location to subway, trains, etc, and an excellent value. (OK, the elevators are a little slow...use the one beyond the registration desk; it's quicker!) Would absolutely return.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JWJ62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#13 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,405 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#38 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,246 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#63 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#70 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#18 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,640 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#61 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iroquois New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iroquois New York

Property: The Iroquois New York
Address: 49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in New York City
#29 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#31 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#41 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iroquois New York 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TravelUp so you can book your The Iroquois New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing