We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed the Iroquois!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Iroquois New York

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Iroquois New York
Ranked #37 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the Iroquois!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2007

Just returned from a 2 day stay in NY and really enjoyed staying at the Iroquois. I liked the location and the room was very nice, clean, and comfortable.
The concierge was very helpful in helping us with our dinner arrangements and making suggestions.
On Sunday evening the hotel bar is closed, which was a little disapointing since we were looking forward to one of the flavoured martinis advertised in the elevator. Oh well, no big deal, we went elsewhere...
I would totally recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Comfort
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,325
    868
    168
    58
    31
See reviews for
815
1,403
207
415
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2007

When my boss shorted me a night at the Sofitel next door (surprise, you don't have a room for tonight!), I to the Iroquois and was able to book a room for that same evening... what started out as very stressful day ended up to be a lovely surprise! I was upgraded to a suite (for the same price as a regular room) and was treated to a comfortable living room (didn't really get to enjoy it though, for the one night I was there) and a spacious & beautiful bedroom/bath. The king-size bed was very comfortable and the flat screen TV, fancy alarm clock (wish I had time to figure that thing out!), jacuzzi tub were the perfect was to end a stress-filled work week away from home. The only downside was the icky, teeny tiny shower - I felt like I was in a vertical coffin, and couldn't wait to get out of there! Overall, it was a great experience & I couldn't have been happier with the staff and treatment.

  • Stayed April 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pixiecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2007

I planned on a one-night stay for business but ended up staying for four because the ice-storm cancelled my flight. What started as a disaster ended up being a pleasant weekend in NYC, largely due to the quality and service at this hotel.

Knowing that I was going to pay $300+ for any decent room in midtown I wanted to try something new and perhaps better than the usual W, Hyatt, Waldorf and other hotels in the 300-400 range. Based on reviews here on Trip Advisor I decided to take a chance...I was not dissapointed. The reviews are quite accurate.

Excellent for adults looking for a quiet yet conveniently located hotel. The rooms (I had two similar ones) are spacious by NYC standards with a chair+ottoman, full size dresser and smallish desk with chair. Well-laid out. Bathroom amenities (Molton Brown, my favorite) and fixtures (compact Ritz Carlton style) were superb. Plasma TV, windows that actually open, frette linens, comfortable bed (almost Ritz-like), mini-bar, etc. Only thing missing is a coffee maker; I hope someone from the Iroquois is reading this.

Staff was quite accommodating to all of us stranded travelers. They kept the same rate through the weekend despite typically higher charges. They had the uncommon ability to know when to help and when to leave you alone. I especially like the hot cider at the front desk in the evening...it took the bite out of the ice storm. Loved the library off the lobby, perfect antidote for small NYC rooms.

I spent the weekend watching the St. Patty's parade (started in front of the hotel) and shopping. It is convenient to the men's stores on Madison. Didn't get a show in but this is a perfect close yet quiet location.

I will never stay at another NYC hotel again. This is my new home away from home.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank PittDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2007

The Iroquois is one of those finds that you almost want to keep to yourself, but we couldn’t help ourselves: My husband and I came back from our trip to New York telling everyone, “We stayed at the most wonderful place!”

Just a few weeks ago, I, too, was scrolling through these reviews, wondering if they might be too good to be true. Believe me, this hotel is superb.

I was attracted by the Frette linens and robes; my husband liked that a 24-hour fitness center was available, and that discounted parking was right across the street. The amenities are luxurious, the bed and bedding the most comfortable we’ve ever slept in. But it was the friendly, attentive service that made us feel so welcome and pampered.

We were warmly greeted by every person we encountered.

The front desk upgraded our room upon arrival, not knowing that we were celebrating our anniversary. When the manager discovered it was so, he sent wine and chocolates and a lovely greeting to our room. And he remembered us and the occasion for our visit at check-out.

Those were very nice touches in addition to other details we appreciated -- the chocolates and weather card at turn down; the complimentary coffee and the Times in the morning; having a CD player in the room. It all added up to a lovely, singular experience for us. Believe me, we’ll be back!

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank menloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WILMINGTON, DE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2007

I have stayed at many hotels in NYC and the Iroquois was one of the best experiences I've had thus far. The hotel was very clean and well appointed from lobby to room. Italian marble in the bathrooms and bathroom fixtures were impeccable. The room was very clean and well arranged and linens were high-quality and very comfortable. The big plus was the staff. All were welcoming with a smile and ready to serve and all very knowledgable about the neighborhood and NYC attractions. The restaurant and bar, TRIOMPHE was excellent and the hotel is centrally located and close to Times Square and browadway attractions. I will definitely return and have already recommended the hotel to a handful of others.

  • Liked — Clean and classy
  • Disliked — No qualms about anything
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank V32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2007

We stayed at the Iroquois for 4 days at the start of a lengthy international vacation.

We had never stayed there before but were immediately impressed by the way the staff rushed to accommodate our needs due to severe disruption caused by US Airways' usual incompetence. Rescheduling and rearranging check-in/out went incredibly smoothly with everything professionally handled by a very experienced and knowledgeable staff.

The food is excellent - some of the best breakfasts and dinners we have ever had in over 30 years of travelling. Friendly, pleasant wait staff were eager to please and attend to our every request. An innovative menu made the servings sparkle with fresh ingredients and attention to preparation usually lacking in many NYC hotels.

The hotel is well situated being convenient to both the theatre district, major department stores and mid-town Manhattan business venues. Rooms are fair-sized, even large by New York standards, and are clean and well appointed. Linens and furniture are well above average and certainly qualify for a "luxurious" label. The housekeeping staff are attentive and work promptly and efficiently to respond to requests.

The prices are extremely reasonable - even "best value for money" would be a fitting description!

We'll stay here again at every opportunity!

  • Liked — Quiet, quality and service!
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merritt Island, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2007

I stayed here with my friend (girls weekend). We loved it. The beds were very comfortable with great linens. Our room had a flat screen tv with free HBO and plenty of channels, not to mention a DVD player. There was no view from the window (another building) but we weren't in the room much so that was fine. The bathroom was a nice size as was the oddly shaped closet, great use of space. The service was very good and friendly. My favorite thing about this hotel was the feel of comfort. It was a small luxury hotel but didn't have any false pretenses. The people were friendly, not snooty, and I always felt comfortable there. The room and hotel were very clean, turn down service was wonderful. The air conditioning and heat worked great. I don't havea single complaint. Also, very well situated to everything.

  • Liked — Comfortable feeling
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sshuttle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#13 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,402 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#38 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,246 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#63 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#70 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#18 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,640 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#61 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iroquois New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iroquois New York

Property: The Iroquois New York
Address: 49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in New York City
#29 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#31 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#41 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iroquois New York 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your The Iroquois New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing