We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in the middle of all...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Iroquois New York
Ranked #39 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Wallasey
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in the middle of all...”
Reviewed 7 September 2010

Great place to stay in the middle of all the things to see and do. Booked a sup room, room very good but small, view out of window is a brick wall, staff very good, clean room, even chocs and the next days temp left on a card on ur pillow. Ny is expensive, but alot cheaper away from the main attractions.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,447
    912
    179
    61
    34
See reviews for
873
1,467
216
442
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

I booked the Iroquois very last-minute, based entirely on its high TA ranking. It was expensive at around $300 per night, but that's what you get for booking at the 11th hour!

First impressions are good - location is perfect for midtown, sandwiched between the Algonquin and the Sofitel on 44th Street, barely a block from Times Square. The small, compact reception is more reminiscent of a European boutique hotel,and service is of the usual standard you'd expect at this level of hotel.

Room 1002 seemed fairly typical of most rooms in the hotel - first and foremost, they are tiny! Even by European standards this was small - not a problem for a solo business traveller, but I would have enjoyed it a lot less had I been there with my wife. The large walk-in closet helps though, as it provides plenty of room to store clothing and luggage out of the way. Big TV, DVD player and iPod dock were all good, the desk was small but functional. The free in-room WiFi was quick to access and 100% reliable during my 3-day stay. Furnishings and extras are all of good quality. Morning coffee in reception and iced water in the evenings was a nice touch.

There are always a few gripes, which I'll list here:

- although there are 2 elevators, one goes so slowly it's almost in reverse. During the morning rush, it could take a long time to get up and down the floors
- the lack of visible staff late at night was unusual, and I did wonder what would stop one of midtown's less salubrious residents from pitching up for the night in the lobby. Didn't see any problems though.
- no fridge was provided in the room - a tray of room-temperature minibar products were on the counter and a fridge had to be requested if required. Why??

Overall though, nothing that would put me off staying again. I would hope for a much better rate booking in advance.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, 7 September 2010
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your experience at our property. Your thorough comments are not overlooked by us. I am very pleased you enjoyed your overall stay and we hope to have a chance to welcome you back. The room you stayed in previously is part of our Superior (Standard) category, which are the smallest rooms on property. Not all standard rooms offer a refrigerated minibar, but a minifridge is certainly available upon guest's request. In the future, I would recommend our Deluxe accommodations. For a difference of $30 more, the Deluxe rooms provide more square footage and all have a refrigerated mini-bar available in the rooms.
Again, thank you for staying with us and for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

Stayed for 5 nights and would recommend this Hotel to anyone, staff are friendly and helpful and smile. Rooms are excellent, clean and nicely funished, the rooms are a little on the small size but hey your not there to sit in your room all day. I've stayed in a good few hotels over the years, first time a hotel exceeded my expectations, hotel added some lovely little touches like turning down your bed and leaving a little chocolate on the pillow with tomorrows expected temprature, does not sound like a lot, but what a nice touch! Really enjoyed my stay in NY, lovely location, 5 mins walk from times square, both my wife and I loved the place, if you dont then there is something wrong with you.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan39_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, 7 September 2010
Thank you so much for your review! A response like yours is what our staff strives to receive from all of our guests. We appreciate your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Caroline Lakin
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2010

We spent four nights at the Iroquios on our recent trip to New York - we originally found the hotel on Trip Advisor and booked on the strength on the reviews. The hotel was everything we needed for a perfect holiday, clean, fantastic staff and located in an area where its only a short walk to Time Square, Broadway, Fifth Avenue, the Rockerfeller Centre. Previous reviews criticized the size of the rooms but we found them to be perfect and just what is required - you don't want to spend all your time in New York in your hotel room in any case! For a quiet, quality hotel to see the sights, you won't go far wrong with the Iroquois.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dannyboy4554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2010

Perfect location, central to all the main sights yet quiet enough to ensure a good nights sleep which is essential after all the sightseeing and walking. We had a family room which was ideal for a family including 2 teenagers. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful at all times. Our package included buffet breakfast which set us up for the day. Good facilities including gym (if you have enough energy after all the walking!), free internet access and enough information to help you get around this amazing city.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SurreyFamily004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

Fantastic hotel with good sized rooms, really helpful staff and a fantastic location.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoMarshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

Just returned from 4 nights in New York, staying at the Iroquois.
On arrival we were greeted by a very friendly bellman, who helped us with our bags and had a very straight forward check in.
The bellman showed us to our room (a deluxe king on the 6th floor) and gave us a run down of how to use a few amenities - the shower, TV, ipod dock how to use the DVD rental service etc. Whilst the room is small (as noted on other reviews), it was absolutely beautifully decorated and did not lack a single thing. The bed was extremely comfortable, we had numerous towels, lovely molten brown toiletries and the complementary bottle of water was a lovely touch. The closet is big enough to store cases in, so don't worry about being short of space. The room was maintained beautifully during our stay both during the day and also in the evening turn down service.
In the hotel itself, you can use the complementary internet and printing facilities (very handy for last minute trip research and return flight on-line check in) and free coffee is provided in the morning, with iced-water provided in the afternoon (very welcome in the August heat).
The friendliness from the staff continued throughout our stay - from hello/goodnight's from reception, to information from the concierge and bellman which made us feel right at home.
The location of the hotel is superb, a couple of blocks from times square in one direction and grand central station in the other, which left us free to visit a number of the main sites very easily from our hotel.
I would wholeheartedly recommend the Iroquois without hesitation for anyone visiting New York, and it will be top of my list when booking a return trip.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liltlechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#62 of 467 in New York City
3,193 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
3,626 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#100 of 467 in New York City
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 467 in New York City
2,976 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#66 of 467 in New York City
6,476 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iroquois New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iroquois New York

Property: The Iroquois New York
Address: 49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in New York City
#29 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#36 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#41 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iroquois New York 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Iroquois New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing