We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great choice, very convenient, very recommendable if you want to avoid the big hotels” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Iroquois New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Iroquois New York
Ranked #38 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great choice, very convenient, very recommendable if you want to avoid the big hotels”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2010

The Iroquois provides an excellent and convenient location for sightseeing NY - close to 5th Av. and half way between Central Park and The Empire State Building, which are both in walking distance. If one prefers a smaller hotel with good service and ever better restaurant and you do not need the full set of facilities of the big hotels the Iroquois is a great choice and you will be suprised on the very reasonable price for that category in NYC. You may spend more money at other locations and get less.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peke_Vie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, 9 November 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the Iroquois NY. I agree that our personal ambience and service can be a major benefit to our guests. Our staff remembers not only our guests' faces in the lobby, but many times their names as well. Thanks again for your comments. Take care, Caroline Lakin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,325
    868
    168
    58
    31
See reviews for
815
1,403
207
415
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2010

We stayed at the Iroquois and very so very impressed with the staff and the hotel. Nothing was too much trouble for them, they genuinely wanted to make our stay as comfortable and as memorable as possible, I wish a few more hotels would take a leaf out of the Iroquois book in regards to customer service. The location was perfect, we could walk everywhere and the tours that the hotel organised for us were fantastic. WeI definately will be back

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aholidaytoremember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, 3 November 2010
Thank you for your kind words about our property. Your compliments about our customer service is particularly flattering and very much appreciated. Our staff does care about our guests and it seems our sincerity shows! Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back soon. Caroline Lakin, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2010

A college friend and I stayed at The Iroquois over Halloween weekend. It was the perfect place! Listed as a Small Luxury Hotel, it is central to many midtown attractions: Rockefeller Center, 5th Avenue, Times Square, the Theatre District, Empire State Bldg., etc. and we were able to walk to many of our midtown destinations. While the room was small (typical for midtown NYC), it was clean, comfy and QUIET. The staff was very nice/helpful. After calling 10 other hotels, I had despaired of finding nice, reasonably priced accommodations for this busy weekend. The Iroquois was a happy surprise for us: we found this hotel was priced moderately, especially compared to its Hotel Row neighbors on 44th Street, and elegant in an understated way.

The Iroquois is a gem of a classic NYC hotel - we will definitely come back!

Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lynmagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, 3 November 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Iroquois New York. I am very happy to know you enjoyed our hotel and our convenient location. It will surely be our pleasure to welcome you back next time.
-Caroline Lakin
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2010

This was my third stay at The Iroquois with my sister in the past three years and again it lived up to our expectations. Once again we booked a classic room ( 2 double beds) and requested a quiet, non smoking room and we were allocated a room at the back of the hotel. Whilst there was no view, it was a peaceful place to escape to for some rest. We couldn't hear any traffic or other guests and the only noise was the feint humm of the air conditioning unit. This didn't bother me at all and I am a light sleeper but I would recommend ear plugs for anyone who may be sensitive to this sort of noise.

The room was comfortable and clean. It is small, but then I expected that. If you bring a lot of luggage be prepared for it to get in the way, there really isn't room for lots of cases! The bathroom was windowless but clean and we were given fresh towels each day. The shower was lovely and hot and had an excellent flow.

The hotel has a turn down service and provide the weather forecast for the next day. Very handy when you are planning what to see and do.

We didn't eat at the hotel so I cannot comment on that. We used the Red Flame Diner down the road which was excellent as always. A varied and plentiful menu, quick service and good value.

The library at the hotel is another benefit. Two computers with free internet use and a printer. Perfect for checking email, updating Facebook!!, planning activities and checking in for the return flight home. There only used to be one computer and sometimes we would experience a small wait, but now there are two, you can pretty much find one free at anytime.

The staff were friendly and helpful and the doorman was able to hail us a cab for our return to the airport. He did recommend the hotel car service (fixed fee of $65) but we preferred to take a licensed yellow cab. This cost $45 plus toll and tip (total around $60).

The location of this hotel remains one of the top reasons to stay here and one of the main reasons that I will recommend this place to friends.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muggleUk_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, 9 November 2010
Dear muggleUK-
Thank you once again for your kind review. I am proud to say we have many repeat guest like yourself, which I think shows our deep commitment in making our guest's stays memorable. These repeat guests are extra special to us, and we even have a rewards program designed specifically for our loyal guests.
Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Caroline Lakin
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2010

My friend and I stayed here for 5 nights and the room was a little small..well all the surfaces had things on them, tray of drinks as the "minibar", tray with glasses and ice bucket(ask room service for ice, and brochures/guides for NY and the hotel.
But the beds were very comfortable, the room and the bathroom clean and the location just great.
had two fabulous meals in the restaurant.pricey, but grat flavours and textures.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldbiddy_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisHotel, General Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, 1 November 2010
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at the Iroquois. I am glad to hear you found our beds very comfortable and the room clean. I am also truly pleased to hear of your dining experiences in of our restaurant, Triomphe. Please tell your friends of your experience and we look forward to your return visit to the Iroquois New York.

Sincerely,
Robert Holmes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xinbei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2010

Stayed one week here (Oct. 16 -- Oct. 23). Hotel is very accomodating with regards to our request of having a room in the higher floors, refrigerator in the room and a late check-out. The cleaning staffs are particularly recommendable. The hotel has a system on tipping wherein they leave envelope in the room for you to put your tip. There were 2 incidents when they must've forgotten to leave the envelope therefore, we put the money on the dressing table but we found it still there when we got back. Size of the room is big enough to walk around comfortably even with luggage lying around. The air condition is a little loud but did'nt hinder us from having a good sleep with the cozy bed and pillows and Frette linens. The free morning coffee and evening apple cider was a blessing especially during cold days. We had the bed and breakfast package which we regretted because the continental breakfast took forever to be served and choices are limited. Besides, there's a diner just few doors down the hotel which gives you value for your money and more choices too but get there early on weekends because the place fills up quickly. But dinner at Triomphe Restaurant (same place where they serve breakfast) is a different matter, the ambience, the service and the food is excellent all the way. So, cannot comprehend why breakfast and dinner have 2 different standards!?! The location of this hotel is just perfect, within walking distance of lots of sights and MTA station and yet on a quiet and safe street.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank changlhmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisHotel, General Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, 27 October 2010
Dear Changlhmd,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experiences at the Iroquois Hotel. I am truly pleased to hear you found our staff accommodating for your requests. I do apologize for the delay in the arrival of your continental breakfast. Just this week we switched from a buffet to served continental breakfast and this may have been the reason for the service delay. I am addressing this with our restaurant staff to avoid any future inconvenience and I am truly sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused.
Our restaurant is an award-winning Zagat rated restaurant and I am pleased to hear your enjoyed your dinner with us.
We look forward to your return and thank you again for sharing your experience.

Sincerely,
Robert Holmes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shreveport, LA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2010

We had an excellent experience with this botique hotel in New York. Perfect location, clean rooms and not too small for New York. The staff was very helpful, especially the concierge, Nick. He went out of his way to help with reservations, etc. The only negative aspect of our stay was that our room was not ready by 3:00 as promised, but overall this is an excellent hotel and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blumt48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisHotel, General Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, 27 October 2010
Good Morning,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at the Iroquois Hotel. I am truly pleased to hear of your overall impression of our hotel and the service we provide. I have shared your kind words with Nick, our Concierge. I do apologize for the delay in having your room available and have addressed this with our housekeeping staff. We do everything possible to have rooms available for check in as soon as they are ready to be serviced.
We look forward to your return visit!

Sincerely,
Robert Holmes
General Manager
The Iroquois New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,405 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,247 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#63 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#70 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,641 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#61 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iroquois New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iroquois New York

Property: The Iroquois New York
Address: 49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in New York City
#29 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#32 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#41 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iroquois New York 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TravelUp so you can book your The Iroquois New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing