We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic amenities but comfy beds and friendly staff made this repeat visit special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heritage Hotel New York City
Ranked #381 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I came with my group of 44 sixth form students and 8 other adults and saw most all of the rooms the students shared. They had more room than the equivalent European hotels and the beds are very comfortable. The decor may not be exactly up to the minute but rooms and bathrooms are clean and the showers work efficiently. The desk staff were always courteous and helpful and the breakfasts and the space to eat them in are an improvement on 2011 - the last time we visited NYC. The location makes this hotel the best choice of all the ones I was offered by my school tour company and the museums and sights are easy to get to via the various subway lines nearby. Lots of restaurant choices and trendy shops, cafes and bars within walking distance. It can be quite noisy outside but that's New York. This hotel is used to having groups but there were plenty of people staying that were just families or individuals and if you prefer to spend your money on what you do rather than where you stay, then I would recommend Comfort Inn Chelsea. For anyone organising a group tour, especially students, this hotel has much to recommend it, not least the accommodating staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennynew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (800)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 800 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

If you're main criteria is to save a few bucks this hotel I suppose fits the bill.
The constant noise of on and off heater in the room was quite disturbing. Didn't want to turn up sound on TV but had no other choice than to keep it loud.
The lack of space for 'stuff' was frustrating . The beds were ok. The shower was ok. The limited breakfast choices were fair at best. Overall it's a no frills but decent hotel. Would we go back for 1-5 days again? Well, price is a big factor. It was clean and employees were nice.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MSG15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Well what can I say...,,, my colleague and I took 19 upper sixth students to New York on a 4 day visit, location great near a subway, rooms lovely and clean and secure. Breakfast buffet was superb plenty of choice hot and cold. The staff were so accommodating, the best up to now and I've been running this trip since 2007. They also included tourist advice in the lobby way and plenty of maps and to cap that provided free secure storage for our bags on the last day. On behalf of my school thank you so much for making our stay so memorable as they say in the states 'awesome'. We will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Teacher_on_Tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The property is standard Comfort Inn fare, so if you stay at Comfort Inns you know what to expect. The property is an older building and as such has some ornate designs in the foyer as well as breakfast room that add charm to the property.

The front desk staff is professional and cordial. They were most helpful during the stay.

I was very disappointed in regards to housekeeping in 507. The maid did not clean the second day and blamed it on us, saying that we had the do-not-disturb sign out. Unfortunately that was a total lie because the sign was in our room the whole time and had fallen on the ground well away from the door. The housekeeper used this as the usual excuse to not clean a room. The front desk also blamed us, which tells you that the housekeeper gave the wrong info.

On the third day the housekeeper did clean the room, but the service was very shoddy. There were articles left on the floor that were dropped from the garbage can, the toilet paper roll holder was left to the side and there was soap stuck to the tub, which mean she/he never cleaned. In addition, the housekeepers are extremely load and boisterous when they clean in the hallway, offering no respect to guests.

On the third day the houseman had the audacity to throw his bag in front of the door stop of the elevator while he went to the front desk with his fire detectors. He left me waiting inside the elevator until he was done.

The property is also a youth group magnet. It's not that bad, but good to know that you will have dozens of teenagers all around the small areas .As such, they tend to bang the doors all night, which you can hear with paper thin walls.

The housekeepers and housemen need training. They are under par and severally unfriendly to guests.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cyberworld Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Stayed overnight at this Comfort Inn and can report that the room is clean, the staff is friendly, the bed is comfortable and the bathroom is clean. Everything works as advertised. No frills, but not bad in any way. Breakfast is served though I skipped it. Looked good though. Great neighborhood. Temperature was a little hard to keep comfortable. With the heat on even low, it was too warm and off the room was cold and it was not that cold out.

Room Tip: Don't book ahead. If you wait until a couple of days before you will find a better price. I wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wabitop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

If I could give half stars, I'd actually give this place 3.5 stars, but I couldn't quite give it 4. It's comfortable - it is the Comfort Inn, after all - but if I was travelling under my own steam, I think I'd head somewhere else. I was visiting for business for a week, and it's perfectly fine as a place to crash if you're note spending much time there. Room was rather cold on first entering, but once the heat is on, it's pretty toasty. Decent sized room, big comfortable bed, wifi - not much to complain about. Breakfast had plenty of options, but it was all served in styrofoam and plastic - not great.

For me though, the best aspect was the location. This is in one of my favourite parts of New York - around the corner from Eataly and the original Shake Shack; away from the hustle and bustle of touristy Times Sq (yet not too far from it if you want to catch a Broadway show); and in the middle of one of the best foodie locations in town. Subway is just a couple of blocks away in each direction.

Wouldn't be disappointed to stay here again on business or if I was on a budget.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
3  Thank empress_joanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed at the Comfort Inn from Dec 20-29 2013 and had a lovely stay, The staff are very helpful and friendly, The breakfast is just what you want with out pigging out on to much food, It is clean tidy and comfortable, Nice easy access to all the main streets so we will be staying there again for sure.

Chas &Heda

Room Tip: Road facing is the best as you get a nearly full view of the Empire state building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chas j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel Stanford
Hotel Stanford
#311 of 469 in New York City
1,656 reviews
Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#240 of 469 in New York City
381 reviews
Flatiron District
Hotel Henri, A Wyndham Hotel
Hotel Henri, A Wyndham Hotel
#291 of 469 in New York City
2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
Comfort Inn Lower East Side
Comfort Inn Lower East Side
#351 of 469 in New York City
175 reviews
Manhattan
Clarion Hotel Park Avenue
Clarion Hotel Park Avenue
#380 of 469 in New York City
443 reviews
Midtown
Wolcott Hotel
Wolcott Hotel
#246 of 469 in New York City
2,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Hotel New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Hotel New York City

Address: 18 W 25th St, at 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10010-2703 (Formerly Comfort Inn Chelsea)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Flatiron District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #381 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £97 - £310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Heritage Hotel New York City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moderately priced, centrally located hotel in the heart of Manhattan, Chelsea district - 10 minute walk to Empire State Building and located close to almost all major subways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Heritage Hotel New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Chelsea Hotel New York City
Chelsea Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Chelsea Nyc
Comfort Inn Chelsea New York City
Comfort Inn New York City
New York City Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing