We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oasis of calm in the big apple” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
Ranked #256 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Oasis of calm in the big apple”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2008

This is a fantastic hotel with consistently amazing service from every member of staff. I have stayed here twice and thoroughly enjoyed my stay and felt truly pampered, The style is traditional and rooms are very well equipped.
The location in upper east is 1` block from Central Park and is away from the touristic hustle bustle in midtown.
Highly Reccomended for special treats!

  • Liked — Big very comfortable rooms
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Victoria39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    130
    70
    36
    32
See reviews for
160
257
54
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2008

We stayed at the hotel for two nights in celebrating Valentine's day and my birthday.

The hotel itself is beautiful, very old New York. The staff was great, the restaurant and bar were lovely and the service was top notch. The food was Ok, but the ambiance and the service kinda make up for it.

Stayed at the one bedroom suite. The decor was very classy, old antique style, but I have to say on some areas it looks very outdated. The bathroom definitely could use some updating too.
However, the linens were wonderful.

This is one of the very few times where I visited a hotel and not quite sure how I feel about it. I don't love this hotel but I don't mind it either. I guess I had higher expectations, mostly due to the Carlyle reputation.

But overall, it was not a bad stay.

  • Liked — Very Classy
  • Disliked — Sometimes it can be a bit too pretentious
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rubee1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
68 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2008

I spent four nights in a 1 bedroom suite. I had first booked a Superior Room, but upon arrival found it too small for my needs, so I upgraded right away, with gracious assistance from management. The suite was quietly luxurious, with very comfortable bed, lovely linens, etc. It was so quiet it was hard to believe I was in nyc. The service during my entire stay was truly superb, from the front desk to the housekeeper. They are discrete, but warm, and very competent. I find this increasingly rare in hotels and what a joy to find it here. I also disagree with an earlier reviewer, who complained about the manned elevators - I like them, not just for the extra service, but for security. Only complaint is cost of all the small things - I spent a few hundred dollars on bottled water before I realized the price. A simple breakfast ran around $50. The hotel also lacks a spa, which they are now planning. They sent an outside person to my room to do a pedicure - it was just fair, and $150. Ouch. But these things did not detract from my overall experience - life should always go as smoothly as it does when you're a guest at the Carlyle.

  • Liked — Superb service
  • Disliked — Cost
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Bebe38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2007

Reasonably high expectations but v.dissapointed. $700 + $100 in taxes a night for a very small Room with no view and dark is a rip-off. It was clean but old wardrobes and bedroom furniture. Very small and cramped bathroom with keihls toiletaries. Elevators have operators but they are small and slow. Bemelmans bar expensive but nice. Cafe Carlyle small, nice decor, Woody Allen a waste of money and all in all $600 for hear Woody and have a poor meal was a complete rip-off. Stayed in a lot of NYC hotels this was the worst. This is not a complaint against the staff who were fine, but really against a tired, shabby old hotel that is living on some historic reputation but really needs a complete refurb.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank rembahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.C.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2007

I stayed at the Carlyle back in July for a mother-daughter trip.
This was during a time when most hotels in NYC were booked for a shoe convention.
I called about 1 a.m. in the morning (I was to depart from RDU at 7 a.m.) and they found a room for me.
It was awesome.
It was more of an apartment than a hotel room.
As my mother and I didn't want to get on each other's nerves, we really needed our space.
We stayed in a suite that had two bathrooms, one large bed room, a living room and two closets.
The staff was awesome. When my mother and I went for a walk and didn't want to carry the umbrella for the next few blocks, we handed it to the door man, who said that he'd make sure that it'd be in the room. It was.
Also, you are welcomed with a platter of fresh fruit, cheese and truffles. Wonderful presentation!
Also, the breakfast was awesome. My mother is still talking about hte blueberry muffins. They have a type of crust on the top. The coffee was great too. We stayed at the hotel for about five days; so folks started to know who we were.
We also had tea there too. There's a quaint tea room off from the main lobby.
I had only a couple of issues:
1. I think guests should get a break on paying cover charge at the restaurant/bar. We enjoyed a great jazz performance in the main lounge.
2. The concierge desk was always super busy. They needed more than one person handling things. Also, this isn't a good place to get Broadway tickets. Apparently, if you book it through them, it'll cost you almost three-times the rate. The concierge explained that there is an additional charge for booking tickets through the hotel. We found it easier just to go to the box office and get the tickets ourselves.
Also, this hotel is in a super quiet neighborhood. I didn't feel like I was in a city. And the hotel did a wonderful job of making sure that the drapes and the shades were extra thick to block out the sun.
Mom and I also walked to the local museums - The Whitney is right in the neighborhood. And of course shopping on Madison.
I loved the white glove service. In the elevator, the staff touches the buttons.
Also, don't forget to go to the drugstore across the street - Zitomers. It's a real treat. Only in NYC can you find Pucci scarves at the local pharmacy.
Though a bit pricey, it was a great place and I loved it.

  • Liked — Service, food
  • Disliked — Busy concierge
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank GardenDebNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2007

Like staying at your wealthy aunts apartment. Some of the rooms are a bit to quite dated, though the hotel is going through a top to bottom room re-do. If you want personal, caring, prompt service, there is no better place in NYC.

The beds are the best, the hotel is quiet, and the hotel will do just about anything to make your stay pleasant. From the concierge to the doormen, maids to front desk, package room to engineering, the staff are all career hotel professionals. The best for business or pleasure.

If you want a tourist scene or Four Seasons-like modern digs, look elsewhere. If you are a celebrity and want to be left alone, there is no place better.

It's expensive, but sophisticated luxury usually is.

  • Liked — Dependable luxury, inbcredible service
  • Disliked — The rooms not updated have very dated furnishings. There are residents on each floor and you can smell cigarette smoke coming from some of their apartments.
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Scwufm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2007

This is a fabulous hotel that offers a haven of peace and tranquillity -- especially after a day of hitting the New York shops. I was travelling with my teenage daughter and her friend and they fell in love with the understated luxury of the Carlyle. In fact, they said that if they could live in the beautiful two- bedroom suite we were given on the 27th floor they'd be happy for the rest of their lives!
As well as two large bedrooms and three bathrooms, we had a lounge -- complete with baby grand piano-- and a kitchen. The picture window offered the most magnificent panorama of Manhattan's skyline. Each night, it felt as if we were coming home to our own apartment.
Such luxury obviously comes at a price -- but this is a hotel steeped in history. John F Kennedy , the Princess of Wales and Mick Jagger are just a few of the legendary names who've been frequent visitors.
The Cafe Carlyle is a legend in its own right and the knowledge that Woody Allen often strolls in to play his clarinet with his jazz band is spine tingling!
The hotel is on Madison Avenue -- brilliant for walking to some of the smartest shops in town. It's also just a stone's throw from most of the big museums, and a block from Central Park where you can cool off in August.
We felt pampered and cared for at the Carlyle. The concierges are simply fantastic and are willing to help with your every request and need. They saved us from some of the camera sharks on Times Square and directed us to a wonderful camera shop where we were given excellent service and value.
We'd go back like a shot. It was simply perfect -- you just need to convince yourselves that you deserve a treat!

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie_Keltz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#54 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,791 reviews
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#25 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Upper East Side
Lowell Hotel
Lowell Hotel
#257 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
Greenwich Hotel
Greenwich Hotel
#123 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York
Four Seasons Hotel New York
#322 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#29 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel

Property: The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
Address: 35 E 76th St, New York City, NY 10021
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Spa Hotel in New York City
#97 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#119 Family Hotel in New York City
#157 Business Hotel in New York City
#166 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with the elegance of the Upper East Side - from the vibrant culture and elite shopping to the oasis of understated luxury - The Carlyle has become a "home away from home" for sophisticated travelers. Offering a first-class combination of discretion and grace - the 193 rooms and suites feature elegant views of Central Park and Manhattan's skyline. Gracious and romantic formal dining awaits guests in The Carlyle Restaurant while legendary entertainers create the quintessential New York cabaret experience in the famed Café Carlyle.Step outside the elegant marble lobby and into a new level of sophistication. The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel is surrounded by galleries and designer boutiques on New York's posh Madison Avenue. Blocks from the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Guggenheim, the Whitney and the Frick, the hotel is within easy reach of what is commonly referred to as "Museum Mile." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle a Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle a Rosewood Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing