We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, wonderful service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
Ranked #232 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Palo Alto, California, United States
2 reviews
“Lovely hotel, wonderful service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

We arrived this evening but I thought I would write a review while I have the time. Our room is spacious, clean and elegant. We had a few minor needs (cable, ice, extra bedding) and the staff has responded very quickly and efficiently. The location is terrific. We are looking forward to a few more days at the Carlyle.
And, the Keihl's amenities are a great luxury.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ca_jenvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni_Beretta, General Manager at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
I speak for the entire staff when I say thank you for staying with us during your recent visit. I can only hope that we will be able to welcome you again in the not so distant future.

Sincerely yours,
Giovanni Beretta
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    135
    69
    38
    32
See reviews for
164
266
54
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Toilet ran water. Called four times. No one seemed to understand the problem. Returned from the theater to find a portable toilet in our room!! $700 a night for a portable toilet!!
No washcloths in room.
Had to call maintenance because the safe didn't work.
Could not rest in the afternoon because the next room hosted a trunk show. Very loud.
No one from management ever called to see if our problems were resolved.
Very bad experience!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
7 Thank Atlanta1002013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni_Beretta, General Manager at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Please allow me to extend to you my most sincere apologies for the many inconveniences you experienced during your stay. I have reviewed these issues with the appropriate departments and we are working on steps to prevent these types of issues from happening again.

We would be honored to speak with you further regarding your experience. You may ask for my office directly or reach out to our Director of Operations, Massimiliano Puglisi, at +1 212 570 7163 or massimiliano.puglisi@rosewoodhotels.com.

Warmest regards,
Giovanni Beretta
Managing Director
+1 212 570 7187
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Charming, elegant. Located in the best region of Manhattan, close to the central park... the only problem was the size of the standard room, that could be bigger.... I didn't tried the Spa but it looked superb!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juliana v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni_Beretta, General Manager at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you for staying with us and I hope we will see you again on your next trip to New York. Hopefully you will be able to experience our spa next time.

Sincerely yours,
Giovanni Beretta
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

It's not clear what exactly is going on at this formerly venerable establishment, but it is clear that the staff is not overwhelmed, stressed which is played out in confusion, frustration and anger. Perhaps the Carlyle is undergoing some sort of management reorganization and the staff is being left to run amok without skilled supervision.The problems seem mainly to exist with the dining room staff where there is a complete disregard for pleasing the patron. When my friend and I were seated for dinner our first night there, a woman sitting next to us stated that she had been waiting for half an hour for a menu. She mentioned this to us when the bread basket was delivered to her table followed a minute later by her entree. This should have been a tip off. We were mis-directed to the bar vs. Carlyle Cafe. The following morning, I was publicly threatened by the Maitre D' and told sharply, finger in face "not to complain" following a private comment I made to my friend. Later the Maitre D' apologized, but said he was "stressed" because he had 100+ patrons to serve. He did not seem to understand that stress did not justify his behavior. While waiting for a table. When my friend asked if there might be more eggs coming to the buffet table, she was told sharply by a wait person that people were busy in the kitchen and it would come when it came. We were excited to experience the Carlyle. Bemmelman's Bar was a delight, but the sadly the rest of the experience could only be termed nightmarish. We could not wait to get out.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stevieBSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni_Beretta, General Manager at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
I am always disappointed when issues arise with one of our guests during their stay. Our team strives to make each and every visit to the hotel a most pleasant and memorable one. The issues you experienced are inexcusable, and I hope you will accept my sincerest apologies.

If you would like to discuss the issues further, we would be honored to speak with you. You may ask for my office directly or reach out to our Director of Operations, Massimiliano Puglisi, at +1 212 570 7163 or massimiliano.puglisi@rosewoodhotels.com.

Sincerely yours,
Giovanni Beretta
Managing Director
+1 212 570 7187
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed just for a weekend. An elegant, quiet escape in the middle of one of the great areas of NYC. Would recommend to anyone wanting to stay on the upper East Side. Expensive but worth it if one needs to relax a little between exciting NYC attractions.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve41130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni_Beretta, General Manager at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
I speak for the entire staff when I say thank you for staying with us during your recent visit. I am happy to hear that we provided you with a relaxing weekend while taking in New York City’s sights. I hope we will see you again on your next trip to the Big Apple.

Sincerely yours,
Giovanni Beretta
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

I love visiting the Carlyle as a legendary hotel in New York. My room was remodeled and being on a high floor offered wonderful views on central park. Service was very attentive. It was a little bit odd to have someone from the staff inside the elevator to push the button and sing the number of the floor you are reaching. Restaurant prices are high but room service are outrageous! More than $60 for a burger (once you add all the charges...) seems a bit too much for me! Just went across the street to Jean Georges and had one for $29.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RoyalTraveler44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni_Beretta, General Manager at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for staying with us during your trip to New York and for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, from the views you experienced in your accommodation to our food and beverage pricing. It is my firm belief that guest feedback is essential to our organization’s success.

Thanks again and I hope we will be able to welcome you again during your next visit to the city.

Sincerely yours,
Giovanni Beretta
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
68 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Staying at the Carlyle is like stepping back in time. PErfectly preserved it exudes the true elegance of the Upper East Side. Monday nights with Woody Allen and his Jazz Band. Not to mention the finest cocktails.. I defy anyone to find a better Old Fashioned in the city. Perfectly appointed rooms and exceptional service.

Room Tip: I prefer to have a Madison Avenue facing room on as high a floor as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SimonLiebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni_Beretta, General Manager at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
On behalf of the entire Carlyle hotel staff, I would like to thank you for the kind words expressed in your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to your New York “home away from home” in the not so distant future.

Sincerely yours,
Giovanni Beretta
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#58 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,813 reviews
Upper East Side
Lowell Hotel
Lowell Hotel
#243 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#27 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
Hotel Plaza Athenee New York
Hotel Plaza Athenee New York
#210 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York
Four Seasons Hotel New York
#280 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel

Property: The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
Address: 35 E 76th St, New York City, NY 10021
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in New York City
#96 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#118 Family Hotel in New York City
#156 Business Hotel in New York City
#159 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with the elegance of the Upper East Side - from the vibrant culture and elite shopping to the oasis of understated luxury - The Carlyle has become a "home away from home" for sophisticated travelers. Offering a first-class combination of discretion and grace - the 193 rooms and suites feature elegant views of Central Park and Manhattan's skyline. Gracious and romantic formal dining awaits guests in The Carlyle Restaurant while legendary entertainers create the quintessential New York cabaret experience in the famed Café Carlyle.Step outside the elegant marble lobby and into a new level of sophistication. The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel is surrounded by galleries and designer boutiques on New York's posh Madison Avenue. Blocks from the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Guggenheim, the Whitney and the Frick, the hotel is within easy reach of what is commonly referred to as "Museum Mile." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle a Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle a Rosewood Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing