We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Unique, Excellent Hotel for a New York Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
Ranked #252 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A Unique, Excellent Hotel for a New York Weekend”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Despite the the fact that this is an older property that does not overwhelm in any physical sense, our stay there was memorable, and I would say singular, for its attentive but not intrusive service, and simple, wonderful elegance that made us feel amazingly comfortable and at home. It is the best staff I have encountered anywhere in the world, helpful, knowledgable and kind. The location is just right, and our youngest son will always remember the walk from the C to the Museum of Natural History through Central Park in the Snow. There are less expensive places to stay, and we certainly cannot stay at the C on consistent basis, but, for a time when you want things done the right way, this is the place.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni_Beretta, General Manager at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
I would like to thank you and your family for recently staying with us. I have shared your kind words with our entire staff as I know they are just as pleased as I am to hear about memorable moments created while visiting New York City.

Sincerely yours,
Giovanni Beretta
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    140
    74
    41
    36
See reviews for
172
278
57
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Osos, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Spent my birthday here and found it as luxurious as ever. First class service, wonderful decor, friendly staff who were always there to help, and Belmelman's Bar fun and lively, with good music. All very pricey, but, hey, this is New York at its finest! Can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eligson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni_Beretta, General Manager at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
I am always happy when The Carlyle is able to play a part in our guests’ lives, like for your birthday. I speak for the entire hotel when I say; we look forward to having you with us again.

Sincerely yours,
Giovanni Beretta
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This luxurious hotel is still delightful to stay at.
It offers old-fashioned charm & total comfort but it is very expensive.
The location is excellent, being right on Madison Avenue - and near Central Park, so you can easily walk to many places from the hotel.
Some of the staff have worked there for years.
The Spa is fabulous, with really well trained beauty therapists.
The Consierge is staffed by very helpful and knowledgeable people.
The only drawback was that we had to wait ages to be served every time we went for a snack or tea/drinks as there clearly are not enough staff working, at this busy time of year (December). And there was seldom a manger around to check on this.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madeleine_rijndorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni_Beretta, General Manager at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
I am so glad to hear about the delightful stay you had with us recently. Although I hope you can accept my sincere apologies regarding the long wait times you experienced in our food and beverage outlets. I have addressed these issues with the appropriate departments.

Thank you so much for staying with us and I hope we will see you again.

Sincerely yours,
Giovanni Beretta
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abuja, Nigeria
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I had a nice stay at the carlyle. we had a good size room with ample wardrobe space and Its in a great location.I will love to see a newer bathroom with a bigger tub and his and hers sinks though.
overall, great stay, great staff and good food.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni_Beretta, General Manager at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and for staying with us on your recent trip to New York.

Sincerely yours,
Giovanni Beretta
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We arrived this evening but I thought I would write a review while I have the time. Our room is spacious, clean and elegant. We had a few minor needs (cable, ice, extra bedding) and the staff has responded very quickly and efficiently. The location is terrific. We are looking forward to a few more days at the Carlyle.
And, the Keihl's amenities are a great luxury.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ca_jenvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni_Beretta, General Manager at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
I speak for the entire staff when I say thank you for staying with us during your recent visit. I can only hope that we will be able to welcome you again in the not so distant future.

Sincerely yours,
Giovanni Beretta
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Toilet ran water. Called four times. No one seemed to understand the problem. Returned from the theater to find a portable toilet in our room!! $700 a night for a portable toilet!!
No washcloths in room.
Had to call maintenance because the safe didn't work.
Could not rest in the afternoon because the next room hosted a trunk show. Very loud.
No one from management ever called to see if our problems were resolved.
Very bad experience!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
7 Thank Atlanta1002013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni_Beretta, General Manager at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Please allow me to extend to you my most sincere apologies for the many inconveniences you experienced during your stay. I have reviewed these issues with the appropriate departments and we are working on steps to prevent these types of issues from happening again.

We would be honored to speak with you further regarding your experience. You may ask for my office directly or reach out to our Director of Operations, Massimiliano Puglisi, at +1 212 570 7163 or massimiliano.puglisi@rosewoodhotels.com.

Warmest regards,
Giovanni Beretta
Managing Director
+1 212 570 7187
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Charming, elegant. Located in the best region of Manhattan, close to the central park... the only problem was the size of the standard room, that could be bigger.... I didn't tried the Spa but it looked superb!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juliana v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni_Beretta, General Manager at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you for staying with us and I hope we will see you again on your next trip to New York. Hopefully you will be able to experience our spa next time.

Sincerely yours,
Giovanni Beretta
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#76 of 467 in New York City
1,851 reviews
Upper East Side
Lowell Hotel
Lowell Hotel
#194 of 467 in New York City
296 reviews
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#28 of 467 in New York City
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York
Four Seasons Hotel New York
#171 of 467 in New York City
135 reviews
TriBeCa
Greenwich Hotel
Greenwich Hotel
#112 of 467 in New York City
524 reviews
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#32 of 467 in New York City
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel

Property: The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
Address: 35 E 76th St, New York City, NY 10021
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in New York City
#94 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#116 Family Hotel in New York City
#154 Business Hotel in New York City
#168 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with the elegance of the Upper East Side - from the vibrant culture and elite shopping to the oasis of understated luxury - The Carlyle has become a "home away from home" for sophisticated travelers. Offering a first-class combination of discretion and grace - the 193 rooms and suites feature elegant views of Central Park and Manhattan's skyline. Gracious and romantic formal dining awaits guests in The Carlyle Restaurant while legendary entertainers create the quintessential New York cabaret experience in the famed Café Carlyle.Step outside the elegant marble lobby and into a new level of sophistication. The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel is surrounded by galleries and designer boutiques on New York's posh Madison Avenue. Blocks from the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Guggenheim, the Whitney and the Frick, the hotel is within easy reach of what is commonly referred to as "Museum Mile." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle a Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle a Rosewood Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing