We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your own NYC apt.! Class and grandeur”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
Ranked #239 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Your own NYC apt.! Class and grandeur”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Do you want to experience New York City without all the hustle bustle 24/7? The Carlyle Rosewood hotel is in a residential area (Madison and 76th) It is stunning. The filet mignon at the restaurant is the best I have ever had. The service is outstanding. If you love history, this place is steeping in it. Jackie O used to have an apt. here. Ask for a tower room with floor to ceiling windows and views of central park. Julia Carey, the national sales director, showed me all of the different room types. All amazing! This is your hotel in New York. Quiet, peaceful dreams here.

Room Tip: ask for the tower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCminute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni_Beretta, General Manager at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. It filled me with immense pride to read your comments. It is great to know that someone has the same passion for this hotel as I do.

Sincerely yours,
Giovanni Beretta
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    481
    140
    73
    41
    34
See reviews for
171
276
56
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Once we divested ourselves of an apartment in NYC, it was the best to just stay at the Carlyle where everything is lovely & works! Love going to NYC for a few days; stay there; be nearby most things I need; stay in the most comfortable, place, with all the services one could want. Agree the restaurant is high priced and last time the quality of the food had gone very down hill, but not the prices. However, there are many restaurants nearby in every price range and all are good in one way or another. Love just being able to walk to most places. Staff is most accommodating; rooms are elegant, quiet, just a peaceful place in the middle of a very busy city. Best for me whenever NYC is on my agenda!
Gail

Room Tip: Stayed many times in a variety of rooms, suites, etc...never a problem with noise at any time. I am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghughes970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni_Beretta, General Manager at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
I would like to thank you for the kind words expressed in your review. Your comments have filled me immense pride.

Our goal is to provide exceptional and attentive service to ensure our guests’ visit is the most pleasant and memorable. I have shared your review with our different departments and they were just as pleased as I was to receive such complimentary words.

Thank you for allowing us to be your “home away from home” while in New York and I look forward to welcoming in the not so distant future.

Sincerely yours,
Giovanni Beretta
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

My sister and I stayed for two nights. While the renovated bathroom was small and not particularly luxurious, the room was a good size, with lots of storage space and nice furnishings. It was very quiet.
Breakfast is extremely expensive, but a very nice treat. For a tea lover, it was great to get good quality tea leaves in a proper pot. Service was very good. after breakfast we asked to see the famous bar with its murals by Bemelman (of the children's Madeleine books), and were given a private tour.
The atmosphere of this hotel is rather European - understated, not glitzy, but a very pleasant respite in such a busy city.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naomi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni_Beretta, General Manager at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
On behalf of the entire hotel, I would like to thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to New York. I’m happy that we served as a pleasant respite for you and your sister during your trip to the city. I can only hope that we will see you both again on your next visit.

Sincerely yours,
Giovanni Beretta
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Every December we travel to NYC for a long weekend. For the last four years we have gone to the Café Carlyle for the Tyrell show and always lamented that we should stay at the hotel. We stayed this year at the Hotel and it was fantastic! The room was great and the service was top notch. Plus there is no better bar to hang out in than Bemelman's. The breakfast buffet was great. Very old school in the dining room. I would not suggest showing up for breakfast after taking a walk in casual/workout wear. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coal110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni_Beretta, General Manager at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
I would first like to thank you for your continued support of the Café Carlyle. I am also so excited that you not only were able to experience the hotel but that you had a wonderful your stay with us. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back this December on your next long weekend to New York.

Sincerely yours,
Giovanni Beretta
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Love that they have elevator operators and doorman! Front desk is great and so is the maid service and room service! Only complaint-the service in the dining room and bar is awful. The waiters, waitresses, bar tenders just awful. Great rooms but eat somewhere else!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gymtandrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni_Beretta, General Manager at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I would like to extend my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you received in our food and beverage outlets. These issues are inexcusable and I have reviewed your comments with our entire food and beverage team.

If you would like to discuss the issue further, we would be honored to speak with you. You may ask for my office directly or reach out to our Director of Operations, Massimiliano Puglisi, at +212 570 7163 or massimiliano.puglisi@rosewoodhotels.com.

Sincerely yours,
Giovanni Beretta
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Stayed for four nights for a long weekend. This hotel was exceptionally quiet. I never heard a peep from the hallways or any other rooms. Spacious rooms (for NYC) and clean, with lovely bathroom. I appreciated having a hotel away from the bustle of Times Square, but still within easily reachable distance. Loved that Central Park was literally steps away. Very good coffee available in the mornings. Disappointing that WiFi service was not included in the cost of the room. I felt slightly uncomfortable in this hotel lobby but can't put my finger on why.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni_Beretta, General Manager at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
I very much agree with you regarding our location as it allows you to be able to step away from the hustle and bustle of the city and unwind while strolling through Central Park. Also, I would like to thank you for staying with us back in July and for your feedback regarding the pricing of our WiFi. Your opinion is essential to this hotel’s overall success.

Sincerely yours,
Giovanni Beretta
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sweden
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Second time we visited Carlyle and still nothing to complain about. It must be the absolut best hotel in NYC. Friendly staff, superb breakfast and wonderful bar. And of course Cafe Carlyle with Woody Allen playing jazz on mondays, don t miss it!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeleneSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni_Beretta, General Manager at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
We love welcoming back our guests and cannot begin to thank you for not only the kind words but for your support as well. We hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely yours,
Giovanni Beretta
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#72 of 468 in New York City
1,833 reviews
Upper East Side
Lowell Hotel
Lowell Hotel
#221 of 468 in New York City
290 reviews
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#35 of 468 in New York City
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York
Four Seasons Hotel New York
#204 of 468 in New York City
114 reviews
TriBeCa
Greenwich Hotel
Greenwich Hotel
#96 of 468 in New York City
520 reviews
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#34 of 468 in New York City
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel

Property: The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
Address: 35 E 76th St, New York City, NY 10021
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Spa Hotel in New York City
#96 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#118 Family Hotel in New York City
#156 Business Hotel in New York City
#163 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with the elegance of the Upper East Side - from the vibrant culture and elite shopping to the oasis of understated luxury - The Carlyle has become a "home away from home" for sophisticated travelers. Offering a first-class combination of discretion and grace - the 193 rooms and suites feature elegant views of Central Park and Manhattan's skyline. Gracious and romantic formal dining awaits guests in The Carlyle Restaurant while legendary entertainers create the quintessential New York cabaret experience in the famed Café Carlyle.Step outside the elegant marble lobby and into a new level of sophistication. The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel is surrounded by galleries and designer boutiques on New York's posh Madison Avenue. Blocks from the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Guggenheim, the Whitney and the Frick, the hotel is within easy reach of what is commonly referred to as "Museum Mile." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle a Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle a Rosewood Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing