We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Civilized”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
Ranked #249 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Westchester, NY
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Civilized”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

White-gloved elevator staff lends an unusual ambience to this NYC historic hotel. Immaculate quiet and comfortable rooms except for some water damage cracks in walls. Water pressure in shower was minimal. Loved the free daily newspapers delivered to your door, plush robes, Kiehls toiletries, free wifi and water bottles. Buffet breakfast has all you could ask for although specialty eggs are extra. Expensive but worth it for a special treat. Great location to UES museums particularly the Metropolitan.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank APBWestchester_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni_Beretta, General Manager at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us recently. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit as a special treat. Although I hope you can accept my sincere apologies regarding the low water pressure and the condition of your room’s walls. I have addressed these issues with the appropriate departments.

I hope we will be able to welcome you back in the not so distant future.

Sincerely yours,
Giovanni Beretta
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    483
    140
    74
    41
    36
See reviews for
172
278
57
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I just love the Carlyle. It is real old fashioned service, still with men in the lift, ready with a smile and a positive word every time you get in. You can't help but have a bounce in your step everyday when you stay here. The same staff have been here for years, and greet you by name every day.
The beds are the best I have ever slept in. Like a big firm hug! The bathroom is old world glamour of mirrors and marble, but with a bath and shower to die for. A wonderful range of Kiehls products, including lip balm, shaving foam for the men, creme de corps body lotion, and wonderful soap, shower gel, shampoo etc. all replenished twice a day if necessary.
Best breakfast ever. Buffet is wonderful. Everything is kept fresh and tastes amazing. Or you can order a la carte. The eggs benedict, the pancakes and lobster omelette all recommended.
The bar at night has great atmosphere and is a real New York stalwart.
Location is amazing for uptown shopping, Central Park and the Met. I really feel like I am living the New York dream when I stay here.
I always have a room in the tower between floor 27-33. These are smaller rooms, but the views are magic. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: It has to be in the tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loulou410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni_Beretta, General Manager at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for your continued support of The Carlyle. Our staff prides itself on extending only the highest levels of quality, service and hospitality and I therefore, take great pride in sharing your very kind comments with them.

I speak for the entire staff at The Carlyle when I say; we look forward to welcoming you back to your New York “home away from home.”

Sincerely yours,
Giovanni Beretta
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our twenty-fifth anniversary trip to NYC. I loved the history behind the hotel, and I was certainly not disappointed with the service or accommodations. Absolutely stunning room! Wonderful location, and very helpful staff. I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: We stayed on the twenty-first floor. Loved having the private balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 8909jmgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni_Beretta, General Manager at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us during such a special time, your twenty-fifth wedding anniversary. We are honored that we could be part it and we look forward to back in the not so distant future to your “home away from home” in New York.

Sincerely yours,
Giovanni Beretta
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poconos
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Check in was seamless at the multilingual front desk. Our room was huge with TWO walk in closets, maid service TWICE a day, "you can hear a pin drop" quiet rooms, and excellent location for shopping, walking in Central Park, museums, and restaurants. We went to hear singer/actress Megan Hilty in the Café, and she was fabulous, but the food was average at best, and in my opinion, if the waiters have to ask you to move your chair every ten seconds so they can negotiate the landscape --- then it's TOO CROWDED! Checking out with our car in the adjacent parking garage was a bit clumsy. Lastly, it is overpriced, if only because you can get the same for half the price. However, that being said, we like the Carlyle and we'd return.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rozfineart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni_Beretta, General Manager at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us on your recent visit to New York. I very much agree with you regarding our location as it allows you to be able within walking distance to great shopping, world-class museums and, of course, Central Park. In addition, I would like to apologize for the issues you experienced with the parking garage next door and while dining in the Café Carlyle Your feedback is absolutely essential to this hotel’s overall success.

Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future.

Sincerely yours,
Giovanni Beretta
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Have just completed a four-night stay at the Carlyle. The experience was excellent in all respects, and I have no hesitation in recommending the hotel. What distinguishes it above all is the sense of discrete, refined luxury. This creates a air of quiet contentment which is a welcome relief from the hustle and bustle outside the revolving doors. The decor is understated and elegant, witness the lobby and elevator area. My room was spacious, well planned, with a comfortable bed, and well stocked bathroom (bathtub and separate walk-in shower). Despite being directly on Madison, the room was remarkably quiet, so I had the best sleep on a two-week tour of the US.

Bemelman's Bar is an institution both for residents of NYC and visitors, and should absolutely not be missed. The decor and atmosphere is unique.

Staff, from the elevator attendants, to the bar, restaurant, and concierge, were unfailingly pleasant and attentive.

For those who have no need of see-and-be-seen, noise or bling, this is a perfect address in New York.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pnlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni_Beretta, General Manager at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
On behalf of the entire Carlyle hotel staff, I would like to thank you for the kind words expressed in your review. I have shared it with our various departments and they were just as pleased as I was to receive such complimentary words.

Thank you for allowing us to be your “home away from home” while in New York and I look forward to welcoming in the not so distant future.

Sincerely yours,
Giovanni Beretta
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The Carlyle is a high-class, very traditional hotel, now managed by the Rosewood chain, that added to it an impeccable service. Its location, next to the best NYC museums and art galleries, to some very special restaurants and on Madison Ave in a very nice area, gives you the comfort of quietude and a presence in the world. Its bar is maybe one of the best in NYC and the Carlyle Café, where you can dine at the sound of very good music is superb.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are exceptional
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LSARJBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni_Beretta, General Manager at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words and for choosing to stay with us while in New York. I am in absolute agreement that our location is ideal for anyone wishing for access to the city’s museums and art galleries. I hope we will be able to welcome you back to The Carlyle in the not so distant future.

Sincerely yours,
Giovanni Beretta
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My fiancee and I disagree on this one, but I think the Carlyle is an overpriced, stuffy antique. It's very formal, and sitting down for breakfast in the hotel restaurant/cafe is like having dinner on Downton Abbey. My other half explains that this is the point.

The rooms were nice, but we were paying 1k a night for a small suite that had windows with a view of a wall(inside). No terrace or view out, and we were there almost a week. I finally told my fiancee that we had to change hotels because I was losing my marbles.

The bed was too soft for me, and the decor fo the room felt very old (although not out of place).

Great gym staff, they have a trainer on duty who offers to help and guide you, pretty cool.

The quality of the food was great, but a boring menu with few options.

We saw Neil Young check out of the hotel along with what appeared to be a significant percentage of the Saudi royal family.

Hector, the manager was sharp as a tack and extremely helpful. He helped us switch rooms early in the stay and took care of several personal issues my fiancee and I had.

The only real negative that I can stand behind, besides the price (and hey, its NYC) is the water. There is(was) construction outside and maybe it was connected but on our last day my fiancee took a bath. She put in some bubble bath, so it was foamy. She didnt realize until she get in the water, but it was brown. And then the water that came out of the faucet was brown. After 30 seconds it cleared up. Disgusting. We called down to the front desk to inform them, and they said they would look into it. No one ever called us back(but we did check out 2 hours later). i also told the front desk about it whenI was checking out, but it was a hurried check out and we left quickly, so maybe they didn't have time to address.

Room Tip: If you are staying for a few days, spend the money and get a room that looks outward.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Crabjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni_Beretta, General Manager at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It saddens me to hear that you plan on not returning to the hotel on your next visit. I can only hope you will accept my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences and disappointments you experienced during your stay from the lack of follow-up on an issue from our staff to the menu options offered in our dining outlets. It is simply inexcusable and I have reviewed your comments with our team who are currently addressing the issues.

If you wish to discuss further, we would be honored to speak with you regarding your stay. You may ask for my office directly or reach out to our Director of Operations, Massimiliano Puglisi, at 212.570.7163 or massimiliano.puglisi@rosewoodhotels.com.

Warmest regards,
Giovanni Beretta
Managing Director
(212) 570-7187
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#80 of 466 in New York City
1,847 reviews
Upper East Side
Lowell Hotel
Lowell Hotel
#202 of 466 in New York City
296 reviews
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#28 of 466 in New York City
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York
Four Seasons Hotel New York
#169 of 466 in New York City
132 reviews
TriBeCa
Greenwich Hotel
Greenwich Hotel
#84 of 466 in New York City
524 reviews
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#32 of 466 in New York City
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel

Property: The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
Address: 35 E 76th St, New York City, NY 10021
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in New York City
#94 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#116 Family Hotel in New York City
#154 Business Hotel in New York City
#166 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with the elegance of the Upper East Side - from the vibrant culture and elite shopping to the oasis of understated luxury - The Carlyle has become a "home away from home" for sophisticated travelers. Offering a first-class combination of discretion and grace - the 193 rooms and suites feature elegant views of Central Park and Manhattan's skyline. Gracious and romantic formal dining awaits guests in The Carlyle Restaurant while legendary entertainers create the quintessential New York cabaret experience in the famed Café Carlyle.Step outside the elegant marble lobby and into a new level of sophistication. The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel is surrounded by galleries and designer boutiques on New York's posh Madison Avenue. Blocks from the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Guggenheim, the Whitney and the Frick, the hotel is within easy reach of what is commonly referred to as "Museum Mile." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle a Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle a Rosewood Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing