We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, good staff, normal rooms” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Carter

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Carter
Ranked #411 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Son
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location, good staff, normal rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Great hotel for a short stay in New York. Just one minute walk to some big attractions and just around the corner of TS. Lobby is OK, but was a bit crowded and dirty when we where there. Elevators are fast and get u there. Rooms are OK, but way to hot! Glad we could open the window and turn on the AC. Overall condition of the rooms is OK, not shiny and new, but on the old side, but we did not bother (checked 2 rooms, because we had a party of 4).

If you dont mind that the room is not up to modern standards, then this hotel is the best!

Room Tip: Ask for a streetview room, other rooms look out on the back of buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sjpr2006, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carter, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We strive to provide the best service experience and it is great to read from our guest. We look forward to your return trip to NYC and of course be our guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    965
    1,454
    567
    1,083
See reviews for
827
1,188
258
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

You can't beat the view and very close to Times Square and located in the heart of Manhattan . Beds are comfy. Loved how quiet my room was despite being in such a noisy area. Staff was amazing and friendly --thanks to Alvin Velasquez!-- the front desk. Pretty close to subway. Great access to a number of Broadway shows, as they're within walking distance. There's a lot of shop across the street that sells snacks/water at all hours.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jp F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sjpr2006, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carter, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for your kind words, particularly about the Hotel Carter Team. We take great pride in our people and feel strongly they are, hands down, our biggest asset. Rest assured your words will be shared with them. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

You def get what you pay for but overall the location was amazing just a block away from times square . The service was great as well. I stayed in one of the newly renovated rooms still was kinda old looking but clean ! had air conditioner , heat , hot water & clean sheets ! btw, the food in the diner downstairs is sooooo good ! however , the employees are very rude . If i visit NYC in the future i probably would stay here again :)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nellybeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sjpr2006, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carter, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We strive to provide the best service experience and it is great to read from our guest. We look forward to your return trip to NYC and of course be our guest again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Sure, it's a barebones hotel - the bed was so-so (a little lumpy, but no bedbugs) and there are no frills. You even pay for wifi, but $10 for 24 hours of connection is reasonable, especially considering the low cost of the rooms. Hallways tend to be loud at night, but not ridiculously so. You definitely hear every door that closes.

But the rooms are a decent size, warm, and clean. The staff was all very friendly and helpful with everything I needed. There's even a deli attached to the hotel where you can get a good breakfast for less than $5! And with Times Square and the Theatre District only a 5 minute walk away, you'd be crazy not to stay here. Hotel Carter is now my go-to place whenever I travel to NYC.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sjpr2006, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carter, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We strive to provide the best service experience and it is great to read from our guest. We look forward to your return trip to NYC and of course be our guest again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio City, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Ok I was stranded in NYC on the 21st of January 2014 thanks to the snow storm, lucky I found this super basic place that did not require previous reservations and trust me all the other hotels in the area had more than doubled their prices. Cheap very very basic room,very bouncy mattress if you like that sort of thing . I will recommend bath room slippers for the shower.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ifeoma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sjpr2006, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carter, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Hotel Carter. I was glad to read that your stay was pleasant and met your needs without breaking the budget! Thank you again and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Carter for a month (A whole 28 days) and I had a great time.
Rooms were a little old but a good size and clean. The bed was comfortable and there no signs of bed bugs. Bathroom was fine, clean and plenty of hot water and I was on the 22 floor.
Location was AMAZING. I literally walked every where i wanted to go.
Staff were friendly and the concierge ladies were super nice and helpful.
I would definitely stay here again next time I visit New York.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elisha86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sjpr2006, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carter, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for your kind words, particularly about the Hotel Carter Team. We take great pride in our people and feel strongly they are, hands down, our biggest asset. Rest assured your words will be shared with them. We look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth england
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

stayed here 6/1/14 thru 13/1/14 after reading reviews here was bit worried about hotel but the service we recieved was just as good as any hotel in NY location spot on for the attractions also we had room1014 ok a bit tired but hey if you want tne ritz go pay there prices this is an honest clean budget hotel ok rooms cleaned every other day but enough towels and face towels left by a very friendly room attendant
if you want a place just to sleep after a hard day seeing the attractions this is place to stay also there are plenty of restarants and fast food outlets close by
also the area is quiet safe cannot see whyother people say its seedy felt quite safe any time off day we returned back after beiing out
AND YES WILL USE THIS HOTEL AGAIN WHEN IN THE BIG APPLE

Room Tip: When booking in ask for a renovated room they will oblige if they can
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank driver66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sjpr2006, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carter, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your positive comments and share some great information with others. We look forward to your return trip to NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel Shocard at Times Square
Hotel Shocard at Times Square
#302 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#194 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,876 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Times Square Central
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Tim...
#158 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#107 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,369 reviews
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carter

Property: Hotel Carter
Address: 250 W 43rd St, New York City, NY 10036-3970
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #411 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Carter 1*
Number of rooms: 700
Also Known As:
Carter Hotel Nyc
Hotel Carter New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing