We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for Times Square”
Review of Hotel Carter

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Carter
Ranked #420 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 28 May 2014

You get what you pay for. As some reviewers have stated the whole place could really do with a full refurbishment. However, our room was clean and we have no complaints. Beds were comfy as were the pillows. Towels were changed every couple of days. There is some noise at night e.g reversing beepers and from bin lorries but compared to actual Broadway and many of the other side streets it was dead quiet. I found them helpful at reception and at the concierge desk and would recommend the hotel for somewhere relatively cheap to stay right in Broadway. If people want marble floors, a spa and posh restaurant they need to go elsewhere and pay a lot more. All we wanted was a bed for the night in a clean environment as we preferred to spend our money on enjoying ourselves.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mr1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sjpr2006, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carter, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Hotel Carter.! I was glad to read that your enjoy the location of the hotel. Thank you again and hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

283 - 289 of 4,296 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here in October 2013. The hotel isn't perfect or modern, but it is great value for money, in an excellent location at Times Square, and the staff couldn't be more friendly or helpful! Although the rooms are outdated in decor, the bed was very comfortable and the room was kept lovely and clean. The water was hot and it wasn't too noisy, all you need for a mini sightseeing break in NYC!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Crayzee07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sjpr2006, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carter, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We strive to provide the best service experience and it is great to read from our guest. We look forward to your return trip to NYC and of course be our guest again .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

There are two good reasons to stay at Hotel Carter, It´s cheap and it´s in Times Square. The hotel is a bit gloomy and runed down. But if you can manage that, you´ll have a cheap room in a great spot in New York. I´ve had a great time in New York and if my boss don´t raise my salary I´ll stay att Carter next time I´m in New York.

You get what you pay for.

Room Tip: I lived on the 5th floor and it was very noisy. Maybe it would have been better to live on the topfl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rob0156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sjpr2006, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carter, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Hotel Carter. I was glad to read that your stay was pleasant and met your needs without breaking the budget! Thank you again and hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed here in December 2013 during the X-mas and I must say that Hotel Carter had a major role in making our New York experience,more enjoyable and memorable! The primary reason for shortlisting this property,was the good reviews on internet, regarding it's location and room rates. However,we were still apprehensive about our decision till the time we reached New york.
It was 23rd Dec when we reached when the city was bustling with people who had come from across the globe to celebrate .Reaching the property,we were more amazed than being happy.God,what a prized location this hotel has got..it's just off the main crossing of Times Square!! One can even watch the amazing skyline of NYC and Times Sq from a room window.The location made our experience even better and we could cover many of the tourist attractions just by taking a walk or the tube rail (which is a 2 mins walk from Hotel Carter).
Some of the pros & cons are as below:-

Pros:-
1) The prized location,as said. Times Sq is just next door,so is a Broadway theatre,Madame Tussauds,Rockefeller Centre, Bryant park,Madison Square Garden,lot's of eateries,restaurants etc...Times Sq tube rail stn is at a stone's throw distance.
2) The low room rates. I can bet that no one can give rooms at such a rate being in a location like that of Hotel Carter!
3) Easy,hassle free booking (we did it online from our home country)
4) The rooms were amazingly warm in the chilling winter that we stayed in NYC (it was -10 deg cel on one day)!
5) Saves a lot of time & money on communiting,because of the strategic location.

Cons (if your consider them so)
1) It's an old property,so can't rely on the running tap water for drinking
2) Rooms are not that spacious and well maintained as that of any branded hotel
3) Room Service is just okay (well,we didn't mind it)
4) Doesn't have its own restaurant /eatery.However,tt has a store at it's ground floor for emergency.
It's all about priority and if it's about location,then Hotel Carter is a winner all the way!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the higher floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sourav2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sjpr2006, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carter, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your positive comments and share some great information with others. We look forward to your return trip to NYC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Were to start....

Pro's:
The location
That is all.

Cons;
The television bracket in our room(639) was hanging off the wall and wires were hanging loose with bits off brick from the wall fallin off.
The taps in the bathroon were moving away from the sink and barely worked.
At night, there were alot of bangin noises, a slight drill noise and constant lift noises= NO SLEEP!
The walk in wardrobe was damp. The shower was dirty as was underneath the bed.
They advertize wifi yet when you ask for the password, they let you know its $10 per day to use wifi and it barely works even then.
The person on meet and greet has less personality than a boiled egg and couldnt care less about helping you with any information etc as it is below him to help tourists!

I booked this hotel for two nights at the very last minute and was staying with my son. I found it over all, very scary with a faulty towers feel to it. I certainly would not recommend to anybody and would never look at staying here again. I have no idea how this place has passed any kind of health and safety inspection.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Connoramy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sjpr2006, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carter, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to describe your recent experience at Hotel Carter. I apologize that the accommodations were not up to standard. Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Amazing location for a base , Times Square / Broadway on the doorstep and Hells Kitchen just a couple of blocks away. Rooms were comfortable (especially the large bed) with plenty of room to get around. Yes, the decor is outdated but don't expect 5* surroundings for a 2* price. This is New York City after all. We would definitely come back here to stay if on a budget. Only gripe I have is that the heating was on whilst it was quite humid outside so the room was a little on the warm side when returning but air con soon sorted that out so we felt no need to complain. Our toilet did get blocked, but was sorted right away whilst we were out. We do wish that the safe was in the room instead of behind reception. All in all a basic room but was as clean as it could be.

Room Tip: Room 312 - 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MossyJoAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sjpr2006, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carter, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay! We are glad that we met your expectations. Warm Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I to was also aprehensive about booking this hotel for my trip, but found that it was ok and served its purpose as you wont be spending much time in the room in such a great city with lots to do and see!!, ( room # 1006) room was ok view from room well there wasnt one apart from a wall in one window, and other hotel rooms in the other. there was a droning sound all night which i think was coming from an extractor vent on the other building which was a bit anoying, if i was in a room higher in the building this probably wouldnt have been an issue. Bed was comfertable, bath room was basic, the taps were a little loose there was no basin plug, shower worked fine, but i do agree with other reviews about the towel's they are very thin and small, there is no safe in the room so if you need to store valubles you will need to rent a saftey deposit box that are behind the reception,($5 a night) also if you need or want o use wi-fi theres a charge of $5 for 2 hrs or $10 for 24 hrs, i found the staff freindly, Would i stay here again? yes i probably would due to the price and location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sjpr2006, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carter, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

It is genuinely rewarding to read that you enjoy your stay at Hotel Carter Thanks so much for your review! We look forward to hosting your next visit New York City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#355 of 473 in New York City
20,516 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#419 of 473 in New York City
562 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#116 of 473 in New York City
7,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#141 of 473 in New York City
7,531 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Shocard at Times Square
Hotel Shocard at Times Square
#198 of 473 in New York City
299 reviews
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#374 of 473 in New York City
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carter

Address: 250 W 43rd St, New York City, NY 10036-3970
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #420 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £68 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Carter 1*
Number of rooms: 700
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Carter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carter Hotel Nyc
Hotel Carter New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing