We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for the Money”
Review of Hotel Carter

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Carter
Ranked #415 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Rochester, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Value for the Money”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Yes, the negative reviews had scared me. They were unfounded. My room was on the 8th floor. Not completely remodeled, but freshly painted, new tv, very comfortable queen size bed, newly tiled bathroom. Air conditioner worked fine. Awesome pillows. Hot Shower. Linens, mattress, towels, etc, all CLEAN. Best of all, the staff was consistently accommodating and friendly across the board. Better than some 5 stars I've stayed at. Can't say enough good about them.
The only surprise was that they haven't changed the carpet in the lobby. In summary, old - yes, dirty-no and you can't touch the price and location.

Room Tip: The pictures are of rooms on the 4th floor but it's hard to get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sjpr2006, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carter, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at Hotel Carter. We take great pride in our cleanliness and service.We look forward to hosting you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    966
    1,456
    568
    1,085
See reviews for
830
1,190
257
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We got a cheapo reservation on the web ($113 plus tax made about $144 per night). Stayed 2 nights. The location is perfect, right in the Times Square, Theater District and Garment District and walking distance to Bryant Park and a little farther to Penn Station. You can get anywhere from here. But the amenities are minimal. WHile the room and bathroom were clean, there was no coffee pot or reading lamps. Yes, there were towels and shampoos. No one made our bed or gave us new towels, but that wasn't really a problem. Wifi cost $10 for a 24-hour card. Lots of security downstairs. No restaurant or pool.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sjpr2006, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carter, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Hotel Carter.! I was glad to read that your enjoy the location of the hotel. Thank you again and hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed for 3 nights at Hotel Carter for an avg of US$150. The location is great since it is basically on 43rd between 7th and 8th. I rolled my suitcase from Penn Station and it wasn't bad. Right near Times Square.

Lobby
The check in starts at 3pm, and check out is 11am. I arrived at about 9:30 am, so it was too early. You can pay $4/luggage to keep in a separate locked room. They will tag your suitcase and when you come back you just point out your suitcase and give the person your tag. There is a tickets booth in the lobby as well. There is Wifi but you have to pay for it. I didn't pay for wifi, so I don't know the cost.

The concierge is hit or miss. There were some friendly people and some that were alright. The person checking us in was talking to her colleague the entire time of the check in. The conversation was strange since she was saying how she cares more about older people than children. Honestly, it was raining the day I checked in. I rather be checked in faster than wait because she was carrying a conversation that can continue afterwards. Also when I asked about the wifi and other questions, while I received an answer, it was just like a really straight reply. The check out person was nice but all she had to do was take the room key.

There are couches for you to wait and there's a tv there as well. There are 3 elevators in the lobby. There are also washrooms on the side. There doesn't appear to be a dining area but it's attached to a diner where you can buy breakfast. I didn't eat there.

One thing to note when you arrive at the doors of the hotel is a set of mini stairs. So you'll have to carry your suitcase up. I didn't notice a ramp but that could be hidden.

Room
My room had two double beds and a nice size closet and a washroom. There was a air conditioner attached to the window and that was about it. The washroom had no ventilation. So it felt quite moist at times after a shower? The beds were alright, not too firm and not too soft. I checked for bedbugs and our beds in our room did not have it. They cleaned our room during the third day of our stay. Personally, we kept our towels off the floor, so it didn't really matter to me but if that matters to you, I just want to note that they cleaned our room once in our three night stay. There is a mini tv in the room too. There was no safe in the room. I don't usually use safes in hotel rooms anyway but that might be important for others.

Bathroom
The shower head in the washroom was nice. Just because it had good pressure. Usually in the hotels I've stayed at the pressure is pretty light, so this was great! Especially after a long walk. The mirror on our sink wouldn't close so it's always opened. There was no hair dryer. I didn't try to request for one though.

Overall
If you only care about location and price, then this is a good hotel option. When I was booking, there were more expensive choices for about the same amount of stars and further. Hotel Carter is very convenient because it's just steps away from Times Square and if you want to watch a show on Broadway. Also there are a lot of food options. There's a few McDonald's and Starbucks near by. There is also a few Gentlemen's clubs but what happens inside those doesn't affect the location of Hotel Carter. The only thing for me is, I wish there was ventilation for the washroom. I understand in older NYC homes and hotels the washroom might not have a window but it would be nice to have a vent but it could be due to the structure. I noticed that it's not like I could hear noise from the outside, even though we are next to Times Square. In the bathroom, I can hear some rumbling but within the room itself, the noise level was good. There might be one night we could hear our neighbours but usually it was quiet.

I would stay here again for the right price due to convenience of location and big beds. It does look outdated though.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Choco_robba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sjpr2006, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carter, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your positive comments and share some great information with others. We look forward to your return trip to NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

After reading all the previous reviews me and my partner were very apprehensive about staying at Hotel Carter! However...we were pleasantly surprised when arriving here. We were greeted by security doormen and our first impressions were great!

The hotel was very clean, a little old fashioned but staff were lovely and friendly! Free wifi in the lobby.

We stayed on the 5th floor and our room was very spacious, queen sized bed, flat screen t.v, air con was very good. Clean bathroom with powerful, hot shower! & we were given clean towels etc every other day!

The hotel is along the same road as Hard Rock Cafe and in between Times Square and 8th avenue which has plenty of restaurants and diners!

Shuttle bus to JFK for two - $50

If you're looking for a basic hotel, just to rest your head then Hotel Carter is perfect!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clp4x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sjpr2006, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carter, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your kind words, particularly about the Hotel Carter Team. We take great pride in our people and feel strongly they are, hands down, our biggest asset. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

One month after booking a room at this hotel I decided to do some research and after reading all the comments I was starting to get worried but decided to stay at this hotel anyways . After my 1st 3 days in my 1st hotel it was time to pack and head over to hotel carter all the bad reviews stuck in my head . I tried to check in early and to my surprised I was able to check in at 12:30pm . Front desk was friendly as I'm walking into my room the room was clean and way bigger then the other hotel I was staying in around the corner . I keep my do not disturb sign on my door at all times but every-time a cleaning lady saw me they asked if I needed fresh towels or trash i didn't want . And it's also in a perfect location . over all I had a good experience and I already recommended this hotel to friends that travel to NYC if you are out and about all say and want a cheap hotel on a perfect location then this is the place to be . I'm a huge breakfast lover and the cafe next door serves it all day and it's good . And yes I will be back !

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reyesrr55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sjpr2006, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carter, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay! We are glad that we met your expectations. Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Not worth the $200 per night, very over priced for what you get. Tiny room, tiny bathroom, towels are like paper and you have to ask for more as your room not serviced, we stayed 4 nights. Only good thing is location just off times square. Security at hotel lobby. Staff where friendly

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snake43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sjpr2006, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carter, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Hotel Carter.! I was glad to read that your enjoy the location of the hotel. Thank you again and hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Bit nervous after reading reviews but Room was comfortable, big walk in closet to store luggage and decent size bathroom. Very old but reasonably clean , staff were helpful, and doorman was a great help with the luggage. lifts a bit slow in the morning, especially up to 17th floor. Could do with an extra blanket on bed. Location is very close to Times Square. Wouldn't be my first choice but was ok.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swaneeqld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sjpr2006, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carter, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We strive to provide the best service experience and it is great to read from our guest. We look forward to your return trip to NYC and of course be our guest again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel Shocard at Times Square
Hotel Shocard at Times Square
#281 of 467 in New York City
195 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#179 of 467 in New York City
2,314 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#347 of 467 in New York City
18,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Times Square Central
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Tim...
#148 of 467 in New York City
1,441 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#309 of 467 in New York City
9,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carter

Property: Hotel Carter
Address: 250 W 43rd St, New York City, NY 10036-3970
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #415 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Carter 1*
Number of rooms: 700
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Carter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carter Hotel Nyc
Hotel Carter New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing