We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy Campers :)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
Ranked #243 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Happy Campers :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

We came to NYC to celebrate a friend’s birthday. We stayed @ 70 Park Avenue during the Memorial Day Weekend. It’s a perfect location in midtown east: corner of Park Avenue and 38th Street, walking distance from Grand Central Station, Rockefeller Center, and Bryan Park, just to name a few.

The staff was great! I had lost the key to my suitcase lock and they sent someone up to our room immediately to open it up for me. They also sent us up a bottle of champagne, a cheesecake and chocolate soufflé dessert and strawberries to celebrate our friend’s birthday. It was a very nice gesture.

We stayed in a 2-queen bedroom on the 14th floor. But for 4 ladies staying for 3 nights, it’s a bit cramped. Room was pretty clean, I didn’t notice any stain or any weird smell, which is a plus for me considering that the hotel is pet’s friendly. We tried to keep our room in order to make it easy for the hotel maid to clean, because between the 4 of us, we have tons of toiletries and make-up spread out everywhere, and at least 15 pair of shoes on the floor! We left a tip and thank you note each day for the hotel maid (Michelle), and she in turn, left us a beautiful flower arrangement on the 2nd day, how sweet is that?

Kevin is an awesome concierge. We were being very selective with our dining choice one night, but he was very kind and accommodating.

My only complaint was the Air Conditioning Unit: it’s not cold enough! We noticed this on the 1st day and they sent someone up right away, and we're told to not put our stuff on top of the AC unit because they constrict air flow and keeping our room warm (duh ;P ). We followed order but the next couple days the room remained mid 70-degree warm. In the morning of our last day we finally called again and as it turned out, there was something wrong with the AC after all, but since we’re about to check out in a few hours, we asked them to fix it after we checked out since we needed to get ready & pack our suitcases. Aside from this problem, at the end of the day we were 4 happy guests and frankly, a little sad when we had to say goodbye to our room. We’ll miss 70 Park Avenue and all the good stuff NYC had to offer!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AroundThaWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lulu E, Manager at IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Thank you so much for writing this review! Thank you thank you thank you for the notes to the housekeeping staff, that is so sweet of you! I’m so happy you enjoyed the flower arrangement from Michelle, our housekeeping staff takes pride in their work every day and we love them for it! I agree with you, Kevin is awesome! Though you didn’t have a perfect stay (the A/C unit), I’m so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    867
    819
    290
    117
    63
See reviews for
407
753
159
425
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

I stayed here for two nights, I have been to NYC over ten times and this has been the BEST hotel I've stayed in. The staff were so friendly and nice, nothing was too much trouble. The hotel was emaculite, rooms are beautiful. Great location and of course Kimptons wine hour. I must say I'm looking forward to my next Kimpton stay

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cookiemonsterfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a long weekend in mid-May, and we were very pleased. Our corner room was on the top floor with lots of windows and french doors leading out to a balcony. Beds were comfortable and there were plenty of towels and toiletries in the bathroom. No trouble at all with street or neighbor noise bothering us. The location of the hotel was excellent - in a quiet neighborhood but within easy walking distance to many attractions. Close by is Grand Central, Times Square, the Empire State Building - and just a nice stroll to the Union Square Greenmarket. Subway was easily accessible, as was the PATH train when we needed to hop over to Jersey City for work. Service at 70 Park is friendly and efficient, consistent with what we've found at other Kimpton properties. We like Kimpton because their hotels are fun and friendly. In fact, I may plan our next vacation based on where I can find a Kimpton hotel . . . Join the Kimpton InTouch loyalty program for free, and enjoy a few little extras. My husband ordered room service for breakfast, and it was very good. We were too busy to take advantage of the complimentary afternoon wine, so I can't speak to that. No coffee makers in the room, which is inconvenient. However, Starbucks is two blocks down.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neverseenitbefore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hays, Kansas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

I have never been in a more service oriented hotel then this Kimpton! I've stayed in Kimpton's before, but this one was over the top! There were so many little touches and perks that made our experience over the top. They treated our little girls, as well as us, like royalty! I would stay here over and over if given the chance! Every staff member was fabulous!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elodiejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

Great hotel, nice decor, clean and spacious (for New York at least)! The evening drinks in reception were also a nice touch. The location is handy for anywhere in Manhattan too.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kai_kai63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

Memorial weekend in NYC could not have been better thanks to the comfortable accommodations at 70 Park. Room was spacious, clean and modern decor. After a long day of subway travel, walking and sightseeing the jacuzzi tub was a wonderful respite! Located three short blocks from Grand Central made it easy to go anywhere uptown or downtown or in between (even to other bouroughs if you like). Many restaurants in all price ranges as well as corner stores and Starbucks also within walking distance. In hotel gym very limited but the front desk will provide free pass to local sports club. Staff was courteous and friendly, room service breakfast prompt. Only drawback, in hotel bar closes very early. Highly recommend and will stay again!

Room Tip: Higher floors facing street offer a view and are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aslHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

I was quite surprised by the great customer service at this hotel. Everything from just really friendly staff, to being very quick on requests for extra glasses, bottle openers, etc... even a bowl uncooked rice when we needed to dry out a wet iphone (at 2am).
Loved the happy hour too!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LostCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#45 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,271 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Metro
Hotel Metro
#84 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,962 reviews
Upper West Side
Inn New York City
Inn New York City
#342 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#125 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,605 reviews
Midtown
Kitano New York
Kitano New York
#112 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Midtown
Morgans New York Hotel
Morgans New York Hotel
#184 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel

Property: IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
Address: 70 Park Ave, New York City, NY 10016-2504 (Formerly 70 Park Avenue Hotel)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in New York City
#148 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#160 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#186 Business Hotel in New York City
#187 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in midtown Manhattan, 70 Park Avenue Hotel is a luxurious urban hideaway. Ideal for business and leisure travelers alike, this intimate boutique hotel offers gracious personalized service in stylish surroundings. This hotel is convenient to Grand Central Station, Fifth Avenue shopping, Rockefeller Center, Broadway, museums and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton New York City
70 Park Avenue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing