We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Updated, Spacious, Quiet, Comfy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
Ranked #251 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Updated, Spacious, Quiet, Comfy”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

This hotel is on a quiet section of Park Avenue, and has a nice little bar and coffee shop attached to it. The room was updated, with a chic and modern décor. The bathroom was enormous, particularly by Manhattan standards, BUT, the shower was odd: it had one of those curved shower bars that are supposed to be used in small spaces, but since this bathroom was so big, it looked out of place, and, if you weren’t strategic with the shower head, water sprayed out of either end of the tub. The water pressure was really strong—borderline too strong—and caused the water to bounce off of you and onto the floor. Anyway, it was a decent enough hotel for a night.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxjeffjen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill B, General Manager at IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
maxjeffjen1,

Thanks for your feedback! We'll definitely look into that issue with our engineering department!

Safe Travels,

Bill Babis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    889
    863
    317
    124
    64
See reviews for
427
806
164
440
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

my concerns started when we arrived at the hotel and the doorman just watched us unload our luggage and wrestle it into the front door...never offering to help. We got checked in but were given very little info about how to get to room, surrounding area etc... Checked with concierge about somewhere nearby for a quick bite...he seemed a little checked out and really didn't have many options to offer. Our stay went downhill from there...we got to our room through the very narrow, dark and dingy hallway and although the room was small (which I expected) I was not expecting the incredibly small size of the bathroom...the walls were mirrored to make it feel bigger but there was only about a foot from the front of the toilet to the wall, a very small pedestal sink and a very old bath/shower combo that was given a very poor cosmetic makeover. I could have lived with all of these things but we noticed when we first got to the room that it was very warm so we adjusted the thermostat before heading out for dinner only to return and find that it was not cooling down. After a restless, sweltering night we called down to the front desk to see if they could send someone to fix the A/C...the "engineer" came up and his idea of fixing the problem was to open the window...with all the street noise that did not seem like a very feasible solution. They did not have another room to move us to so we checked out and found a much better option for our stay. We have always enjoyed the Kimpton hotels in other cities but this one is just not up to those standards.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ACS5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill B, General Manager at IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
ACS5,

I'm so sorry to hear that you didn't have the Kimpton experience and you are correct that is not the welcoming of Kimpton standards. If you find yourself in NYC again please feel free to reach out to us directly via our office manager Macarena Monros, so we can try and regain your loyalty!

Safe Travels,

Bill Babis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friday Harbor, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We are regulars at Kimptons in the northwest so we picked 70 Park Avenue for a week's vacation in New York City. This is a small hotel in a 1920's era building just south of Grand Central Station on Park Avenue. Great neighborhood without the sleaze of the theater district but close to subways, buses and easy to get a cab. Hallways are tight, bathrooms are small but the rooms are nice-sized, furnished with the quirky elegant Kimpton touch and very very comfortable and clean. I can't say enough good things about the staff. From the doormen to the concierge to the desk clerks to housekeeping, everyone was super-helpful. Special thanks to Mario who went out of his way to see that we were comfortable and positively pampered. The morning "continental" buffet in the hotel bar is great--everything from pastries to yogurt parfaits and even bagels/lox. As In-Touch (Kimpton loyalty program), we got wonderful perks as well.

Room Tip: We had a king room on the 9th floor facing Park Avenue. Very little street noise and a nice view.
See more room tips
Green Features: It's a Kimpton. Environmentally-friendly is one of the chain's hallmarks.
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbkenter45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill B, General Manager at IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
rbkenter45,

First and foremost thanks for being a Kimpton loyalist and secondly thank you for that great review!! We'll be definitely sending that feedback to Mario and we're so glad he was able to show you some Kimpton love!

Safe Travels,

Bill Babis
General Managerh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We spent a week at the 70 Park Ave hotel in New York and loved it. The hotel is located just blocks away from Grand Central Station for easy access to the entire city. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. We love staying at Kimpton hotels and resorts and will always look for them in every city we visit. We have never been disappointed.

The rooms are a little on the small side...but come on...this is New York City!

Room Tip: Go for a room upgrade if you can afford it. The cheapest rooms are nice but small.
See more room tips
Green Features: All Kimpton hotels are very environmentally friend with in-room recycling and green options.
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovesagoodgetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill B, General Manager at IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
lovesagoodgetaway,

Thanks for the great review and thanks for your Kimpton loyalty!! We hope to see you again next time you're in NYC!

Safe Travels,

Bill Babis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Canaan, Connecticut, United States
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Enjoyed a pleasant overnight recently at this compact-but-comfortable hotel, conveniently located in Midtown on Park Avenue. The decor reminds one of a European hotel. Very efficient use of small spaces. Friendly wine reception gathered many guests in the lobby at 5:00 pm. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Concierge suggested a newly-opened English pub right around the corner, which was quite nice, great food, reasonable prices.
Rooms in the hotel are OK; newly decorated, but B+ on quality. Bathrooms are tiny but functional. All around, a reasonable value - I would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill B, General Manager at IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Joseph L,

Thank you so much for such a regal comment!!! We hope to see you soon!!

Safe Travels,

Bill Babis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

Perfect location, wonderful service from all the staff. Arrived at 2:00 in the morning on the coldest day in 20 yrs and got a smile and fast efficient service when we arrived. Rooms are large for New York Hotels, the beds were very comfortable and the rooms had everything that you needed. If I returned to New York, I would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbiewi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill B, General Manager at IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Debbiewi,

WOW! Sounds like you got the Kimpton service and on such a cold day we're glad we could warm things up with some Kimpton love!

Safe Travels,

Bill Babis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed here in October 2013 for our honeymoon and could not have been more pleased. Prior to our arrival we had requested a room with the Empire State view, which we were given. On arrival we were greeted by very welcoming and continuously helpful staff, were nothing was too much trouble. We had read reviews about the rooms being too small, which I presumed for New York was standard, but our room was just the right amount of space needed for a change and sleep. Hotel location was good for us, a short walk to Times Square and down the street from grand central station. Highly recommend Pershing square cafe for an amazing breakfast which is just opposite the station. All in all we couldn't fault the hotel. All the things you want for a stay in the city were delivered and more. As it was our honeymoon we had various surprise treats left in our room by the brilliant staff, so if going for a special occasion make sure you let them know ;-).

Room Tip: Make a request prior to arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill B, General Manager at IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Nicola W,

We're so glad we could make your honeymoon extra special!!! We hope you'll keep us in mind for many anniversaries to come!!!

Safe Travels,

Bill Babis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#197 of 467 in New York City
788 reviews
Midtown
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
#310 of 467 in New York City
2,051 reviews
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#127 of 467 in New York City
4,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#134 of 467 in New York City
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel

Property: IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
Address: 70 Park Ave, New York City, NY 10016-2504 (Formerly 70 Park Avenue Hotel)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in New York City
#145 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#183 Business Hotel in New York City
#184 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in midtown Manhattan, 70 Park Avenue Hotel is a luxurious urban hideaway. Ideal for business and leisure travelers alike, this intimate boutique hotel offers gracious personalized service in stylish surroundings. This hotel is convenient to Grand Central Station, Fifth Avenue shopping, Rockefeller Center, Broadway, museums and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton New York City
70 Park Avenue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing