We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“absolute letdown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
Ranked #246 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
arizona
Level Contributor
130 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“absolute letdown”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Checked in for a three night stay...we are Kimpton InTouch members...advised that no other room was available since we were unhappy with room...advised us we would be able to relocate the next two nights...of course Kimpton never fulfilled this request...they even didn't get back to us...drain in room we stayed was clogged and advised by maintenance they would fix next day...finally...no hi definition channels in a hotel of this caliber ...unacceptable...the complimentary coffee coupon gives you an 8 ounce cup...and then they aggressive ly try to sell 5 pastries.. How confusing! Save your time and stay at eventi or some other property
N

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank traveler2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    868
    827
    295
    118
    63
See reviews for
409
761
159
430
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

I stayed at the 70 Park hotel last week for 2 nights. I was going to stay for 4, but ended up leaving early. The 70 Park is not a bad hotel, but it wasn't quite what I was looking for. Here is why:

- The 70 Park is an older hotel, and because of that, the floors creak a bit, the hallways are more narrow and darker, and it just has an older feel to it. The walls didn't seem as solid or noiseproof so I could hear more from other guests.

- I stayed in room 1401 which had a king bed. The room was a nice size, but the bathroom was very small. The furnishings were in good shape, but the room did have a slight musty smell to it. The tub had some mildew - it's not that the bathroom wasn't clean, because it was clean - but it's an older building and that shows. I heard very little noise from the street, which is a major plus in New York.

- Anyone can get up to the rooms - you don't need a key to use the elevator like you do at newer properties. Because I was traveling alone, this concerned me a bit.

- The lobby has a "living room" feel to it, which would be great to hang out in and relax. But I was by myself and didn't spend much time there.

- The staff of the hotel was nice, but they didn't go out of their way to be helpful or friendly, like some do at Kimpton Hotels. They did have various beverages in the lobby at all times, which was great when it was warm outside.

- The location is pretty good - it's away from the craziness of Times Square - and after the business day has ended, Park Avenue is quiet, for NY standards.The hotel is a few blocks from Grand Central Station and there is a subway stop there. I love to walk, so I had no problem walking to the upper west side, down to Byrant Park, Union Square, the Village, etc.

I'm glad I stayed at 70 Park. I've stayed at each of the Kimpton Hotels in NY. This was a nice hotel, but it's older and a bit further away from the activities I wanted to do.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Excellent stay. The hotel staff very friendly. Free coffee in the morning to take up to the room. Lovely wines during Wine Hour.

The hotel is situated conveniently close to attractions in a very posh area.

Had a broken blind that was fixed within an hour. Very pleasant experience. Would really like to stay there again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Annelie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

If you are looking for a decent hotel in NYC then this is the place for you. Easy to get to, great rooms, great bar facilities and you get looked after. This is the best hotel for the hotel experience i've stayed at in New York City. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TJA1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillBabis, General Manager at IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2015
Dear TJA1987,

Thank you for the five stars!

We are thrilled you loved our location and our property!

We hope to see you again.

Regards,
Bill B, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Three of us stayed at 70 Park Avenue the first weekend in May 2014. We arrived late at night, much later than expected due to cancelled flights, late flights, and other travellers' nightmares. We really appreciated the friendly faces of the night staff and the efficiency of checking in on arrival. This set the tone for the rest of the weekend. ALL the staff at this boutique hotel went out of their way to make our stay relaxing, comfortable, and memorable. The concierge service was amazing. Thank you Kevin and Christopher (Chris / Topher). We loved our rooms and the view of Park Avenue. This is such a cozy neighbourhood. The evening wine reception was a hit and was well attended by a lot of the hotel guests. The hotel is in a perfect location, away from the craziness of Times Square but close to everything we needed. Thank you Kimpton and the staff of 70 Park Avenue.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Don P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just stayed at 70 Park last week in Manhattan. My hotel room was maybe 200 square feet, but the windows taking up half the wall made up for the closed in feeling! I was in a King Deluxe room.

Always a bonus at the Kimpton Hotels is the happy hour every day from 5-6!

This hotel is super convenient to lots of places in NYC. Grand Central station is three blocks away (you can catch almost any train from there) and 5th Avenue is a couple of blocks over. They've got great restaurants close by (if you want a good steak, go to Benjamin's!).

I had a nice stay - safe neighborhood.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel on a weekend promotion by Kimpton. Convenient location close to Grand Central Station. Walkable to many attractions such as Times Square area. Kimpton has complimentary wine tastings in afternoon at its locations and it's a nice social gathering. The in building breakfast location wasn't great but there was complimentary coffee courtesy of Kimpton. It's an old hotel with tiny bathrooms but the congeniality of Kimpton is always appreciated

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TotallyRelaxed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#42 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,311 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Metro
Hotel Metro
#84 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,004 reviews
Upper West Side
Inn New York City
Inn New York City
#339 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Morgans New York Hotel
Morgans New York Hotel
#190 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,010 reviews
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#125 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,658 reviews
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#49 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel

Property: IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
Address: 70 Park Ave, New York City, NY 10016-2504 (Formerly 70 Park Avenue Hotel)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in New York City
#147 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#185 Business Hotel in New York City
#186 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in midtown Manhattan, 70 Park Avenue Hotel is a luxurious urban hideaway. Ideal for business and leisure travelers alike, this intimate boutique hotel offers gracious personalized service in stylish surroundings. This hotel is convenient to Grand Central Station, Fifth Avenue shopping, Rockefeller Center, Broadway, museums and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton New York City
70 Park Avenue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing