We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little hotel near Grand Central” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
Ranked #243 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great little hotel near Grand Central”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Grand Central Station is literally just down the block from this lovely hotel. We love to visit NYC for a few days and the Kimpton is a favorite spot. As Kimpton in touch members, we take advantage of their special rates, making this hotel an affordable treat. The view was lacking, an inner wall, but we didn't spend our daytime inside. We enjoy the relaxing wine hour after sightseeing and exploring the city. The rooms are small, typical of NYC, but nicely appointed with comfortable beds. The service personnel are friendly and helpful, and getting around town is easy. We've stayed here twice and expect we will be back.

Green Features: I appreciate that Kimpton pays attention to the impact on the environment.
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    867
    818
    290
    117
    63
See reviews for
407
753
159
425
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
IL
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We just spent 3 nights at this hotel. There were 4 of us in a 2 double bed room, so it was a tight squeeze but not horrible. We chose this hotel for its location a block away from family. Everyone who worked at the hotel was very friendly and incredibly helpful. Little details make or break a hotel stay for me and they did not disappoint. We came back to our room late last night (12:30-1:00am) after a boat cruise and realized we left the DND sign on our door. Right when we were talking about it, a hotel employee walked by and said "what can I bring you?" We asked for towels and within 5 minutes he brought them. If we needed a cab, they were right there. If we had a question there was always someone to ask.

They have two water "coolers" right when you come in with a different fruit every day. It's nice to get a refreshing drink after a day of sightseeing.

The hotel is a few blocks from Grand Central Station and walking distance to 5th Avenue, Bryant Park, NYC Library, etc. We had no issues with hearing anybody in other rooms or traffic. If you want a boutique hotel off the main route, 70 Park Ave is a wonderful choice.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank 3ofusMens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

This is a brilliantly situated small(ish) hotel. The rooms are excellent, and the service very good. Above all is its location. It is within a walk of everywhere you want to be in New York. The evening wine reception is a great novelty with decent wine being served. I've stayed here in both freezing winter and humid summer, and the rooms are comfortable in both. A comfortable stay is guaranteed. The only complaint I have is their limited ability to cash travellers cheques, but banks are nearby.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StarredMotion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
93 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

The hotel is beautiful, very modern! The staff is so much polite and helpful. The room was amazing, a very large bed, so much space, with a suitable desk and a very good armchair. There was a fridge with different drinks and an excelent bathroom! The location is amazing! You can walk to 5th avenue, central station, Broadway and times square. Near to the hotel, there is a Starbucks, what is so convinient to the breakfast. Very recomended!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fsamp7 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillBabis, General Manager at IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2015
Dear Fsamp7,

Thank you for the five stars!

We are thrilled you loved our location and our property!

Thank you for mentioning our team as providing great service.

We hope to see you again.

Regards,
Bill B, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

70 Park is Kimpton through and through. Lovely little lobby with friendly staff, daily wine hour, flavored waters and plenty of seating. The rooms have tons of personality and extras like an iPhone dock radio, yoga mat, giant light up mirror, traditional Kimpton robes, ample desk space and comfortable bed/linens. For NYC, our basic little Queen room was an acceptable size with comfortable bathroom. Nice Bigelow toiletries.

The only downsides: Small, slow elevators. Very loud outside noise coming up from 38th, even early Saturday morning (but on the flip side a great Empire State Building view). Appreciated the free coffee in the shop adjacent to the lobby, however the "freebie" is weak, and it's no fun to get dressed before your coffee.

The proximity to Grand Central is fabulous! There isn't a ton of evening activities right near the hotel, but cabs and trains are plentiful so no problem.

All in all would absolutely stay again for the right price.

Room Tip: Room facing 38th had tons of honking noise, even on the 14th floor.
See more room tips
Green Features: Much appreciated! Did not affect my stay negatively in any way. No big deal to re-use a towel.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GOYAYTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington, dc
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Our room was not getting cold. They sent up the engineer, who said the a/c was working fine, but left us with a fan. It wasn't working fine, and the next morning we asked to have the engineer look at it again. They said they would do that, and would call us if it couldn't be fixed and we needed to move. We never got a call. We got back very late. No evidence that the engineer had shown up. The room was still warm, but it was too late to start moving rooms. Wasn't a great room to start with. Staff were nice and friendly, but just weren't getting the job done.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dcwendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arizona
Level Contributor
128 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Checked in for a three night stay...we are Kimpton InTouch members...advised that no other room was available since we were unhappy with room...advised us we would be able to relocate the next two nights...of course Kimpton never fulfilled this request...they even didn't get back to us...drain in room we stayed was clogged and advised by maintenance they would fix next day...finally...no hi definition channels in a hotel of this caliber ...unacceptable...the complimentary coffee coupon gives you an 8 ounce cup...and then they aggressive ly try to sell 5 pastries.. How confusing! Save your time and stay at eventi or some other property
N

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank traveler2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#45 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,266 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Metro
Hotel Metro
#79 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,956 reviews
Upper West Side
Inn New York City
Inn New York City
#337 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#126 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,600 reviews
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#50 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,082 reviews
Midtown
Kitano New York
Kitano New York
#110 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel

Property: IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
Address: 70 Park Ave, New York City, NY 10016-2504 (Formerly 70 Park Avenue Hotel)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in New York City
#148 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#159 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#186 Business Hotel in New York City
#187 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in midtown Manhattan, 70 Park Avenue Hotel is a luxurious urban hideaway. Ideal for business and leisure travelers alike, this intimate boutique hotel offers gracious personalized service in stylish surroundings. This hotel is convenient to Grand Central Station, Fifth Avenue shopping, Rockefeller Center, Broadway, museums and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton New York City
70 Park Avenue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing