We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service and very comfortable rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
Ranked #244 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent service and very comfortable rooms”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This hotel lives up to the high Kimpton standards for style, comfort and service. The location is excellent, close to the Empire State building and Grand Central Station. The staff were friendly, enthusiastic and efficient. Our room was wonderful, quite big by NYC standards, with a king size bed and whirlpool bath, there was even room for a sofa! We got stuck in traffic and missed the evening wine hour so they sent a bottle up to our room just after we arrived, wonderful and thoughtful service. The bed was extremely comfortable and the pillows are a real treat at the end of a long day. It's also worth joining the Kimpton Karma loyalty program if you are planning to stay here.

Green Features: The rooms have rubbish bins for recyclable items, which is a great and very simple idea.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cp-k-v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill B, General Manager at IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your return!

Best,
Bill Babis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    881
    845
    299
    119
    63
See reviews for
414
782
161
433
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ferring
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We spent 5 nights at 70 Park Avenue. Although the hotel and rooms were looking a bit tatty and worn our room and all the communal areas were spotlessly clean. The reception and door staff couldn't be faulted and did everything they could to make our stay special. The same couldn't be said of the person manning the information desk who really didn't appear to be that bothered to help . This having been said it won't stop us from using the hotel again next time we visit NY.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FerringBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill B, General Manager at IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and we invite you to stay with us again so that we can further delight you!

Best,
Bill Babis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I spent three nights recently at the 70 Park Avenue and found some good things and some not-so-good things.

The pros:
The location is fantastic, just three blocks from Grand Central Station and inexpensive bus service to all airports.
Many of the Kimpton extra touches were evident: evening wine, nice toiletries, flavored water in the lobby.
The staff members were friendly and accommodating.

The cons:
The bathroom reeked (and I mean really reeked) of mildew. It's not just a matter of a dirty shower curtain, it's in the walls.
Evidently there is no place for housekeeping to store cleaning implements (vacuum, mop, etc.), so they occupy space in the hallway where they are plainly visible to guests.
The overall impression of the hotel is that it needs a good cleaning. Even the carpet in the elevators looked like the aftermath of a frat party.

All in all, it was a pleasant stay, but the facility falls far short of the normal Kimption boutique hotel experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill B, General Manager at IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Hi Jackie,

We sincerely appreciate your feedback and strive to improve ourselves the best we can to ensure that our guests are delighted. We hope that you'll decide to visit us again so that we can show you our true Kimpton spirit!

Best,
Bill Babis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I have stayed at two Kimpton properties in NYC and they were very different. 70 Park Avenue was a great little surprise though. It is a smaller boutique hotel and the rooms are done very nicely but are small even by NYC standards. What this hotel does have going for it is the best location I have ever had in 20 visits to Manhattan and some fabulous staff. The conceirge was fantastic, everyone so friendly and if you know Kimpton you know all about their complimentary wine at 5pm. I had called ahead of our stay to let them know we were there for a special occassion (my girl-friend's 40th birthday trip) and they had a bottle of champagne on ice and some NY Cheesecake and fresh berries waiting for us! It was another excellent touch by my favourite boutique hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill B, General Manager at IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at 70 Park Ave and we're glad to hear that your friend enjoyed her birthday treats! Next time you find yourself in New York, we hope to see you again.

Best,
Bill Babis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Just got back from New York and our stay at 70 Park Avenue was great. A boutique hotel, with friendly staff, clean modern rooms and within walking distance to Grand Central Station, Empire State, Chrysler Building, Bryants Park, the list goes on. The breakfast staff in the Silverleaf cafe were friendly especially the oriental man who made me smile every morning with his greeting. Very helpful, nothing too much trouble. The reception staff and doorman were also very helpful and friendly. Would return at the drop of a hat. The only down side, as with all hotels, is that the minibar is far too expensive. Great trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor and a front room. As this is New York there are buildings all around so the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill B, General Manager at IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Hi Tina,

Thanks for your review. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again next time you visit New York!

Best,
Bill Babis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

nice, clean rooms with everything you need. great location near grand central, but not a lot of stuff to do very near by, which was not really an issue for me. spacious rooms though the bathroom we had was a tight fit. was not a palatial kimpton, more a boutique style hotel--small and modern but comfy. concierge was very friendly and helpful. we were able to park our rental car here (but no in and out) and leave our bags for the day before we left the city.

Room Tip: we stayed in 1201, there is no view, but it was quiet and we had a spacious room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank habalooba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill B, General Manager at IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
We sincerely appeciate your feedback and strive to create an experience for our guests that exceeds expectations. We hope that you to stay with us again so that we can show you our true Kimpton magic!

Best,
Bill Babis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed here for three nights on business in May having just stayed for the previous three nights at a sister hotel in Washington DC.
The contrast in room size from Washington to here tells you a lot about the different cities. Huge room in Washington - very small here in NYC.
Having said that the hotel is clean and well located. A short walk from Grand Central Station and from Fifth Avenue.
Staff were generally very pleasant - with one exception - a rather rude chap in the breakfast bar. He was possibly trying to play to a stereotype of a gruff New Yorker. I just thought he was rude. But that's a small thing.
Overall a decent place to stay without bankrupting yourself.

Room Tip: Join the loyalty club in advance. It's free to join and that gets you free wi-fi. Get a room hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moonzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#39 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,329 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Metro
Hotel Metro
#81 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,046 reviews
Upper West Side
Inn New York City
Inn New York City
#343 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Morgans New York Hotel
Morgans New York Hotel
#195 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,025 reviews
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#129 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,707 reviews
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#51 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel

Property: IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
Address: 70 Park Ave, New York City, NY 10016-2504 (Formerly 70 Park Avenue Hotel)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in New York City
#147 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#185 Business Hotel in New York City
#186 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in midtown Manhattan, 70 Park Avenue Hotel is a luxurious urban hideaway. Ideal for business and leisure travelers alike, this intimate boutique hotel offers gracious personalized service in stylish surroundings. This hotel is convenient to Grand Central Station, Fifth Avenue shopping, Rockefeller Center, Broadway, museums and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton New York City
70 Park Avenue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing