We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Ranked #91 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Riva, MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 29 September 2011

I booked a room for two nights at The Tuscany based on the reviews found here and was not disappointed in any way. (I would agree that free in-room Wi-Fi would make sense, but I knew that going in.) The room was ample, stylish, very clean and quite comfortable. The staff were friendly and accommodating. The Tuscany was far superior to anything I checked on in the price range for this area. I won't hesitate to stay here again and give it high recommendation.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,826 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,071
    581
    110
    40
    24
See reviews for
234
863
106
319
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
DFW, TX
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Loved the St. Giles - The Tuscany Hotel. First of all, Murray Hill is one of the favorite areas to stay while in NYC. The Tuscany is a little boutique hotel with friendly staff and a small lobby. What set them apart for me, was the large rooms, cool decor and attention to details. I loved the long hall when entering my room, little alcove off the hall where the bar/mini bar was located and was very pleasantly surprised by the size of the room. Large closet with safe. Huge king size bed that was so incredibly comfortable, getting up for work was difficult. The doorman, Carlos was fantastic. All the staff was friendly, polite and courteous. I appreciated Carlos running down the block to grab a cab for me, smiling the whole time. (UN Week made most drivers and doormen a bit grumpy.) The bar was friendly and the bartender had nice recommendations for a nearby place to grab a take out dinner.
The bathroom was easy to use, well appointed and clean. I cannot find a single thing to complain about or suggest they change. I look forward to a return trip to The Tuscany.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJnCowtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Booked this hotel on tripadvisor recommendation. The room was huge by New York standards and wasn't noisy. We had a great view of the Chrysler building. Excellent TV selection. The bathroom was a bit dated but clean and absolutely fine. The shower was good. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Free wifi in the lobby was good. Lots of places nearby and Grand Central 2 blocks away to get anywhere, also Park, 5th and Madison all within walking distance. One thing that had concerned me was a reviewer worried about security, I can't see why. The lift system only operates with a room key card so no outsiders could use it and the reception area was always manned. The gym was also good. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

The hotel itself is a few blocks from Grand Central station, the front desk staff at the Tuscany are wonderful as is the lady who looks after breakfast. Our room, a corner king suite on the seventh floor, was amazing. Loads of room, a hallway, a walk in wardrobe with safe, a good sized bathroom (could do with freshening up but clean and functional) comfy big bed and no noise from the street. Air conditioning did the job which was great as most days the temp was in the 80's (f). Breakfast is reasonable and tasty but there are other options close by. Would strongly recommend and would def stay here again, and again, and again. P.S. this is a 4 star hotel and otherwise out of our price range but got great deal on oyster.com

Room Tip: 7th floor was great but im sure the views are better on higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newlyweds090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

I was at the St. Giles Tuscany two separate times over the last two weeks during the US Open and have to say this place really has it all. Room: My room was huge, granted it was a suite but it was bigger then any other suite I've stayed in NYC. It was clean, the furniture and TV were modern and overall a cozy, welcoming room with a great bed (think Heavenly). Service was terrific. I had guests in my pull out couch one night, called to have it made up and they were up in under 10 minutes. Ice? No problem, to my room in under 5 minutes. Where do you get this kind of service anymore? Staff was friendly, remembered me and helpful. This hotel is in a great location, two blocks from Grand Central for the subway and easily accessible for cabs around the city. Lastly, the small bar in the hotel was fabulous, they had have "two for Tuesday" and its a great little secret. Valerie our bartender on numerous nights was awesome and a lot of fun. Let's face it this is a great hotel that's got the whole package, I'd highly recommend it!

Room Tip: I stayed in suites on the 12th and 15th floors, both great spots, though if you can face the north s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rymac10s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Stayed here for three nights on business, and chose it after reading reviews here on Tripadvisor. It certainly didn't let us down. Arrived really late at around 1am in a thunderstorm, and was greeted so warmly by a charming young man called Dennis on reception that it made my day. He knew my name, that I was coming and that my colleague had arrived. Just great.
Room, for central Manhattan, was huge. On the 10th floor and really quiet. Mini bar, really big desk to work on, and mega comfy bed.
There's a tiny little breakfast bar downstairs, but if you want an elegant cocktail bar their sister hotel The Court is only two doors away, and very welcoming. Staff in both hotels are youngish and groovy, and very friendly.
Only tiny annoying thing is there's no wifi in the rooms and you have to pay $14 a night if you want connected, but it's free downstairs in the small lobby. Cheerful concierge called Karl ( from Miami) was very helpful, and on checking out we had access to a computer with a printer to do the airline online check in.
The location is brilliant. Really near Grand Central Station, it's just off Park Avenue, and you can pretty much walk everywhere.Great place and would certainly use it again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WanderingScotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, UK
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Had a really great time at this hotel on our honeymoon. We were even given a slight upgrade to a larger room as it was our honeymoon and we had a great view of the Chrysler building. The room was a great size. The hotel is quite small downstairs but there is a small bar in the lobby. A larger bar was available in the partner hotel next door but drinks were quite expensive. Can't comment on price as we booked a package deal and visited a few places.
Perfect location for Grand Central which allowed us to get to and from newark airport on the Newark Liberty Express bus which runs on a very regular basis. We bought a 7 day subway pass and got so much value out of it. Would definitely return!

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the front of the hotel for views of the Chrysler building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macogley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton
The Renwick Hotel New York City,...
#100 of 467 in New York City
1,058 reviews
Midtown
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
#315 of 467 in New York City
2,068 reviews
Midtown
Kitano New York
Kitano New York
#110 of 467 in New York City
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#54 of 467 in New York City
2,219 reviews
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#130 of 467 in New York City
4,824 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel

Property: The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Address: 120 East 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016-0906
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in New York City
#64 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#72 Family Hotel in New York City
#75 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel- emerged from a multi-million dollar renovation in 2013 as New York's latest luxury destination. The Tuscany's 124 rooms are amongst the most spacious accommodations you will find in Manhattan. Fabulous features include: hardwood entryways in all rooms, corner studios with an abundance of natural light and multiple suites with signature views of the Chrysler and Empire State Buildings. The plush decor creates warmth and invokes classic New York paired with modern amenities, including Molton Brown bath products, complimentary WiFi and rainforest showerheads in glass-enclosed showers. The Tuscany also boasts an in-house fitness center that features state-of-the-art exercise equipment. Open 24 hours a day for your convenience. Reserve today and rediscover New York City luxury at The Tuscany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Giles - The Tuscany New York Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotels The Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing