We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Tuscany Dec 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Ranked #92 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Clfiton Park,NY
1 review
“The Tuscany Dec 2013”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Very pretty hotel. Excellent and very friendly staff. Very helpful on all counts. Room was large and very attractive, comfortable. Only downside was size of bathroom for us was small, a little tight but there was a makeup mirror and seat in the room so we didn't have to be in the bathroom at the same time. Rooms vary so our companions had a normal sized bathroom.

Room Tip: No tips - we got our room randomly and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Barbie1921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,032
    564
    106
    40
    22
See reviews for
223
840
104
303
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Let me first start off by saying that this is a boutique hotel & if you are looking for the extreme lobby & movie style hotel entrance, this is not it. If you are looking for quality, comfort, a good location to everything & a personable experience then this is the hotel for you. We (4 of us) went for my mothers 50th over Thanksgiving & arrived at around 9:45am. Even though check in is at 3pm, Dennis at the front desk was amazing & had both of our rooms ready & my mother received a room upgrade free of charge! The rooms are VERY large but any hotel standard & extremely comfortable. Is the hotel completely perfect? No, but what in life is? I can note a few minor things that I did notice about the room such as the bottom hinge (1 of 4) on the shower door was loose & made a popping noise occasionally when you opened it. One of the towel bars was also loose & hung down a bit but never fell. One of the windows in our room was not sealed tight so a little cool air got in but it was right above the heater so we just left the heater on majority of the time. Over all this hotel met & exceeded my expectations for our trip. The entire staff is very polite, friendly & accommodating. The location is perfect. Plenty of good eating close by & not a far walk or taxi ride to anything worth seeing in the city. I highly recommend giving them a try.

Room Tip: Get a room as far down the hall as possible & away from the elevators. Less noise this way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TNT0227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We have stayed next door at The Court and really enjoyed the stay. This time we tried Tuscany and it was GREAT! It started off great with communication from Chris J. and the follow through from Joshua and Paul. That really started the stay off on the RIGHT foot. We came early so we could watch the Macy's parade and we were planning to check our bags, but our suite was ready was were able to check in at 9am! The room was very large, modern decor and the bed very comfy. The location works well for us, very close to everything. We did enjoy and will stay again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cove80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Good Cove80,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Tuscany! We are delighted to hear that our colleauges in Accommodations provided such a great start for you—I will be sure to share your kind words with them. And upon your arrival with us, we are so glad that you enjoyed your visit and our spacious, modern rooms. Thank you for staying with us at the St Giles New York Hotels and we hope to welcome you for another visit very soon!

Sincerely,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
@StGilesTuscany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alamo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The king rooms are great bathrooms beautiful, linens and towels very nice! There was no available in room information as to the other offered amenities, I.e., room service, newspapers, business services, etc.... Had to remind housekeeping to refresh coffee, Kleenex and T.P., very nice for the price, just needs a little tweeting!

Room Tip: You want to ask for a corner suite. Very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Good Maureen O,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Tuscany. We are delighted to hear that you found our spacious, modern rooms beautiful and that our bed and bath linens got such high marks. We certainly regret, however, that you had some issues during your visit. Our management team will be reviewing your feedback carefully so that we can take the proper steps to improve. I would like to speak with you personally to determine where we went wrong and how we can make your next visit a five-star experience. Should you be so inclined, please feel free to reach out to me personally at 212.592.8877 or email me at chriss@stgilesnewyork.com. Thank you again, and I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Sincerely,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
@StGilesTuscany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

From the time of our arrival, we knew our stay in New York would be different this time. Usually we stay much closer to Central Park at the Waldorf or Hilton by Rockefeller Center, but decided to try something different this time and we were very pleased that we did. Upon arrival, we were greeted by our "host," David who tended to our luggage and assisted in the check in process. The front desk was slow but friendly, so a trade off. Our room was quite large by NY standards and a very comfy king bed enveloped us each evening. The bathroom has no real counter space but there is plenty of storage and a seperate lighted vanity area. The shower though....WOW, probably the best shower I have ever had in any four or five star hotel, bar none, and we have stayed at some incredible places. A large rain shower head above with plenty of water pressure and a hand held massaging unit which both can be running at the same time! Steam it up baby because the steam clears quickly as soon as you have completed your scrub. Catching a cab ride this weekend was ridiculous as everyone was in town for the tree lighting, but South Florida Carlos was THE MAN, he tried for thirty minutes Friday evening in the rain before finally hailing one! KUDOS. The Tuscany doesn't look like much from the street with its very small footprint, but don't be fooled by the little guy. The Tuscany would best be described as Euro-chic I believe and it was a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank sommelier922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear sommelier922,

Wow, what a fantastic review of your recent experience at The Tuscany! We love it when our associates go the extra mile for our guests, and I will be sharing your review with David, Carlos and their colleagues. We are also delighted to hear that you enjoyed our spacious, modern rooms and amenities. Our beds and showers are getting high marks across the board, and we are so glad that they met—and exceeded—your expectations. Thank you for sharing your experience here, and we hope to welcome you back to The Tuscany on a future visit.

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
@StGilesTuscany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia, pa
Level Contributor
103 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

I had a great deal from Jetsetter for a deluxe room for less than $300 and was impressed by the large room with a king size bed and modern amenities. The bathroom is roomy with one sink with a lot of storage underneath and had a deep tub with shower. The towels are really soft. Internet and gym access were free. There is also a bar on the small, but nice lobby.
The hotel is located in a quieter location, but we could still hear some traffic on the 4th floor. Grand Central Station is only a few blocks away.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank kimjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear kimjim,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Tuscany! We agree, we think that we have some of the largest rooms in New York City, and we are glad you enjoyed your visit, along with our modern amenities. We are also glad that you found us through one of our new partners, Jetsetter. Thank you for selecting us, and we look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit!

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
@StGilesTuscany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We stayed at the Tuscany four nights while in NY for a couple of shows, sightseeing and dining out. We were pleased to be upgraded to a corner room. The room size was larger than we would have had a most other hotels in the city. They've done a nice job in updating the building. Our room was clean, and everyone we met on the staff was very courteous and accommodating. It was a great experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank okienohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear okienohio,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Tuscany! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed one of our spacious Corner Studios—these rooms offer a spacious escape in the city. We are also glad to hear that you found our recent renovation to be beautiful and modern and that our great staff provided such great service during your visit—we love it when our associates leave a great impression. We hope to have the opportunity to make your second visit to The Tuscany event better than the first!

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
@StGilesTuscany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton
The Renwick Hotel New York City,...
#77 of 468 in New York City
983 reviews
Midtown
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
#308 of 468 in New York City
2,039 reviews
Midtown
Kitano New York
Kitano New York
#117 of 468 in New York City
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#53 of 468 in New York City
2,160 reviews
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#126 of 468 in New York City
4,748 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#62 of 468 in New York City
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel

Property: The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Address: 120 East 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016-0906
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in New York City
#64 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#73 Family Hotel in New York City
#75 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel- emerged from a multi-million dollar renovation in 2013 as New York's latest luxury destination. The Tuscany's 124 rooms are amongst the most spacious accommodations you will find in Manhattan. Fabulous features include: hardwood entryways in all rooms, corner studios with an abundance of natural light and multiple suites with signature views of the Chrysler and Empire State Buildings. The plush decor creates warmth and invokes classic New York paired with modern amenities, including Molton Brown bath products, complimentary WiFi and rainforest showerheads in glass-enclosed showers. The Tuscany also boasts an in-house fitness center that features state-of-the-art exercise equipment. Open 24 hours a day for your convenience. Reserve today and rediscover New York City luxury at The Tuscany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, TravelUp, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Giles - The Tuscany New York Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotels The Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing