We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not sweep you off your feet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Ranked #99 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The Tuscany has a lot going for it. The size of the room is certainly the best thing about the hotel, and location is very convenient for Grant Central, Bryant Park, etc. Views are also pretty great from the higher floors. I had the Empire State Bldg and rooves.

I stayed four nights in January 2014. New York was cold (-12 during the day) and snowy during this time. The reception at the hotel was also rather cool, as in not all that welcoming – this goes for the men in particular. I did not detect a customer focus in the staff behind the counter: an air of vain detachment instead. No doormen were to be seen as I struggled to enter from the blizzard with two big suitcases. Again the doormen were nowhere near the door when I came in and out of the hotel throughout my stay.

The Tuscany is a hotel but feels more like a service apartment place. No breakfast is included and the lobby is small and an odd shape that leaves no cozy spaces. One must take a few steps down to reach the elevator which is not convenient with luggage. The specially designed furniture also has a cold feel, all the spaces are sort of on permanent display. There is no restaurant, only a bar.

The room was nice, with extra seating space. There was no tea/coffee facilities. Water was $6 a bottle. Wifi was free and worked well. I would prefer not to have to log in every time I wanted to use it. I only received one bathrobe and one set of toileteries. Housekeeping wanted to come in before 9am and minibar check man in the middle of the day.

I would consider the hotel for a business stay only. There are much nicer places to spend time with a loved one in New York. I am surprised it ranks so high as it’s a very impersonal place to stay.

Room Tip: Higher floors and away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Discovering_the_new
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Discovering_the_new,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at The Tuscany. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your spacious, modern rooms, your view of the Empire State Building, and our great Murray Hill location. We regret to learn, however, that your experience of our staff and service did not live up to your expectations. Warm, personal service is our standard for every guest of The Tuscany, and we are disappointed that we did not live up to those standards during your visit. I would like to speak with you personally regarding your experience so we can take the proper steps to improve. Should you feel so inclined, please reach out to me at chriss@stgilesnewyork.com or by calling 212.592.8877. We hope to have another opportunity to show you a true St Giles Experience.

Sincerely,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
@StGilesTuscany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,963)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,209 - 1,215 of 1,963 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Tuscany from 1/20-1/23/14. We found the hotel to be just great. The location was a block from Grand Central Station and very central. Our room was clean and comfortable. Most importantly. every one we had contact with was warm, friendly and accommodating. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Upper floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

When I arrived at the hotel I was in much need of relaxation. I asked Dennis for an upgrade & he hooked me up which was really nice & my room was absolutely awesome compared to where I had been staying previously. The place was an excellent treat; Stunning views, most comfortable bedding I think I've ever experienced, nice amenities in the room & perfectly clean. I have pretty high expectations and have stayed some really nice resorts and I would vote the Master Suite as one of the top 3 best rooms I have ever stayed in. My only recommendation is that the bar area on the lobby floor could offer a more inviting atmosphere it seemed very cold & there was nobody drinking or spending time there during my visit which made it unappealing. Also the elevator was making a weird noise but they assured me that their on site engineer had it checked and that it was safe. They were nice enough to hold my bags pretty late & I stayed in the lobby with the nicest lady who was working that night & she let me relax there until I had to catch an early flight which was a relief. Thank you for everything!!! gratitude from Canada

Room Tip: Choose the Master Suite, there is no pool and I did not make it to their gym.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kristi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We.have been visiting NYC for some time and this hotel was one of the nicest combinations of value, great rooms and staff we have encountered. We booked due to a Travelzoo special. The room was very spacious (and not just by NYC standards) , bed was incredibly comfortable king, nice modern bathroom, and staff were great. We had problem with safe and some one came up within a few minutes. Free continental breakfast had good coffee, great pastries, and decent fruit salad and yogurt. Didn't check out gym facilities. Free Internet service was reliable. The only limitation is that the location is on the East Side so it is about a mile from Times Square and about same to Central Park but it is close to Lexington Ave subway and walk is pleasant in good weather.

Room Tip: Ask for corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

My husband, teenage daughter and I spent a three day weekend in New York for our daughter's 15th birthday. My husband and I had stayed at the St. Giles before in a room with one king bed, so we knew it was a nice hotel. Our two-bed room was so spacious. The beds were the most comfortable I had ever had in a hotel (or home). The bathroom was so beautiful I wanted to take it home with me! The price was reasonable - I had made the reservations a couple of months before, so don't know how much it would have been last-minute. Good location - quiet but not far from Penn Station and Broadway. We loved it!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Adawehis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

First visit to New York and I think I picked the best Hotel around. Nice location, nice room, nice everything. And value for money, just like we Dutch like it. Don;t hesitate to book this hotel, you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hansos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I stayed at the Tuscany for 2 nights over New Years and had a wonderful time! It was the perfect location; close to trains, restaurants, and bars yet tucked away from the hustle and bustle. The room was fairly large for NYC standards, so there was plenty of space to get ready for New Years Eve fun with my friends. When it came time to check out I was sad to leave the comfy bed and rainfall style shower. Also LOVED that they provide Molton Brown bath amenities.

Room Tip: Higher floors have views of the Empire State Building and the Chrysler Building. Rooms near the elev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGirlTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bernic Hotel
The Bernic Hotel
#42 of 473 in New York City
314 reviews
Midtown
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
#334 of 473 in New York City
2,144 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#33 of 473 in New York City
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton
The Renwick Hotel New York City,...
#127 of 473 in New York City
1,273 reviews
Midtown
Kitano New York
Kitano New York
#94 of 473 in New York City
1,214 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central
Fitzpatrick Grand Central
#46 of 473 in New York City
2,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel

Address: 120 East 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016-0906
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in New York City
#50 Family Hotel in New York City
#64 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#83 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £100 - £693 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel- emerged from a multi-million dollar renovation in 2013 as New York's latest luxury destination. The Tuscany's 124 rooms are amongst the most spacious accommodations you will find in Manhattan. Fabulous features include: hardwood entryways in all rooms, corner studios with an abundance of natural light and multiple suites with signature views of the Chrysler and Empire State Buildings. The plush decor creates warmth and invokes classic New York paired with modern amenities, including Molton Brown bath products, complimentary WiFi and rainforest showerheads in glass-enclosed showers. The Tuscany also boasts an in-house fitness center that features state-of-the-art exercise equipment. Open 24 hours a day for your convenience. Reserve today and rediscover New York City luxury at The Tuscany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Giles - The Tuscany New York Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotels The Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing