We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refurbished and OK hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Ranked #93 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The hotel is centrally located close to the Grand Central. I stayed there just before Christmas and the area was very well decorated. Snow outside gave me the New York Christmas feeling! The staff is friendly and the rooms are nice. The elevator is very old and so are the windows. A typical boutique hotel and OK for a night or so. Breakfast is better on the next corner.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 190479Okr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,860)
There are newer reviews for The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,018 - 1,024 of 1,860 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

Excellent hotel - great location (close to Grand Central Station), clean room, easy check in and check out. Very helpful staff.

The work out room on the second floor has a wide variety of equipment and all in good shape.

Will stay again at The Tuscany for next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 44Marcos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The hotel is just as shown on the pictures. Excellent location, friendly staff.
Big rooms, kind of luxury / modern style.
Room 1103 close to the elevator, the room is a little bit smaller because of that but big anyway.
The price is extremely high, but it is a problem of the city, not of the hotel.
The internet connection did not work at the room.

Room Tip: the higher the less noise from the street. if sensitive to noise, try to avoid rooms close to the e...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Pablo_02014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I was very happy with our one night stay at the The Tuscany (St Giles) in Manhattan. The location is excellent. It's near Park Ave and Grand Central Station, but 39th street is a quiet tree lined street that feels like a little oasis in the city. There are plenty of good restaurants near the hotel.
The staff was excellent. They are welcoming and helpful and give each guest the feel of personal, one on one service. This is not a factory - get them in, get them out kind of hotel.
I loved our room. It was modern, comfortable and successfully combined the old with the new. The bed and linens were a little slice of heaven.
We just bought a condo in Florida and are redoing the bathroom. The minute I walked into the room and saw the bathroom I knew I wanted to do this exact bathroom in our condo. I was snapping pictures to give to our contractor to say - "see this is what we want"! I think that is a good recommendation for the bathroom, I loved it so much I want to copy it in my home!
It was my first time here, but not my last!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I spent 4 nights @ Tuscany in May 2014.

I suggest this hotel mainly for two reasons:
1) room's dimesions > I have been in several hotel in NY but this room is for sure the bigger
2) position > perfect compromise between lower and higher part of Manhattan

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank ViaggiatoreVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We had made a request weeks in advance with our reservation for a very quiet room. When we got there, it was late and we were exhausted.... so did not think much of it when we had a room on the 4th floor.... OMG... I had to take a sleeping pill at 2 am... even with ear plugs, I could not sleep through the sound of ambulances and police car etc, people on the street etc (windows are not sound proof at all)... second day we asked to change rooms and were told the only other option was the second floor... so no... so two more night of noise but not as bad from outside, just woken up in middle of the night by people coming in around 2-3 am from night out partying (yes, we can hear very clearly everything from the hallway it seems, even with earplugs). Wifi is disastrous... worked on and off the first night but not at all the other two nights... we had to go to Starbucks to check our emails... I would have preferred to be in hotel where I had to pay for it and actually had signal.
On the positive side... yes there is one... Hotel looks nice. Rooms are huge, which is amazing if you need to spend time there working (as long as you do not need wifi!)...love the décor. Only 3 blocks from Grand Central Station which is amazing to get you anywhere across the city by subway. Great comfortable beds. Clean.

Room Tip: high floor, but you may not get what you request anyways...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Genevieve61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

It was around dusk on April 6, 2014 when I was spending time with a new business partner of mine, when things took a surprising turn for the worst. This gentleman made the dumb and unprofessional mistake of using the room to fornicate with his "boyfriend," while leaving our lunch for an "errand." When I arrived, I caught them in the act, and decided to leave. He got in my face, things almost got physical & he rushed out, even changing the safe's passcode. When I go to leave, I can't for the fact I could not take my card information off the room for incidentals. He would not put his card down either. After about 2 hours of figuring out what to do, my attorney, and the amazing front desk team that night saved me, and treated me. They were so patient, caring and just beautiful people. The lady even got me something from Starbucks. They as well escorted the gentleman, and his guest out of the hotel, and pretended I left too. Finally what does the staff do? Book me into one of their gorgeous, spacious and delightful suites. I forgot the girls name :( & I believe the guy's name was Jonathan. They both were working that evening on April 6th. Thank you for saving me, and showing me what true hospitality is, especially here in New York. See you soon Tuscany! Best Always, Tommy Hawk.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton
The Renwick Hotel New York City,...
#107 of 468 in New York City
1,101 reviews
Midtown
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
#322 of 468 in New York City
2,091 reviews
Midtown
Kitano New York
Kitano New York
#104 of 468 in New York City
1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bernic Hotel
The Bernic Hotel
#39 of 468 in New York City
194 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#26 of 468 in New York City
334 reviews
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#131 of 468 in New York City
4,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel

Address: 120 East 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016-0906
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in New York City
#64 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#72 Family Hotel in New York City
#77 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £178 - £501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel- emerged from a multi-million dollar renovation in 2013 as New York's latest luxury destination. The Tuscany's 124 rooms are amongst the most spacious accommodations you will find in Manhattan. Fabulous features include: hardwood entryways in all rooms, corner studios with an abundance of natural light and multiple suites with signature views of the Chrysler and Empire State Buildings. The plush decor creates warmth and invokes classic New York paired with modern amenities, including Molton Brown bath products, complimentary WiFi and rainforest showerheads in glass-enclosed showers. The Tuscany also boasts an in-house fitness center that features state-of-the-art exercise equipment. Open 24 hours a day for your convenience. Reserve today and rediscover New York City luxury at The Tuscany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Giles - The Tuscany New York Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotels The Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing