We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Boutique Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Ranked #94 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Israel
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very Good Boutique Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Tuscany for two nights.
the room was very spacious, well decorated, and well equipped.
Shower was nice and large.
The location at 39 between Lexington and Park is central and convenient.
The one downside we found was the noise from the outside. Soundproof windows would a recommended change.
I would return to this hotel and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eyal70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,672 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    973
    543
    97
    39
    20
See reviews for
213
798
97
285
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed 4 nights in room 507 in May 2014, as our first visit to NYC. As long as the bed is large and firm and you have a good shower, i am happy at that. I got both of those things here no problem. Room itself was a good size, as was the area for changing and hanging clothes, but the actual bathroom size did not seem quite in proporation to the large size of the rest of the room and was one at a time only. No problem with street noise, but the proximity of the lift and the noise of the AC might bother some.
Reception were freindly and we did not use the breakfast service, so cannot comment there. Handy for the Empire State, Macys, Times Square etc, all maybe 10 mins walk and Grand Central Station maybe 5 mins walk away, so decent mid town location. Considering theres so many bad choices you could make in NYC hotels, i am happy with this one.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colinmc400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed here via the app Hotel Tonight for a very reasonable price. Room was huge, well furnished and comfortable. Check-in staff friendly and overall feel of hotel was very impressive. Thoroughly recommended, especially for the price we got.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaurav V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

This hotel exceeded my expectations. I was so surprised of the size of the room. I stayed in the deluxe studio room with a king size bed. The space in the actual room is huge! And i've stayed in very nice hotels in NYC which had muuuuuch smaller rooms (example: jumeira essex and mandarin oriental). The house keeping was great at keeping the room clean everyday.
The only advantage of staying in that area is that it is 5 min walking distance from grand centeal station, but other than that its hard to find very nice restaurants and shops that are walking distance from the hotel. The conceirge at the hotel was suuuuuper sweet and helpful, she helped us plan a day in brooklyn which we had never been to.
Although i enjoyed my stay at this hotel so much and would definately recommend it to others, i do have one small negative comment about the hotel, THE DOOR MEN. I hope the hotel manager is reading this. The doormen are rarely found outside the hotel entrance. And a couple of times i would come in with my hands full of shopping bags and would find them hanging out at the reception. The guys are sweet and polite but they are rarely there to open the door for you when you need them. First day i arrived at the hotel from the airport with 4 huge bags there was no one at the door.



  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ssag13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
77 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

A good hotel with large, comfortable rooms by NYC standard. Beds are very comfortable, and the bathrooms are nice and appear recently refurbished. Rooms have large windows and a lot of light - particularly the corner rooms and the high-floor rooms.

The small lobby is a bit spartan and can feel crowded. There is a small cafe in the lobby. Service is fine.

What this hotel lacks is attention to detail. Rooms show some signs of wear and tear, with chipping paint and stained carpets. Nothing major, but could be better. AC and elevator are rather loud.

Nonetheless the hotel is good value for money.

Room Tip: High floor corner rooms for much light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elber2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Felt welcome from the minute the front door was opened for us!
Super friendly and helpful staff with an immediate upgrade to a corner suite room 901.
room was huge and spotless with a view of the Chrysler building from one window and a view of the Empire State from the others!
Everything felt fresh, clean and new with a lovely walk in rain shower in the bathroom. My wife is gluten free so to have Pips GF bakery across the street and Bloom's dinner just around the corner was heaven! Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Pick a room away from the lifts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JasperDog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

There is very little to complain about. We arrived quite early since our plane arrived in NY at 9 am, and we were not only given a room right away, but Dennis at the check in desk upgraded us to a corner king from a deluxe booking without our even asking. The room was clean and updated with great modern furnishings, and big enough that it would be a nice size anywhere in the country, let alone in a city famous for small hotel rooms. We only went to the bar one evening, but it was closed for a private event. The fitness room was small, but well equipped, and we were able to print out our boarding passes home for free at the business center. The hotel is located in Murray Hill and was in a great place for getting to the places in NY that we were going to during our trip, which included upper east side shopping and chelsea and soho gallery hopping. The reason I rated the amenities low was because one of the draws of the hotel was free wifi in the rooms, and we could only get a signal from the hall leading to the door. The signal did not reach the main room itself, and it was quite uncomfortable sitting on a wooden floor in a hallway to work on my computer. We asked the desk to look into it while we were out, but came back to find nothing had been done. We then called the tech support person that night, and he tried to reboot the modem and had me try various things on my computer, to no avail, so he said he would put in a work order for the next day, and somebody would come to boost the signal at the access point. Unfortunately, we came back to the room the next evening to the same poor signal, and when I told the tech support person that the previous person had filled out a work order, he had me hold on and then said "oh yeah, here is the work order". Needless to say, we didn't get the issue resolved during our stay. It was a corner room, so as far away from the signal as possible, but we felt that the desk clerk at the time and the tech staff dropped the ball, and that is why the staff lost a bar for service in the rating. Overall, though, we would stay here again, as I assume that the problem will be fixed as the kinks in this recently renovated property are ironed out. As far as value... is there really any nice hotel in NY that you could truly call a bargain??? We got our money's worth overall, considering the cost of similar properties in the city.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SNJatlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton
The Renwick Hotel New York City,...
#72 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Midtown
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
#299 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#57 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Kitano New York
Kitano New York
#110 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#126 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,599 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#80 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel

Property: The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Address: 120 East 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016-0906
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in New York City
#65 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#74 Family Hotel in New York City
#75 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel- emerged from a multi-million dollar renovation in 2013 as New York's latest luxury destination. The Tuscany's 124 rooms are amongst the most spacious accommodations you will find in Manhattan. Fabulous features include: hardwood entryways in all rooms, corner studios with an abundance of natural light and multiple suites with signature views of the Chrysler and Empire State Buildings. The plush decor creates warmth and invokes classic New York paired with modern amenities, including Molton Brown bath products, complimentary WiFi and rainforest showerheads in glass-enclosed showers. The Tuscany also boasts an in-house fitness center that features state-of-the-art exercise equipment. Open 24 hours a day for your convenience. Reserve today and rediscover New York City luxury at The Tuscany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Giles - The Tuscany New York Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotels The Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing