We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious rooms and great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Ranked #94 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
88 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Spacious rooms and great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Although the decor of the lobby was a little overdone for my taste, I was very impressed with the very spacious and elegant room I had. The location is absolutely one of the best and the staff is always ready to help (although they are not all over you like in other deluxe hotels). I adopted this hotel as my home away from home.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PatySalto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    976
    543
    98
    39
    20
See reviews for
213
799
98
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne,England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed here from June 9-14 on vacation from UK.
We were originally allocated room 1406.This room was very small with very little storage place for a 5 night stay. However,after speaking to Nakia (hope that is correct spelling) we got allocated Room 1002. This had much more space and was a lovely room.
The hotel was in a great location. It was on a relatively quiet street,but only 5 minutes from subway at Grand Central.
We found Scottys and Blooms good for breakfast. We had a lovely Indian meal at Nirvanas and a drink at Park avenue Tavern. All these places were within 5 minutes of the hotel.
The Reception,Bar and Door staff were all friendly. We had a breakfast at the hotel and it was fine.We also had a couple of "happy hour" drinks at the bar.
We really liked this hotel. Also great location and a good price.
All in all we couldn't fault it and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We thought rooms on 14th floor may be quite small. It may be worth checking if you are allocated one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BCATAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I was a little hesitant and not crazy about the location but i gave the Tuscany a try. The rooms are really nice. Especially compared to its neighbor/partner hotel The Court(which i would not recommend to anyone). The Tuscany is a good value. Really nice sized rooms for NYC and the price. Nice bathrooms, good showers. I like the decor and the red furniture. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights: The room was very spacious, the room design was simple, elegant and comfortably furnished. The bathroom was not well thought out though.

The location was great, near Grand Central station, great shopping just a short walk around.

The staff here was excellent, very attentive and accommodating.

Value for money was great: $1100 for 4 nights, will definitely consider staying here again next visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowe, Vermont
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had such a good experience on our first visit that we chose this hotel again, even though our planned activities were located on the Upper West Side and NJ. This time we spent three nights in a suite on the 16th floor with a view of the Empire State Building.

I had requested a room with a walk-in shower and was told that was only available in a regular suite (not the deluxe suite we had previously). I would be even more specific next time and chose a room with a more spacious bathroom and more counter space, even if I had to climb into the very high spa tub! In every other respect, the hotel exceeds all expectations!

We found our room quiet and comfortable on both visits. Other reviewers remarked that proximity to the lift and the front or back of the hotel were noise issues. We faced north (Chrysler Building view) last time and south this time and I can say that the south side is quieter (no street noise), especially on the high floors. Being next to the lift posed no issue for us, perhaps because of the extremely comfy beds and the "white noise" of the air conditioner.

The spacious rooms, decor and cleanliness of the suites are very impressive. Having a safe in the room is important to us as we do not wish to drag our computer all over town. We asked for a coffee maker and extra towels. The staff is cheerfully responsive to every request!

We brought our car into the city this time. On our last trip we parked in Connecticut and took the train into Grand Central Station. Either plan works. We were extremely pleased with the valet parking service which was so prompt and gracious.

All staff members were terrific and I want to give special mention to Shane and Dennis at the front desk, David who took our bags, Sharif who helped us with our air conditioner, and Orlando who helped us to the car as we left. The bar staff was equally wonderful, even when there was a very large crowd.

We will definitely stay here again in this welcoming and extremely comfortable hotel.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to noise, request a south facing room on a high floor, away from the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VermontTravelMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

The location was great, with restaurants galore within close proximity. Many of the tourist sites are within easy walking distance (Empire State bldg., Grand Central Station, Rockerfeller Plaza, etc). The rooms are big and the bed was super comfy with a crisp white duvet cover on the comforter. The bathroom however was rather small but the shower was a nice good-sized walk-in shower with slate tile so was not slippery like some showers are. The staff was accommodating especially when we checked in and noted that my husband needed a shower with no tub.
A couple drawbacks were a lack of a in-room coffee maker. While they had coffee you could buy downstairs at Audrey's it was inconvenient to have get dressed to go down and carry up two coffees. Another problem was with the internet and I suspect that it was because of the way our room was situated on a corner.
We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to our family & friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marna505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed 3 night in a loft suite (room 1604). I booked through the hotel and got 50% off the 3rd night. Total cost=$1,250 approximately. Worth every hard earned penny. The suite was quiet and huge. These are two words seldom used as NY hotel room descriptors. There was a living room with microwave and fridge + huge flat screen TV. Little dining table for two in a corner. A very comfy L shaped couch about as wide as a twin bed but it's not a fold away. The bathroom is modern and clean. There isn't a tub but the shower stall is big with a glass door and tiled beautifully. The bedroom also has a flat screen TV and a super-comfy bed. The floors were a lovely hardwood covered with area rugs. There's a Keurig in the room, but the maids never refilled the coffee supplies with creamer. (Minor problem and I could have asked for more.)

The pics in hotel's website exaggerate the size if the lobby, it's s few chairs (nice chairs) but that's it. There's a tiny lobby bar-restaurant. But who cares: it's quiet and the staff is pleasant. If you get the loft suite, you'll have a sitting room to hang out with friends. Plus, there are 2 walk in closets and a safe. The closets were bigger than some bedrooms I've seen in NY.

The hotel is two blocks from Grand Central in Murray Hill. Not hipster-ville, for sure. Perfect for me since I wanted convenient sans crowds. Theater district is walkable and when you get to Times Square, you'll be very glad you're not staying in that area. The village is a walk and train away.

The cost is high (for me) but I didn't want my hotel choice to negatively impact my weekend in NY. I was meeting friends and the sitting room provided us a place to hang out, talk, have a beer etc. without dealing with World Cup craziness. I was worried the room would be horrible and I'd be out a tidy sum. It was perfect. Just perfect. No regrets.

I can't speak to the standard rooms, but check deals on the loft suite if you want a lovely two-room hotel.

Thank you, Tuscany.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vida1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton
The Renwick Hotel New York City,...
#73 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Midtown
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
#300 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#57 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Kitano New York
Kitano New York
#111 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#126 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,604 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#76 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel

Property: The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Address: 120 East 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016-0906
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in New York City
#65 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#74 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#74 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel- emerged from a multi-million dollar renovation in 2013 as New York's latest luxury destination. The Tuscany's 124 rooms are amongst the most spacious accommodations you will find in Manhattan. Fabulous features include: hardwood entryways in all rooms, corner studios with an abundance of natural light and multiple suites with signature views of the Chrysler and Empire State Buildings. The plush decor creates warmth and invokes classic New York paired with modern amenities, including Molton Brown bath products, complimentary WiFi and rainforest showerheads in glass-enclosed showers. The Tuscany also boasts an in-house fitness center that features state-of-the-art exercise equipment. Open 24 hours a day for your convenience. Reserve today and rediscover New York City luxury at The Tuscany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Superbreak UK and TravelUp so you can book your The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Giles - The Tuscany New York Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotels The Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing