We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the luxury experience we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Ranked #91 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not the luxury experience we expected”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We booked this hotel because there were so many positive reviews and good promotions. There was nothing wrong with the rooms, and it wasn't a disaster, but there were some simple luxuries that were missing.
For example, unlike other "luxury" hotels in the area, there was no dedicated concierge to help with suggestions or reservations. A second problem is that they were understaffed while i was there. At any given moment, there was 1 person at the front desk and only one doorman, whom frequently abandoned his post to help at the front desk. While i don"t expect doors opened for me, this was disconcerting because it really is a safety concern to have nobody at the doors at 11pm.
I always tip the doorman because in my experience it simply helps you get better cabs and they always handle your bags with so much more care. My stuff was treated well but there is a chronic cab problem in this area. The single doorman was unable to hail cabs. Unlike other hotels nearby, we had no cabs lined up in front of hotel, despite having two parking lanes. Also, any cab that turned down E39th was picked up earlier on the road by people staying at the cheaper sister hotel. I found it really troubling when one of the doormen told me to just use Uber. This being said, one of the couple of doormen, Orlando made up for part of this issue by arranging a car service to take us back to La Guardia.
Another small but relevant details included scuffed, dirty elevators (looked like service elevators).

As for the rooms, they are clean and nice, but not perfect. Small errors are everywhere (things like small paint stains on the hardwood, a lip between the hardwood and carpeting, sloppy carpet install near the air conditioner and a bathroom that had very poor layout). My room was very nicely sized and did have a good view. Sheets and bath amenities (Molton Brown) were top notch and very impressive.

In conclusion, the rooms are nice (albeit overpriced for the services you receive) but the service lacks the professionalism that other hotels for similar prices exhibit. Make sure you have Uber loaded and ready on your phone (i got an uber car in 2 mins and the hotel took almost 12 to try and get me a cab before i finally got fed up and used Uber). As for food, come prepared knowing where u want to eat, because there isn't a concierge. I would recommend: Babbo, Lupa, Otto and Nobu for sure.

Room Tip: Get higher up
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,054
    577
    108
    40
    23
See reviews for
232
851
104
315
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
new haven
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

this hotel is an oasis in NYC. I could not believe the silence. I am sensitive to noise and this is the only hotel in NYC where I have slept well. The rooms are wonderful and big for new york size. The staff is great. truly a gem, the only missing thing is a good lobby where to do some work. the location is great and the service too.

Room Tip: una habitacion que no de a la calle
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buenosaires4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Hotel was walking distance to grand central and time square, nice boutique hotel with spacious rooms. Hotel was reasonably priced and had a small town atmosphere, only negative thing I had to say was the free wifi was incredibly slow.

Room Tip: Elevators are a little noisy so try to stay away from elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg0410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuernavaca, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The hotel is very good in general, the deco is original and with certain taste that it is not what I thought like, but it was not the the. The rooms are very comfortable, clean (the carpet was pleasant to walk barefoot because the thickness and the cleanliness). The location is very good for Grand Central and in general to visit Times Square area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GourmetMX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I stayed for one night and was very pleased with my experience. The room was large and clean, and the staff was nice. I needed ice and they sent up a huge bucket within minutes. Check out was fast and easy. It was easy to catch cabs and it's convenient to the midtown tunnel for easy transport to and from the airport (LGA). My only complaint is that the bed was a little soft for my taste.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lansing526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I've seen star ratings that didn't match the property, but this one was way off! Four-star should mean an upscale property with quality and amenities above a 3-star. This hotel fails its 4-star rating on many levels. Read the Average rating reviews to get a better feel for this hotel.

Cons:
• Cheap desks and dressers in the room
• Filthy windows
• Basic lobby
• No coffee maker or DVD player in room
• Slow Wi-Fi

Pros:
• Nice bedding, firm mattress, nice chairs
• Modern shower
• Good, central location
• Free Wi-Fi

New York has plenty of scams, and this feels like one of them. Having "Luxury" in the name just doesn't fit. It's fine for 3-stars, but not 4 if the furniture is plywood and the lobby is basic. The staff was nice but usually just doing their jobs - nothing notable. For a 4-star rating, the bathrooms were the only aspect that qualified. Otherwise it was a complete disappointment. I'm also wary of the front desk. While I appreciate the offer to move to a "grand studio" which was "more spacious". It was actually a smaller room with nearly the same furniture and configuration. When I asked the front desk if the room was away from the "loud dings" from the elevator, as others mentioned, I was told it was. Actually, it was in front of the elevator. And watch out for the charges: $60 for a bottle of wine from the mini-bar, and coffee from the lobby was almost $4 when bagels and muffins are present (I guess it's free when breakfast items are not there…??!) To print a boarding pass, I was told to go to the business center, where the minimum charge is $5.

Change the rating to 3 or 3.5-stars and drop "luxury" from the name and you won't be disappointed. Based on other reviews, it's obvious some people like aspects of the hotel. For me, I would rather be surprised by a star rating then totally let down. Hotwire sold this as a 4.5 star hotel I thought was going to be top of the line. Not even close. There is a sister property - The Court - a few doors down. It has a more active lobby and restaurant, but I was told the Tuscany was recently update but The Court has not been updated. I've asked Hotwire to block these properties from my listings in the future. This was the first time a star rating was so far off!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blaze4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I recently had a two-night stay at Tuscany St.Giles. The location is very convenient, within a couple blocks of Grand Central, yet in the quiet Murray Hill neighborhood...a little bit removed from the hustle and bustle, but still centrally located. Hotel is small, but rooms are quite large and well-appointed. If you request a room facing the courtyard, you'll get peace and quiet, and zero street noise.

All good, but for the life of me I can't understand how this hotel earns 4.5 stars on some travel sites. The restaurant is almost non-existent, amounting to a small breakfast bar in the hotel lobby (not included with the room.) Room service dining comes from the kitchen at the sister hotel down the block. Free wi-fi (yay!) is spotty...and requires a new log-in every time you sign on. Though there is a doorman, nobody offers to help with bags or deliver them to the room. We weren't even able to get the two extra pillows we requested for the bed.

That said, the room was super comfortable and spacious. Dennis at the front desk was particularly accommodating and friendly. I'd recommend the Tuscany St.Giles and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the courtyard to reduce street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank biggly2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Midtown
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
#312 of 467 in New York City
2,050 reviews
Midtown
Kitano New York
Kitano New York
#113 of 467 in New York City
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#52 of 467 in New York City
2,181 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#129 of 467 in New York City
4,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel

Property: The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Address: 120 East 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016-0906
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in New York City
#64 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#73 Family Hotel in New York City
#74 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel- emerged from a multi-million dollar renovation in 2013 as New York's latest luxury destination. The Tuscany's 124 rooms are amongst the most spacious accommodations you will find in Manhattan. Fabulous features include: hardwood entryways in all rooms, corner studios with an abundance of natural light and multiple suites with signature views of the Chrysler and Empire State Buildings. The plush decor creates warmth and invokes classic New York paired with modern amenities, including Molton Brown bath products, complimentary WiFi and rainforest showerheads in glass-enclosed showers. The Tuscany also boasts an in-house fitness center that features state-of-the-art exercise equipment. Open 24 hours a day for your convenience. Reserve today and rediscover New York City luxury at The Tuscany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Giles - The Tuscany New York Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotels The Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing