We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Newly remodeled. Very large rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Ranked #82 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
685 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Newly remodeled. Very large rooms.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

I was placed in a very large suite at this hotel. The living room was enormous!!! I was also told by some colleagues that the regular rooms here are very large. This is unusual for this convenient midtown location. The decor is clean and contemporary. Wood-esque foors, no carpeting. Large flat screen TVs. Coffee maker and coffee complimentary. Toiletries looked pretty & a status brand but are a tad too scented for my taste. My room had a fridge with plenty of room (it is also stocked with drinks for purchase) and a microwave. There are also a host of snacks in the room for purchase. Good bedding. Terrific pillows. I had a view of the Chrysler Building...which is really cool. The staff is quite nice and friendly. Complimentary newspapers in the lobby. My room had a huge shower (which I prefer), but no tub. There was no full length mirror in my suite. This is something they should add to such a luxurious suite. Double check your phones to make sure the handsets work. They did not in this room...but the phones worked with the speaker box. I was told their phones in this hotel have a complicated system and an engineer has to fix issues like this. (Ie. Not a battery in the handset.) I would stay at this property again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,009
    548
    101
    39
    21
See reviews for
220
818
99
295
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
charlotte, nc
Level Contributor
113 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Big room, especially by NYC standards. Was very clean with new furnishings. Easy walk 2blocks to Grand Central. Staff was fine. No free coffee or breakfast, but good fast free wifi. Stayed here when it was the W, still nice. Recommended. Comforter too heavy for summer. No chain lock, Shower curtain too short- some minor issues but basically a very nice room.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trip atkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paget
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

This was a "oh what the heck! let's fly to New York for the day trip". Everything was last minute, this hotel was found with Hotwire (I love hotwire- it's like a Hotel gift box, you never know what you are going to get and I'm happy 99.9% of the time). This hotel was a delight, easy check in, great location and big rooms especially for New York.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Damama112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Here's the low down:

1. Location perfect as you would have already read
2. Rooms are clean and spacious. We stayed in a double room which has Queen beds, not doubles like most NY City hotels. And beds are very comfortable and clean.
3. We were on the fifth floor and could definitely hear street noise, but once we turned on the fan to the a/c it was enough white noise to drown it out. Note that double rooms go no higher than the tenth floor
4. Wifi - we had no problems with it, and had three of us accessing it at a time
5. Amenities - fridge is tiny and fully stocked. We emptied it to use it but again, very small. You may have seen a picture of a Keurig posted, but note that is for Suites only. You may however request a coffee maker (2 cup) for your room upon arrival.
6. Staff were friendly, not stuck up at all, and helpful.
7. Across the street is a gluten-free bakery (Pips Place) and around the corner is Blooms Deli with a ton of options for all meals.

We got a deal directly through the hotel website, but it still averages out to about $300/night. Parking was $50/night. All in all though that is what you pay to stay in the city and I don't regret my choice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 0416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Nice boutique
Hotel room size was good for NYC, location was ideal, 2 blocks to grand central, very central location
Room bedding needs to be cleaned a bit more often, a bit worn
Also had good gym facility next door

Room Tip: My room was nice sized, had a desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffHToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

I only stayed here one night at the tail end of our honeymoon but the hotel is gorgeous. I didn't know what to expect having not researched very much but was greatly impressed. The staff was extremely helpful, since we were exhausted from travelling and didn't want to venture out, they suggested places that would deliver to the hotel. In the end we simply ordered room service and the food was delicious. A little pricey, but it usually is for room service.
I have to say, the bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in and had a fantastic nights sleep!
The hotel is nesttled in a part of the city that is a little quieter, due to not being on a crazy busy street, but still not too far from Central Park.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isamarie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

lovely hotel. large corner suite. convenient location. nice to be in a small hotel with big room and very good service. nice little bar that turns into a breakfast spot in the morning. great bed and linen.

Room Tip: corner suite is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank terryterry18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton
The Renwick Hotel New York City,...
#75 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Midtown
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
#300 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,005 reviews
Midtown
Kitano New York
Kitano New York
#114 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#55 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,081 reviews
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#125 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,658 reviews
Midtown
Even Hotel New York - Midtown East
Even Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#19 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel

Property: The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Address: 120 East 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016-0906
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in New York City
#64 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#65 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#73 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel- emerged from a multi-million dollar renovation in 2013 as New York's latest luxury destination. The Tuscany's 124 rooms are amongst the most spacious accommodations you will find in Manhattan. Fabulous features include: hardwood entryways in all rooms, corner studios with an abundance of natural light and multiple suites with signature views of the Chrysler and Empire State Buildings. The plush decor creates warmth and invokes classic New York paired with modern amenities, including Molton Brown bath products, complimentary WiFi and rainforest showerheads in glass-enclosed showers. The Tuscany also boasts an in-house fitness center that features state-of-the-art exercise equipment. Open 24 hours a day for your convenience. Reserve today and rediscover New York City luxury at The Tuscany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Giles - The Tuscany New York Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotels The Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing