We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location and absolutely adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Edison Times Square
Ranked #305 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“great location and absolutely adequate”
Reviewed 28 June 2012

one half block from tkts booth on times square, old rooms and hardware but sufficiently sized, everything works, housekeeping and front desk excellent, reasonably priced and good food at cafe on street level, clean and attractive

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank digesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager, Gloria Pierrot at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
We are pleased to know that you had a comfortable stay at the Hotel Edison and found our facilities and location satisfying to your travel needs. We are in the process of renovations to many room types and hope to accommodate you in one of them.
On behalf of the entire staff we want to thank you for your feedback. We will be looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Edison.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,258
    3,717
    2,018
    733
    485
See reviews for
2,617
3,007
393
437
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,697)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Located just off of Times Square. The hotel is clean, the staff friendly and there is a diner and convenience store located next door. Our room was quiet and you couldn't hear the hustle and bustle of Times Square just around the corner. The room and bathroom size were sufficient. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager, Gloria Pierrot at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
We deeply value your relationship with the Edison Hotel and are committed to providing the highest level of service simply because our customers deserve the best. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Creek, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

My family of 4 stayed here for 4 nights in a Deulxe 2 room. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was not the new refurbished type but was spacious, clean and perfectly adequate. 2 queen beds and a sofa sleeper, corner room with 2 windows, unheard of in NYC. The bathroom was small but the shower worked great and the towels were big and fluffy. As for the staff, we were treated extremely well by all. The bell hop was friendly,the door man even got us a nice SUV ride back to the airport. Reservation lady was able to extend our stay by one night in the same room due to airline trouble.The location of the Edison cannot be beat! You literally walk out the door and are in Times Square in seconds. The subway is close on 42nd or up to 50th. The theaters are within walking distance. Cafe Edison was good, reasonably priced. We also tried "Carve" on the corner of 47th and 8th for pizza and breakfast and Dan's(2 doors down from the hotel) both were great and economical. We would reccommend The Edison to anyone traveling to NYC!

Room Tip: Corner rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager, Gloria Pierrot at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review of your recent stay with us. It was our sincere pleasure to have you as our guest and thank you for your very kind words. I know our staff will be delighted to read them. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Just got back from NYC and stayed at the Edison Hotel. Read various reviews and was hoping we would find it "ok." It was more than ok. Room size and bathroom both quite adequate. Was it the Waldorf? NO, but I didn't pay Waldorf prices. The room was great. Probably the cleanest hotel I have stayed in for years, staff quite helpful, and LOCATION!!! I have stayed in many "medium" hotel chains that can't hold a candle to the Edison. Room was quiet, great air conditioning, and every trip to the elevator when we seen a maid, they inquired if our room and everything was ok. Could not have ask for more and the price was "right." Also, don't spend a fortune eating as Dannys next door was great. A real NY breakfast for $ 4, (eggs, bacon, homemade has browns, hot toast w/butter) not to mention all hot foods for lunch and dinner were likewise the best. Try the Edison as you can't go wrong.

Room Tip: We were given a handicap room on the 5th. floor, though was not requested or needed. Was great for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager, Gloria Pierrot at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
What a lovely review! Thank you for taking the time to write it. We are glad that we have lived up to your expectations and that you have had the true Edison experience. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

I stayed there more than 2.5 years ago (Nov 2009), the location is just great only a few meters away from Time Square. As fare as I remember, the rooms are a bit old, but ok for the price.
Special mention: the counter to book theater/musicals tickets. Already then, we got good recommendations and tickets, and I returned there this year again (Jun 2012): the same again. Very friendly and a great time in musical (I even got 10$ discount on each ticket).

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo77zh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager, Gloria Pierrot at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post this wonderful review. We are delighted that you have had a hands down positive experience and look forward to welcoming you back to your New York home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We stayed at the Edison for 5 nights in June, FANTASTIC Location, Hotel was just average, which is what we expected based on the price we paid, we booked it for the location. The staff really need quality training in the customer service industry. Particularly Reception and some of the bell boys, one in particular was so rude and unhelpful. I don't know whether the Reception staff are unhappy with their lives or jobs, but boy are they a miserable bunch. Would be nice if they cracked a smile or at least appeared to be pleasant. We were reluctant to even disturb them as they were just not plesant to approach and ask any questions. FYI to the Edison staff - all it takes is a smile to make your customers stay abit more enjoyable. If you don't like working in the tourism industry - find another job please......

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mg_barker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager, Gloria Pierrot at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
We apologize for the disappointing experience you had in the hotel. It is definitely not acceptable in any way. I would like to assure you that all matters raised are being dealt with to ensure that this kind of service is never repeated. We hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future to gain your trust.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

The hotel is located so close to action but you can rest if you want. Clean, good service price excellent and rooms well maintained, very convinient restaurants good service. Very good experience.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Francardozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager, Gloria Pierrot at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
What a lovely review! Thank you for taking the time to write it. We are glad that we have lived up to your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#341 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16,959 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#290 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,977 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#271 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#149 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,849 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#194 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,284 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#377 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edison Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edison Times Square

Property: Hotel Edison Times Square
Address: 228 West 47th Street, Between Broadway and 8 Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-1401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Green Hotel in New York City
#215 Business Hotel in New York City
#244 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Edison Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 810
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1931, Hotel Edison is an architectural art deco masterpiece with a rich history dating back from the moment famed American inventor, Thomas Edison turned on the light at the grand opening of the hotel to playing host to countless notables, to movie and television appearances. Hotel Edison is conveniently situated in the heart of New York City's iconic Times Square, amidst the energy and excitement of the latest in Broadway Theatres, nightlife, fine dining and shopping. The hotel is within steps of Midtown Manhattan's premier business and leisure destinations - Time Warner Center, Rockefeller Center, MoMA and world renown Fifth Avenue Shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelbag, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Edison Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edison Towers Times Square
Edison Hotel New York City
Edison New York
Edison Towers Time Square
Edison Hotel Nyc
Hotel Edison New York City
Edison Towers New York
Edison Towers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing