We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice in the heart of Times Square!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Edison Times Square
Ranked #311 of 469 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 May 2013 via mobile

I will definitely stay here again. Only downfall was the small (and I mean small) bathroom, but clean clean clean, refurbished rooms. Save your money and DONT stay at the neighboring W or Marriott! The Edison has thick walls and you'd never know if guests were bickering (or worse!) next door. Perfect location to everything.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MARYFPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GloriaPierrot, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Dear MARYFPhoenix,
We are pleased to know that you had a comfortable stay at the Hotel Edison and found our facilities and location satisfying to your travel needs.
On behalf of the entire staff we want to thank you for your feedback. We will be looking forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (9,773)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,205 - 4,211 of 9,773 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

I have seen that some european travellers have left very bad reviews for this Hotel. Let's be fair. I've been to New York 4 times, and at Edison Hotel twice.
If you know New York, you know that most hotel rooms at a reasonable price have almost no space around the bed, and the only view you will have will probably be a brick wall a few feets away from the window. At Edison Hotel, you have a 5 star location for a very reasonable price (for New York).

Yes - You have to expect an hotel that was built around 1920 but that was renovated.
And Yes - you may have some difficulty to find the exact right heat in the shower.
But the hotel is kept very clean and the staff is really helpful. You will have a large room and even a real window with a view!
If you choose this hotel knowing all of the above, you will be more than happy of your choice. But if you are not ready to live with those aspects for a few days - go ahead and pay 2-3x the price of the Edison for the W hotel located right beside.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BM2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GloriaPierrot, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Dear BM2009,
We want to pass along our gratitude to those who contribute and as a result pass on their wisdom, experience and knowledge. Thank you for returning to the Hotel Edison and for taking the time to post your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back. Please keep in touch via social media.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I have given this hotel a "poor" instead of a "terrible" rating because we were able to change rooms.
If you want to be in the midst of Times Square this is a great location and good deal cheaper than the W Hotel which is right next door. That said, the downside of being in the midst of the hustle and bustle is that the hotel's lobby is always overcrowded, it is hard to get assistance and the lobby's public seating area is shabby, noisy and overcrowded. Elevators are packed to the brim and room card keys fail so frequently it worth getting a few extra. Our room faced 47th Street so expect street noise.
We paid $1183 for 4 nights - and the first night was spent in a tiny room, with two lumpy mattresses, dirty bed covers and a thread bear chair. After a long journey to NYC I can't say enough how depressing this room was! When the AC failed during the night we complained and were moved to a room on the 3rd floor.
The new room on the 3rd floor had been renovated, had new mattresses and bedding and working AC but the shower was old and pathetic and it took a while for the water to get warm! The room was still tiny but better than the one on the 12th floor.

My recommendation if you should choose this hotel is to ensure your reservation is fully refundable in case you have a similar experience. We would have left the moment we were shown our room had we been able to get a refund.

The saving grace of this hotel is it's customer service agent Gloria, who was in touch with me via email, George at the front desk who reassigned a room for us and the Starbucks opposite where you can get a decent cup of coffee and free wi-fi. Free wi-fi should be standard as it is in most places outside the US. My assessment is that management is clearly aware of complaints being made and are doing their best to make sure that customers leave happy. There was something to this strategy but we still paid good money for a shoddy experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andbrody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GloriaPierrot, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Dear andbrody,
We apologize for the issues you had at our hotel recently. Let us reassure you that we are constantly updating the facility to provide excellent accommodations and service for our guests. We welcome any suggestions to further improve. Thank you and for recognizing our staff and we hope you give us another opportunity to better serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

On arrival at the hotel all we wanted was a toilet to use and a shower to freshen up. We were disappointed, there was no loo roll, and after getting into the shower found out there was no hot water either. To top it off the phone in our room did not work so i had to get dressed to go to the reception to complain.

To be fair they promptly arrived with loo roll and after we explained we were going out to eat promised the shower would be working ready for our return.

The bed was comfy, the room was clean but the noise outside was horrendous which meant we were lucky to grab a couple of hours sleep each night ( that was between 22.00 - 00.01) from midnight onwards the loading and unloading was constant with major roadworks being carried out digging the road up with kango hammers.

We were on the front elevation on the 5th floor. What this hotel is absolutely crying out for is sound proofing with triple glazing or something like that.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nigeanhayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GloriaPierrot, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Dear nigeanhayley,
We are so sorry you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay. We apologize for the lack of toilet paper in your room and can assure you that this is not the standard we aspire to. Our Management cares greatly and is aware of the noise from outside construction. We have contacted the City of New York to complain on multiple occasions however, we are not able to stop the construction as The City of New York has issued them a permit authorizing them to operate. We hope you will give us a second chance to prove ourselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Yes this hotel is shabby round the edges if you get an older room but the rooms a great sizes, comfy beds and good bathrooms if not a bit small. However I've stayed in many swanky NYC hotels where you pay through the nose for a room the size of a cupboard. The location is great, attached to a cafe that only charges $6 for breakfast and a cool little bar.

Would give it 5 stars if it had;
1. Free wifi - in this day and age shouldn't have to pay
2. A full length mirror in the room
3. A coffee machine in room

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GloriaPierrot, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Dear NorthandWaldo,
Thank you for this positive review and your comments of how we can take The Hotel Edison even higher. We cherish our guests and strive to make them feel like they are at home away from home. Looking forward to welcoming you again and your comments will be taken into consideration and hopefully put into action. Meanwhile all of the items you have mentioned are currently available in our Signature Rooms. Please consider one in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I wanted the Edison to be 100%. It has the best position; the bar, ballroom and, especially, the cafe are all excellent - other people we met would have breakfast at the Edison as its as cheap and filling as you can get anywhere in New York. ALL the staff are very helpful and the interior is visually stunning. But but but - the rooms are not double glazed and their isnt any air con and this spoilt it for me. I didnt sleep properly for the first two nights and this meant i didnt feel 'rested', which is the main point of having a nice hotel room.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fipUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GloriaPierrot, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Dear fipUk,
Thank you for taking the time to post a comment about your recent experience at The Hotel Edison. We are always delighted to see new faces and hear about new experiences. We are delighted that you loved our location, and the cafe. We are sorry about the outside noise, which unfortunately is beyond our control. All of our rooms are air-conditioned. For future stays, please bring it to the Attention of our Front Desk who will gladly have someone take a look, or switch your room based on availability. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

There was no bad at The Edison.

A nice central mid-town location right off of Times Square (turn west at the Coke sign!) just blocks away from most of the theaters.

A helpful concierge.

The rooms are small at are any hotel rooms of that era, but the bathroom was nice, the bed was comfy and plenty of room in the closet to unpack two peoples worth of stuff for a week and there was a safe if you needed it. The outlets had USB charging points, which was a great bonus for today’s traveler.

Bonus points to the great bartenders in The Rum House that were unstumpable when it came to pre prohibition cocktails.

Room Tip: The Edison is currently being renovated from the tops floors down, we stayed on the 20th floor and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GloriaPierrot, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Dear Stan P,
We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Edison. It sounds as though you reserved one of our Signature Rooms. Thank you for the favorable comments regarding the décor, amenities and location. We look forward to you staying with us again. Please keep in touch via social media for upcoming promotions and renovation information.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#396 of 469 in New York City
4,582 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#199 of 469 in New York City
9,757 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#352 of 469 in New York City
19,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#143 of 469 in New York City
7,248 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#185 of 469 in New York City
8,134 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 469 in New York City
11,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edison Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edison Times Square

Address: 228 West 47th Street, Between Broadway and 8 Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-1401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Green Hotel in New York City
#210 Business Hotel in New York City
#239 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £117 - £339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Edison Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 810
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1931, Hotel Edison is an architectural art deco masterpiece with a rich history dating back from the moment famed American inventor, Thomas Edison turned on the light at the grand opening of the hotel to playing host to countless notables, to movie and television appearances. Hotel Edison is conveniently situated in the heart of New York City's iconic Times Square, amidst the energy and excitement of the latest in Broadway Theatres, nightlife, fine dining and shopping. The hotel is within steps of Midtown Manhattan's premier business and leisure destinations - Time Warner Center, Rockefeller Center, MoMA and world renown Fifth Avenue Shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Agoda, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Edison Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edison Towers Times Square
Edison Hotel New York City
Edison New York
Edison Towers Time Square
Edison Hotel Nyc
Hotel Edison New York City
Edison Towers New York
Edison Towers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing