We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Edison Times Square
Ranked #313 of 471 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Our 3 day stay here was okay, but a couple of things would have made it better. First the good: holiday special rate, great location, helpful staff, very clean and neat room, and we were pleasantly surprised by the room size (for NYC). Ours was a standard two queen room.
The not so good: room temperature too warm and could not cool it by turning off unit in the room--had to open window, which soon made it too cold. Fourth floor room facing 47th was not quiet due to outside noise, even in wee hours. A white noise generator which we always bring, masked it pretty well however. The exorbitant charge for wifi and even a charge for using business center computers was also a turnoff. Did not care much for the small cafe off the lobby which would not accept credit cards. Many good and reasonable eateries close by, however, especially south down 8th. I think we might stay again, but will look at other options before doing so, and would not pay the standard higher rate.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Andy1909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear Andy1909,
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and found the room satisfactory. The HVAC system is being worked on by our engineering department. We do offer special packages and deals in the off season as well as during peak times. Please sign up on our website to receive these special offers by email, which will hopefully entice you to return. Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10,094)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,108 - 4,114 of 10,094 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2013

I booked my reservation with the Edison Hotel several months before my planned travel to NYC -- and I am very glad I did -- the hotel was very busy -- many people schedule trips to NYC during the holiday season and the Edison is so close to everything -- walking distance to Broadway theaters, 5th Avenue, the RC, great restaurants, an AMC multi-plex for movies. The hotel staff -- from the people at the front desk, to the concierge staff, to the house keeping staff -- all very friendly, courteous, and helpful. The rooms are very clean and neat and well cared for. The only thing I would be careful about is the type of room one selects -- the hotel is undergoing renovation in stages -- not all rooms have been completely renovated -- and some are very small, containing too large a bed and too much furniture to make movement in them easy or comfortable. The "classic" rooms may not be as good space-wise as the renovated rooms. I selected a "classic" based on cost -- the renovated rooms are a little more expensive. The hotel's rates are good -- and they offer special pricing for veterans. "Sofia's" -- the restaurant -- is no longer open -- but the Cafe Edison is and serves wonderful and relatively inexpensive meals. The Rum House is a nice place to have a cocktail and unwind. My overall experience was outstanding -- and I know that if I have occasion to travel to NYC for a vacation again, the Hotel Edison will be the first place I will check for lodging.

Room Tip: "Classic" rooms are not completely renovated -- furnishings are in very good condition and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clarella2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Clarella2013,
Thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful review. We will ensure to share your review with our team. We are thrilled that the Edison will be your hotel of choice the next time you visit New York. Happy Holidays and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

This hotel is being refurbished. We therefore got a good deal for our 4 night break this December. The location was perfect. So near to Times Square and within walking distance of Central Park. Our room was a little old fashioned and the bath needed to be renewed but we knew that we would not be given a refurbished room given the rate we had paid. The reception areas were welcoming and we enjoyed the welcome drinks party on Friday afternoon. This hotel was good value and we received a warm welcome from staff.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisfromlulworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Chrisfromlulworth,
Thank you for your feedback. We love the Friday afternoon wine hour as well. It is a great opportunity for us to interact with our guests. As far as a renovated room; other than our Signature rooms, rate is not a factor. It has more to do with availability. We are glad that we met your travel needs and look forward to your return. Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

The hotel itself needs a little bit of updating. However, the rooms while not large are clean and quiet. The location was great for our first time in New York. The staff are friendly and were very helpful. The one downside is that wifi is very expensive however there is wifi in Times Square which is only 200 metres away.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Russ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Russ B,
Thank you very much for this positive review. It means so much to have our guests satisfied and content and even take the time to write about it. We wish you a happy holiday and hope that we can welcome you back to the Hotel Edison soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I have no idea why this hotel does not have a 100% recommendation . from the time we walked in the and saw the old style art deco lobby. we loved the hotel everyone that worked there were more than willing to go out of there way to help you and make your stay great. the rooms were very clean and a great value being only steps away from time square. The concierge and even the lobby security have no problems giving you tips on where to eat and what to see and directions on how to get there. the good tip from them is to have the doorman call you a cab because the ones at the other entrance will take you the long way around the city and rip you off , you will not go wrong with this hotel and we plan on returning to New York and the Edison is the only hotel we will be staying at !! Thank you for making our trip a very special one

Room Tip: we stayed on the 12Th floor nice rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mingles1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear mingles1988,
What a lovely review! Thank you for taking the time to write it. We are glad that we have lived up to your expectations. We look forward to the opportunity to show you the same hospitality on your next visit. Happy Holidays!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed at the Eddison a while ago and found it be a very good hotel. With Times Square and Broadway on your doorstep and Central Park, Madison square garden etc within reasonable walking distance the location is brilliant. The rooms are not the biggest but your in New York so your only going to be your room to wash and sleep. In the lobby downstairs there is the Rum House which is a great little bar with live music and a good atmosphere and then not too far to stagger to the lift after a long New York night. The Eddison Hotel is worth a visit on the strength of its location alone in our opinion

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 95Rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear 95Rover,
Thank you for taking the time to post a comment about your experience at The Hotel Edison. We are always delighted to see new faces and hear about new experiences. We would love to see you again, at your New York home. Happy Holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Lovely family holiday stay at The Edison Hotel. Spacious reception, comfortable seating area. Friendly staff and good security. There is a guard on duty beside the lifts and Rum bar at all times. We were not very happy with our room upon arrival, and changed rooms with ease into a much nicer room with no additional costs added. King sized bed very comfortable, and very clean throughout. Excellent location for New York in the heart of Times Square! There are two entrances/exits near the reception, we found the best one to use was the one that takes you straight out to the theatre, with Starbucks just a few shops away for half a decent coffee. The hotel is a little tired in areas, but for the location and overall value it is well worth a stay!!!

Room Tip: We booked a standard double room. My heart sank when we were shown to our room, it was in the corne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dancingflorist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear dancingflorist,
We are pleased to know you had a comfortable stay at the Hotel Edison and found our facilities and location satisfying to your travel needs. Our Front Desk is always available to switch rooms for you based on availability. We are glad that we found a nice room for you.
On behalf of the entire staff we want to thank you for your feedback. We will be looking forward to welcoming you back and wish you a happy holiday season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#400 of 471 in New York City
4,944 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#353 of 471 in New York City
20,239 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#304 of 471 in New York City
5,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#144 of 471 in New York City
7,462 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#201 of 471 in New York City
9,996 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#183 of 471 in New York City
8,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edison Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edison Times Square

Address: 228 West 47th Street, Between Broadway and 8 Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-1401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Green Hotel in New York City
#116 Family Hotel in New York City
#210 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £92 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Edison Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 810
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1931, Hotel Edison is an architectural art deco masterpiece with a rich history dating back from the moment famed American inventor, Thomas Edison turned on the light at the grand opening of the hotel to playing host to countless notables, to movie and television appearances. Hotel Edison is conveniently situated in the heart of New York City's iconic Times Square, amidst the energy and excitement of the latest in Broadway Theatres, nightlife, fine dining and shopping. The hotel is within steps of Midtown Manhattan's premier business and leisure destinations - Time Warner Center, Rockefeller Center, MoMA and world renown Fifth Avenue Shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Edison Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edison Towers Times Square
Edison Hotel New York City
Edison New York
Edison Towers Time Square
Edison Hotel Nyc
Hotel Edison New York City
Edison Towers New York
Edison Towers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing