We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“December 2013 - In the middle of it all!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Edison Times Square
Ranked #305 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“December 2013 - In the middle of it all!”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Recently stayed here in Dec 13 for 5 nights, loved the hotel! The location is perfect, close to all the attractions: Times Square, Top of the Rock, The Empire State and many more.
We had a room with two queen beds, the room was very spacious, housemaids were in every day to change the bedding and towels. The only downside to the room was constantly hearing the bins being emptied out on the street which seemed to be at all hours but other than that perfect room.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially the chap who stands at the front door.
The hotel was nicely decorated for christmas, we certainly felt "Christmassy" staying here.
Will be back to New York and back to this hotel - thanks Edison! x

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dbdeen84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear DebbieBuchan,
Thank you for a lovely review! Sorry about the street noise. Unfortunately the hotel has no control over when the city decides to clean. We are delighted that you enjoyed the Hotel Edison and would love to have you to stay in our home again! Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,258
    3,716
    2,018
    733
    485
See reviews for
2,617
3,006
393
437
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,697)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I got a deal through expedia for a "Classic Suite". The hotel itself is typical old-style NY. Very similar to the New Yorker and other midtown hotels. Rooms are fundamentally very small - room enough for a bed, TV and nothing much else. The suite is really just 2 rooms together with the 2nd room having a couch and TV which makes it a nice space when travelling on my own as I tend to work a lot in my room between meetings. The room is worn but clean. Staff were friendly. Room was available on check-in at 1pm, which when traveling from Europe is a HUGE bonus - an early check in time or making effort to get you an early room is a decider for me. Location is great - off one of the side streets from Times Sq - 2 mins from yellow subway line. For the price paid I'd be happy to do this again, but if suite isn't available at a good rate then the normal rooms are very small and I'd be hesitant unless a very good rate.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaOrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear Daorange,
We are pleased that you found our accommodations adequate for your business needs. Thank you for your review and we hope to offer you the Edison experience again. Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The Edison is an older hotel that has retained much of its original charm. The room we had was not renovated, but decorated very nicely with attractive draperies and a nice wing chair. The wooden furniture showed some age, but was very acceptable. The carpet appeared to be new. The mattress was very firm. The bathroom was small, but quite manageable; not a lot of shelf space. As other reviews indicated, location can't be beat for Times Square, theaters, mid-town attractions. Very close to several subway line entrances. Much variety of restaurants nearby, in both price and style. The Cafe Edison was good for breakfast and reasonably priced. Attractive art deco lobby. Elevators were generally quick, within a minute.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, away from the streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 513555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear 513555,
We thank you for your compliments on the location of the Hotel, the room and our facilities.
We look forward to your next visit and wish you a Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel was great for the price. Right off Broadway, close to Rockefeller Center, and right near everything. Times Square is awesome and the hotel was conveniently located for all our family's pleasures.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Jacob H,
We are fortunate to be in a great location, and are glad that it was satisfactory to your travel needs. Happy New Year and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This hotel is ideally situated about 50 yards from Times Square so you can't get much more central than that! Very nice open check in area with plenty of seats to relax,read a paper or wait for your party. The rooms vary in size but they all are very clean and well appointed and very quiet- which for NY is quite something!!
The Hotel has it's own Coffee Shop serving really good quality food at very reasonable prices all day long and into early evening.
The hotel bar literally jumps at the weekend! Great live music,Ale on tap as well as the usual wines and spirits.
The staff were all very friendly and seemed to go the extra yard to solve any problems.
It would be my pleasure to return!

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JTFomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear JTFomes,
You kind words and high marks means so much to us as we work hard to ensure that your stay is satisfactory. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel Edison. Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hershey pa
Level Contributor
144 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

Clean, updated, and beautiful hotel with hints of days gone by. The location couldn't get any better, was able to drop off shopping bags, run to the restroom etc without any worries while hanging out in NYC
Nice employees and room was cleaned well each day

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kody76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear kody76,
We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Edison. Thank you for the favorable comments regarding the décor, amenities and location. We look forward to you staying with us again. Merry Christmas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucknow, India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

Excellent location right at Times Square. What else can you ask for during christmas.

Rooms are comfortable and clean though a bit dated.

If you are going to go for new york sightseeing their offices are just across from the hotel.

Breakfast is good and so is the small bar.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank vikas24_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear vikas24_10, Thank you for the positive comments regarding the cleanliness, service and location of the hotel. We are glad you chose the Hotel Edison and look forward to seeing you the next time you are in New York. Merry Christmas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#340 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16,955 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#290 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,975 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#150 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,846 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#193 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,281 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#378 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edison Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edison Times Square

Property: Hotel Edison Times Square
Address: 228 West 47th Street, Between Broadway and 8 Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-1401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Green Hotel in New York City
#215 Business Hotel in New York City
#244 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Edison Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 810
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1931, Hotel Edison is an architectural art deco masterpiece with a rich history dating back from the moment famed American inventor, Thomas Edison turned on the light at the grand opening of the hotel to playing host to countless notables, to movie and television appearances. Hotel Edison is conveniently situated in the heart of New York City's iconic Times Square, amidst the energy and excitement of the latest in Broadway Theatres, nightlife, fine dining and shopping. The hotel is within steps of Midtown Manhattan's premier business and leisure destinations - Time Warner Center, Rockefeller Center, MoMA and world renown Fifth Avenue Shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Edison Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edison Towers Times Square
Edison Hotel New York City
Edison New York
Edison Towers Time Square
Edison Hotel Nyc
Hotel Edison New York City
Edison Towers New York
Edison Towers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing