We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine Stay: Great Price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Edison Times Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Edison Times Square
Ranked #310 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fine Stay: Great Price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

I stayed at the Edison in January of 2014. The best thing about it is the location! Location, location, location! You are half a block off of Times Square. It is perfect. The rooms were adequate, and clean (which matters), The hot water worked, which is more than I can say for the neighboring Paramount.

Visit Pergola Des Artistes, right across the street, for a fabulous authentic French meal, great service, and some unique NY flavor.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bridget P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel E, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Bridget P,

We are delighted you were pleased with your stay and that we managed to deliver a great experience for you.
As you noted, we are centrally located and close to everything as well as theatres with easy access to other points of interest, both by taxi and subway, which makes us an ideal location to explore New York. We look forward to providing you with the same positive experience when you visit us again.

Best Regards,

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,167
    3,635
    1,968
    715
    472
See reviews for
2,542
2,925
380
416
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,641)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fairbanks, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

This hotel was excellent for many reasons but the number one is LOCATION. It is right in the middle of the Broadway shows. It is less than a small block from Time Square and all of the excitement. It is walking distance to Macys, Empire State Building, Rockefeller Center, Subway and so much more. We stayed 10 days and plan to go back. When you enter the lobby you sense an air of the glorious 20's with murals on the walls and music of the period. It is fun to sit in the lobby and visit with friends, watch people, or chat on the phone. It felt safe because security checked who entered the facility consistently. The rooms are small but ample. Most importantly everything was as clean as possible. We were surprised by the quickness of the elevators and the quietness of our room. The deli next door and Starbucks across the street made not having a coffee pot in the room doable. My wife is partially blind so clicking away at buttons to get The Price is Right caused us to have a movie costing $21.99 added to our bill. At check out this was brought to our attention. When I explained her visual disability and the fact that she didn't watch any movies the hotel graciously deleted this mistake. We will return and recommend The Hotel Edison to our friends.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaczachaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel E, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear jaczachaddy,

We thank you for staying at the Hotel Edison and are thrilled to know your stay exceeded your expectations! Thank you for the positive comments regarding the staff and the great location of the hotel. Thank you for recognizing our staff as they work hard to make sure every guest has a wonderful stay. I'm very pleased that we able to adjust the movie charge as well. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. Exceeding our guests’ expectations is a goal our hotel staff strives to achieve daily with every guest interaction. We look forward to seeing you during your next stay in New York.

Kindest Regards,

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

You know how there is that one hotel that haunts your dreams because it was that terrible... this is mine. I went for a business trip, arrived late, was told there was no water (anywhere, including the toilet and sink), then placed in a room which I can only assume was the set of a horror movie. Everything was nailed down. No plug for your phone. Had to sleep on top of the covers. Oh and the best part. Its above/near a loud jazz club. To top off the experience, these people have email spammed me for years since I stayed. Even though I've unsubscribed many times. I know reasonably priced choices are rare in NYC but do yourself a favor and avoid this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChiSammi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

It´s a good hotel, best location on Manhatten in my mind. If you expect a five star hotel, then go order one, this ain´t. This one were clean and nice. The staff in the reception were nice and the concierge of great help. The best thing is the location, literally feets from Times Square on the 47th street.

We will come back!

Room Tip: - Ask for one of the renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aleksander J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel E, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Aleksander J,

We thank you for your courteous comment and rating. We indeed do have the advantage of being in a great location, in the heart of almost everything. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you were impressed with our polite and helpful staff. We would love the opportunity to show you the same hospitality on your next trip. We look forward to serving you, on your next visit to New York City.

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

I wrote a review right after I checked in, but didn't get posted for no reason. Have to rewrite it again and I decided to upgrade it to VERY GOOD!

When we first arrived, we call the hotel see if they allow an early check in, and was confirmed. And when we checked in, we asked for a renovated room which was in the 3rd floor. However, the washroom is very tiny and door is opened to inside which very inconvenient. Then we ask for a better room which was on 7th floor. this was the old one without renovation, mattress and duvet are very old and I slipped off from the mattress because the springs were loosed.

the first two days were fine until the third day we woke up by the renovation sound in early 8am!
We called the reception and reported the issue, at first they denied there's a renovation (probably they dont know), but very friendly to offer us a switch.

Surprisingly, they upgraded our room to a deluxe bedroom with one sofa. this is awesome and I highly recommend to get this room if only paying a little extra! we were very happy stayed in this room in the remaining 4 days and had a great trip in NYC.

I definitely will go back and stay in the same hotel next time! their location is unbeatable close to everything. grey line bus, hell's kitchen area (with lots of restaurants!) and shopping!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MonkySpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel E, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Vicky G,

We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your stay with us went. Needless to say all comments are welcome and we take everything constructively.We apologize that you found the washroom to be too small, but we are happy to see you were upgraded to a room better suited to your tastes. We want you to feel comfortable staying with us, and we are glad our Front Desk acted accordingly. On a positive note, we are glad that you found your stay overall satisfactory and we look forward to welcoming you back and exceeding your expectations.

Kindest Regards,

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bedford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

This Hotel was recommended by friends. We stayed on the coldest day in a long time. The room was warm & comfortable. Due to outside temps there was a slight draft under the window heater/AC unit.. a rolled towel in front did the trick. The room was good size (classic king) and clean, the house-keeping staff was great. If you like a return to times past it is fun. It was nice to be reminded of how things used to be such as the old phones in the lobby & on each level. Our shower worked great the water was the right temp & pressure very good and well stocked with towels & other toiletries. You can't beat the location, access to theatre and subway and surrounded by restaurants and everything you would need. I know café Edison is not run by the hotel and was a bit of a disappointment for breakfast. The all inclusive was a bit of a letdown over the a-la carte. Realizing that the gratuity was added to the check it seemed like selling up was the way to go.. I have no problem with tipping and due to the large groups for foreigners it is a good idea to add it in. The service could have been a little better. I travel to NYC often and I will stay at the Edison again, everyone at the hotel from check-in to security were attentive and pleasant. I know all of the airport departures are listed for the various airport were displayed in the lobby & free printing of boarding passes in the business center was available, but info on Amtrak was not an option unless you purchased internet time..

Room Tip: a room off of the main corridor away from the elevators was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel E, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Sheila G,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed and descriptive review of your stay.
Firstly please accept our sincere apologies for the problems you encountered during your breakfast experience in the café / restaurant.

We trust that you will accept that human error happens to the best of us no matter how much we try to avoid it!
We are glad that for the rest of it you enjoyed your visit and our convenient location, where you have everything at your footsteps.

We are glad you chose the Hotel Edison and look forward to seeing you the next time you are in New York.


Best Regards,

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

I stayed at The Edison from Dec 28th until 2nd Jan. Was a bit fearful after reading some of the reviews but I thought it was a great hotel. We had a standard twin room on the 8th floor which was big enough for us, wasn't one of the newly renovated rooms but more than adequate. Maids cleaned room daily and changed towels which was great. Only complaint I would have was that plugs did not have enough power for my own hairdryer and straighteners! Staff were all lovely and helpful.
It was a great base for exploring Manhattan, so close to Times Square and a short walk to bus terminal and most places we wanted to see. Weather held off until our last day when our flight was cancelled but didn't spoil a great holiday.
I would definitely go back and stay at the Edison.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angie1976Durham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel E, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear angie1976Durham,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your stay here. We are very grateful for the chance to get feedback from our guests and even more pleased when they have had a great time. We appreciate your kind words about our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#339 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15,679 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#289 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,632 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#143 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#195 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,019 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#374 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,653 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#271 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edison Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edison Times Square

Property: Hotel Edison Times Square
Address: 228 West 47th Street, Between Broadway and 8 Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-1401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Green Hotel in New York City
#216 Business Hotel in New York City
#245 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Edison Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 810
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1931, Hotel Edison is an architectural art deco masterpiece with a rich history dating back from the moment famed American inventor, Thomas Edison turned on the light at the grand opening of the hotel to playing host to countless notables, to movie and television appearances. Hotel Edison is conveniently situated in the heart of New York City's iconic Times Square, amidst the energy and excitement of the latest in Broadway Theatres, nightlife, fine dining and shopping. The hotel is within steps of Midtown Manhattan's premier business and leisure destinations - Time Warner Center, Rockefeller Center, MoMA and world renown Fifth Avenue Shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Southall Travel, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotelopia, Superbreak UK, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Edison Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edison Towers Times Square
Edison Hotel New York City
Edison New York
Edison Towers Time Square
Edison Hotel Nyc
Hotel Edison New York City
Edison Towers New York
Edison Towers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing