We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience for this Veteran!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Edison Times Square
Ranked #310 of 473 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I stayed at the Edison as a last minute booking because of a snowstorm. I found them through the USO of Greater New York City...not only did they give a super rate, but upon learning I was a Veteran upgraded my room and helped me with Wifi!

The room was clean and modern, the staff pleasant and attentive, and the location can't be beat!

If you like the Art Deco vibe, this place has tons. Great look and feel to this historic hotel, and while I did not partake, has what looked to be a real cool throwback bar in the Rum Room.

Would book here again in a heartbeat. In fact, likely will soon.

Room Tip: The ONLY negative I had was that there was construction happening on times square that ran rate, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nortonlax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel E, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Dear nortonlax,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. Exceeding our guests experience is a goal our hotel staff strives to achieve daily with every guest interaction. We truly appreciate the wonderful comments about the hotel and our staff. We are glad you chose the Hotel Edison and look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Kindest Regards,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10,201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,084 - 4,090 of 10,201 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2014

I booked this hotel for my husband and he says its all about the location. Loved being so close to the action in times square. Easy to get to subway too. Small room but clean and the price was fantastic for what the NYC hotels were going for.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel E, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Dear Laura N,

We thank you for your compliments on the location of the Hotel, and room. We are literally steps from Times Square. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

My daughter and I have just returned from our first ever visit to NYC. We stayed at the Edison for 4 nights and had an amazing stay. Our room was on the 14th floor and whilst we didn't have much of a view , the room was well beyond our expectations. The room was huge with 2 king sized beds, large wall mounted tv , coffee /tea maker , desk and sofa. The bath room was quite small but spotlessly clean with plenty of towels etc. The towels were changed everyday and the room was made up and cleaned to a very high standard. The hotel is located steps away from Times Square and the theatre district, with the TKTS discount booth right at the bottom of the street !! Great show tickets at up to 50% discount !! Security at the hotel is good, guests are always asked to show room key and any visitors are only allowed to come up after a phone call to confirm . I found this reassuring as I was travelling alone with my daughter. We found the hotel staff courteous and helpful. The only problem we had was the room was far too hot ! and there was no thermostat to control the heat.It was sub zero outside but the room temperature was really uncomfortable , we could open the window so this did help somewhat. Apart from that we had a wonderful stay at the Edison and will most definitely return , but hopefully when it's a bit warmer OUTSIDE !!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uzar666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel E, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear uzar666,


What a lovely review! Thank you for taking the time to write it. We are glad that we have lived up to your expectations. As you noted, we are centrally located and close to everything as well as theatres with easy access to other points of interest, both by taxi and subway, which makes us an ideal location to explore New York. We look forward to providing you with the same positive experience when you visit us again.

Kindest Regards,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

Literally off of Times Square! Fab location! Staff nice. We have a normal cheap room which was fine but see why people say it needs a lick of paint. However the first day out radiater leaked all over the floor so we got upgraded to a signature room! Much better but I don't know how much they are! Bigger shower, walk in wardrobe, coffee maker, safe in room, umbrella and robes. However we were lucky. Other room fine if it's just a base. Suprised no wifi even in lobby! But Starbucks on corner had it if u need. Shop in hotel is v cheap for paracetamol and key rings etc. Cafe is like a diner and great. Computers upstairs free for checking in for flight. Security by lifts. I would stay there again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Calliefrankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel E, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear Calliefrankie,

Thank you for your recent review. We appreciate all of your comments, and the opportunity to see things from a guest viewpoint. We apologize for any inconveniences you experienced on your first day with the leaky radiator. Our Maintenance Department has been notified and the issue has been resolved. We are glad that overall our hotel exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed at this hotel over Super Bowl weekend, and was so happy with it! Great location steps from Times Square and the Theater District. Staff was amazing. Be sure to check out the Rum House for some great live music and nice ambiance. Stayed in both the classic and the signature rooms and both were very nice. Mattresses are firm, but I actually slept better because of it. I'd recommend bringing earplugs - street noise can be a bit much. Amazing water pressure in the shower and all in all very comfortable for the price. If you go, you must try Scarlatto for dinner - delicious Italian food with a nice atmosphere - next door to the hotel on W 47th. I'll definitely be back, this was a gem in the heart of the city!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel E, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Dear Andie H,

Thank you for your superb review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit. We were happy to hear that you enjoyed one of our newly renovated signature rooms. Thank you for the restaurant recommendation of Scarlatto's, we love the food there as well. We are delighted that you have had a hands down positive experience and look forward to welcoming you back to your New York home.

Kindest Regards,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Did another return trip here last week, for a "mid-week-getaway-to-see-a-show" trip and it was just as nice as ever. There have been some upgrades since our last visit, first thing I noticed was new carpet on the 7th floor, very attractive, and in keeping with their art deco theme.

The "classic" rooms have had some upgrades recently. Our room (#705) had a Keurig coffee maker, clock radio that you can plug your digital devices into., and new HVAC unit that heated our room RIGHT up, welcome relief on a cold February day. Nice firm mattress for a good night's sleep. There was a small sofa/table to sit on, I like having something other than the bed to sit on. The $149 rate was a bargain too.

The art deco style, location, and charm of the Edison are well known; and don't need further mention here. What keeps me coming back to the Edison time after time is the staff. Friendly in a casual way (none of that rehearsed corporate greeting like at chain hotels!), they make me feel genuinely welcome, almost like family. Front desk folks put you at ease, and the concierge seems quite knowledgeable. I often store luggage after checkout, and I never get an uneasy feeling when turning over my things like at other places. My hard-sided Samsonite always comes back to me un-scratched. The Edison Bellman are the best!

I was a big fan of Sofia's and was a little sad to see it had closed. However, renovations seem to be underway, and I'm hoping for the best in that space. Thankfully, Cafe Edison is still right there with reasonably-priced, quick breakfast.

If you have stayed here more than once, join their Excellence/Loyalty program, it pays off. They're real nice to regulars here. All in all, This Gotham classic is as good as ever, and improving!

Room Tip: The Edison has many different types/sizes of rooms. Suites often cost only a little more, but offer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjeffersondc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel E, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Dear mjeffersondc,

We deeply value your relationship with the Edison Hotel and are committed to providing the highest level of service simply because we believe our guests deserve the best. We are so delighted you took note of our many changes at the Edison and enjoyed them all. We truly appreciate your wonderful comments about our staff. We continually strive to exceed our guests expectations and it is nice to know we have with you. We are working on some new venues for Sophia's, so keep checking back with us. Once again thank you and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Kindest Regards,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

My wife and I booked to Expedia (never again as we feel you get the crappy rooms) for two nights at the Edison. The room gave us a view of nothing but water towers, there was only one chair, the toilet paper was barely reachable from the toilet, from the front of the toilet to the wall there is not even a foot of space. We absolutely would NEVER recommend the hotel unless they guaranteed you one of the rooms that the feature on their site. The location is perfect for broadway.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slimmer72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel E, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Dear Slimmer72,


We appreciate your comments regarding your stay and thank you for your review. We will certainly submit your comments to management. Our goal is to ensure your comfort, and we are sorry this was not the case. We are pleased to share that we have concluded renovations of many of our rooms. The management's endeavor has always been to offer our guests a contemporary product. We are confident that you will notice the difference should you choose to visit us again.

Best Regards,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#404 of 473 in New York City
5,056 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#355 of 473 in New York City
20,505 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#307 of 473 in New York City
5,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#278 of 473 in New York City
12,071 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#255 of 473 in New York City
4,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edison Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edison Times Square

Address: 228 West 47th Street, Between Broadway and 8 Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-1401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Green Hotel in New York City
#115 Family Hotel in New York City
#209 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £90 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Edison Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 810
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1931, Hotel Edison is an architectural art deco masterpiece with a rich history dating back from the moment famed American inventor, Thomas Edison turned on the light at the grand opening of the hotel to playing host to countless notables, to movie and television appearances. Hotel Edison is conveniently situated in the heart of New York City's iconic Times Square, amidst the energy and excitement of the latest in Broadway Theatres, nightlife, fine dining and shopping. The hotel is within steps of Midtown Manhattan's premier business and leisure destinations - Time Warner Center, Rockefeller Center, MoMA and world renown Fifth Avenue Shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Expedia, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Superbreak UK, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Edison Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edison Towers Times Square
Edison Hotel New York City
Edison New York
Edison Towers Time Square
Edison Hotel Nyc
Hotel Edison New York City
Edison Towers New York
Edison Towers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing