We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenience and comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Edison Times Square
Ranked #307 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
College Station, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Convenience and comfort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

The Edison Hotel near Times Square in New York is an Art Deco gem that has been maintained and upgraded. It is very close to many, many Broadway theatres so that you don't need cab fare very often. The hotel is in the process of being upgraded, and the newer rooms are very modern, roomy, and comfortable. We found our room was perfect for our needs. The bathrooms are small but efficient. The staff was very helpful and most gracious. The cost of this hotel is a real bargain considering it's locate. The Café Edison in the hotel has excellent food. It's not a flashy place, but it is a bustling old time café with good waiters and waitresses. The Rum House, also in the hotel, is a fine, warm, cozy bar with some excellent small groups playing on certain nights.

Room Tip: Ask for the recently remodeled rooms. Some rooms have great street views, but they can be a little n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,228
    3,680
    1,995
    726
    482
See reviews for
2,589
2,975
386
429
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,678)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Our first time in New York,We did not like it ,We loved it.The hotel was like stepping back in time to the 30`s, fabulous.The staff were so helpful,from top to bottom,nothing was a problem for them.The hotel position is so perfect for being in the centre of everything that visitors would want,very easy for walking ,metro or buses.The Friday night wine and cheese party was a brilliant idea and well received.When the refurbishment of the restaurant is completed ,it will be the icing on the cake.We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colllins2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Right across the street from the TKTS office, this hotel is perfect for theater goers. Clean and well maintained at reasonable prices. I have been staying there for years and have never had a bad experience..

Room Tip: every room is different. the folks on the desk allowed us to look at several and choose. corner room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hillbillypilgrimage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel E, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear hillbillypilgrimage,

Thank you for the positive comments regarding the cleanliness, service, and location of the hotel. We thank you for your loyalty over the years; we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back whenever your plans include New York City!

Kindest Regards,
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Windsor, New Jersey
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

I stayed at the Edison as a last minute booking because of a snowstorm. I found them through the USO of Greater New York City...not only did they give a super rate, but upon learning I was a Veteran upgraded my room and helped me with Wifi!

The room was clean and modern, the staff pleasant and attentive, and the location can't be beat!

If you like the Art Deco vibe, this place has tons. Great look and feel to this historic hotel, and while I did not partake, has what looked to be a real cool throwback bar in the Rum Room.

Would book here again in a heartbeat. In fact, likely will soon.

Room Tip: The ONLY negative I had was that there was construction happening on times square that ran rate, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nortonlax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel E, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear nortonlax,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. Exceeding our guests experience is a goal our hotel staff strives to achieve daily with every guest interaction. We truly appreciate the wonderful comments about the hotel and our staff. We are glad you chose the Hotel Edison and look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Kindest Regards,
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

I booked this hotel for my husband and he says its all about the location. Loved being so close to the action in times square. Easy to get to subway too. Small room but clean and the price was fantastic for what the NYC hotels were going for.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel E, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear Laura N,

We thank you for your compliments on the location of the Hotel, and room. We are literally steps from Times Square. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

My daughter and I have just returned from our first ever visit to NYC. We stayed at the Edison for 4 nights and had an amazing stay. Our room was on the 14th floor and whilst we didn't have much of a view , the room was well beyond our expectations. The room was huge with 2 king sized beds, large wall mounted tv , coffee /tea maker , desk and sofa. The bath room was quite small but spotlessly clean with plenty of towels etc. The towels were changed everyday and the room was made up and cleaned to a very high standard. The hotel is located steps away from Times Square and the theatre district, with the TKTS discount booth right at the bottom of the street !! Great show tickets at up to 50% discount !! Security at the hotel is good, guests are always asked to show room key and any visitors are only allowed to come up after a phone call to confirm . I found this reassuring as I was travelling alone with my daughter. We found the hotel staff courteous and helpful. The only problem we had was the room was far too hot ! and there was no thermostat to control the heat.It was sub zero outside but the room temperature was really uncomfortable , we could open the window so this did help somewhat. Apart from that we had a wonderful stay at the Edison and will most definitely return , but hopefully when it's a bit warmer OUTSIDE !!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uzar666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel E, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear uzar666,


What a lovely review! Thank you for taking the time to write it. We are glad that we have lived up to your expectations. As you noted, we are centrally located and close to everything as well as theatres with easy access to other points of interest, both by taxi and subway, which makes us an ideal location to explore New York. We look forward to providing you with the same positive experience when you visit us again.

Kindest Regards,
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

Literally off of Times Square! Fab location! Staff nice. We have a normal cheap room which was fine but see why people say it needs a lick of paint. However the first day out radiater leaked all over the floor so we got upgraded to a signature room! Much better but I don't know how much they are! Bigger shower, walk in wardrobe, coffee maker, safe in room, umbrella and robes. However we were lucky. Other room fine if it's just a base. Suprised no wifi even in lobby! But Starbucks on corner had it if u need. Shop in hotel is v cheap for paracetamol and key rings etc. Cafe is like a diner and great. Computers upstairs free for checking in for flight. Security by lifts. I would stay there again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Calliefrankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel E, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Calliefrankie,

Thank you for your recent review. We appreciate all of your comments, and the opportunity to see things from a guest viewpoint. We apologize for any inconveniences you experienced on your first day with the leaky radiator. Our Maintenance Department has been notified and the issue has been resolved. We are glad that overall our hotel exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#340 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16,484 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#283 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,805 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#276 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#147 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,784 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#196 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,162 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#376 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edison Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edison Times Square

Property: Hotel Edison Times Square
Address: 228 West 47th Street, Between Broadway and 8 Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-1401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Green Hotel in New York City
#215 Business Hotel in New York City
#244 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Edison Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 810
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1931, Hotel Edison is an architectural art deco masterpiece with a rich history dating back from the moment famed American inventor, Thomas Edison turned on the light at the grand opening of the hotel to playing host to countless notables, to movie and television appearances. Hotel Edison is conveniently situated in the heart of New York City's iconic Times Square, amidst the energy and excitement of the latest in Broadway Theatres, nightlife, fine dining and shopping. The hotel is within steps of Midtown Manhattan's premier business and leisure destinations - Time Warner Center, Rockefeller Center, MoMA and world renown Fifth Avenue Shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotel.de, Travelbag, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Edison Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edison Towers Times Square
Edison Hotel New York City
Edison New York
Edison Towers Time Square
Edison Hotel Nyc
Hotel Edison New York City
Edison Towers New York
Edison Towers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing