We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap Hotel, Great Location Dont Fool yourself”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Edison Times Square
Ranked #305 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cheap Hotel, Great Location Dont Fool yourself”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

A great buy for the location. Right beside Times Square. I would recommend for a cheap stay for a short trip. I was in New York for the day. It was great for the price. Staff friendly, room dated but clean. I would stay here again if I was on a short trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEdison, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Joe K

We are pleased to know you had a comfortable stay at the Edison and found our facilities and location satisfying to your travel needs. On behalf of the entire staff we thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards,
A. Santiago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,234
    3,684
    1,999
    725
    482
See reviews for
2,592
2,979
387
432
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,679)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed at the Edison for 4 nights last month with 2 others for a girls weekend & it was wonderful. The staff was extremely friendly, the room (I booked a Signature room that has been updated) was modern, clean and larger than other hotels I have stayed at in Manhattan-2 queen beds! Location is great for going to the theater, Hell's Kitchen, Rockerfeller Plaza, shopping and jumping on the Subway. Pay the extra money for the Signature room - you won't be disappointed. And the complimentary cocktail party on Friday night for all guests was awesome - wine, drinks, hors d'oeuvres and music.

Room Tip: Get a signature room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DMK702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEdison, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear DMK702

Thank you for your superb review. We are really delighted that you have had a hands down positive experience. Glad to know that our Wine Hour completed your girls weekend! We will ensure to share your review with our team. We look forward to welcoming you all on your next weekend trip.

Warm Regards,
A. Santiago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilmer, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

This is our 3rd stay at the Edison, and each time is better than the last. The lobby is a beautiful Art Deco , and several floors of the hotel's rooms have recently been remodeled. We stayed 8 days and nights recently (late June/early July, 2014, & was extremely satisfied. Our remodeled room was on a higher floor tucked away from the noise of Broadway (although we wouldn't complain about the noise: we are in NYC, which is certainly not a vacation one takes to relax!! We had a great view of NYC outside our room. The remodeled room featured two queen size beds, storage space and a wonderful large bathroom. We never turned on the room's TV since we came to be in NYC & television was not necessary. We had free wi-fi with our room. We ate several times at the cafe attached to the lobby; good food, easy to grab breakfast or late snack. All of the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel has entrances on both 47th and 48th streets which was wonderful for getting to and from the eleven (11) Broadway musicals and plays we attended during our stay. We took taxis a couple of times and the bellman could always be counted on to get one quickly. Edison Hotel is our permanent hotel choice for all our NYC visits!

Room Tip: If you don't want to hear the " beautiful noise' of NYC, ask for a room on a floor high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psgarmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEdison, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear psgarmon

What a lovely review! Thank you for taking the time to write it and your loyalty over the years. It sounds like you stayed in one of our Signature Rooms and had a great view! We will share your wonderful comments with our staff as they continually strive to exceed our guests expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next and 4th trip to the Edison.

Warm Regards,
A. Santiago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stayed for 7 nights at the beginning of June. Got to the hotel early, just after 1pm and was given a room straight away. Room was basic, but clean and quiet, tucked in a corner on a high floor. Room for storing suitcases, large bathroom, fresh towels and a comfy bed. Yes the room could do with a bit of TLC but let's be honest, your in New York, get out there and enjoy the wonders. I would recommend and stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonScoffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEdison, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear SimonScoffin

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are so glad we were able to accommodate you with an early check in. We have renovated many of our rooms and introduced our Signature Collection. Visit our website and view our photos as this might be an option for you on your next visit. Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards,
A.Santiago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed here in 2012 (couldn't select this on the travel question) at the Christmas period, from the 23-30th. I found it to be in a very nice and dream location for access to all the popular sightseeing attractions. But the hotel itself was very back dated and could use a slight touch of modernising in the room. We stayed in a 2 queen bed room, which looked out towards the same direction of the entrance of the hotel. Though it is good for attractions and accessing times square, as expected, it can be very noisy! Car horns seemed to be a soundtrack of the trip (as expected). The room was very clean, the television had an array of channels that gave you access to one channel which simply played films all day that were captured in New York. It allowed you the feeling of excitement, knowing what you were watching was only couple of feet or blocks away and you could go there yourself. We never ate at the hotel and always ate out. If you are wanting a calming walk in Times square without getting caught up by a bunch of tourists taking pictures every two seconds, id advise you go at 6am until about 9. The streets pretty much dead and you can explore a little to see where to go later on. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Had an issue with the bar, where the family wanted to go for a drink but due to 'licensing' our 17 year old daughter couldn't simply just sit with us. She had to return to her room. When I'm pretty sure i seen a child younger, sitting at the other side of the bar. Other than this we pretty much explored on our own. It is a terrific city, but not for 7 nights. Perhaps as a stop-over. For 4 or 3 nights maximum. Also wifi, you had to pay for. Im sure it cost around 20 dollars or something. i cannot recall

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

You cannot get better than this. Smack dab in the middle of it all with an entrance on 46th and 47th street in times square. Beautiful art deco lobby, clean and decent rooms, friendly staff more spacious than expected and we only had the basic room. Broadway theatres out each door. Starbucks across the street. A nice bar in the hotel with live music and great atmosphere, a cafe/restaurant off the lobby for your early morning pleasure. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends. The valet parking is only 45 dollars a day taxes in. If you choose self park it is 48 dollars per day plus tax and then you have to drag your luggage a few blocks. It is worth the valet.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GayTravelCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEdison, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Gay TravelCouple

Wow, what a fabulous review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and the Edison meet all your expectations. We are centrally located close to everything, which makes us an ideal location to explore New York. We look forward to providing you with the same positive experience when you visit us again.

Warmest Regards,
A.Santiago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We went to this hotel with a tour group and checked in late evening. When we entered our assigned room we were shocked to see the condition of the room. Very old with worn out furnishings and carpeting. The bed was like an old spring mattress, a problem for any person with even the slightest back condition. Checked with a fellow traveler to learn they had been placed in a refurbished room more like we expected to have. Went to the front desk and asked for a more suitable room. They offered another room only to find out it was in the same run down condition. Went back to the front desk and they said they had no other rooms available. Told them that we would not stay in either of those rooms and would leave our group and check in to another hotel. Three Clerks working on this problem after a fashion were able to find another room. Extremely small room with a step up bathroom. The furnishings were in a better condition that the other rooms so we accepted it but vowed we would never stay in this hotel again in light of the way we were treated.

Room Tip: Insist on a recently refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joe14224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEdison, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear joe14224

We are deeply disappointed to read your comments regarding your stay here. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your visit and will certainly submit your comments to our Management Team and Group Manager. Our goal is to ensure your comfort, and we are sorry this was not the case. We hope to see you again, where we will work hard to make sure the quality of your stay is much improved.

Kind Regards,
A.Santiago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#343 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16,535 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#283 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,826 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#275 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#146 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,791 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#196 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,178 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#374 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edison Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edison Times Square

Property: Hotel Edison Times Square
Address: 228 West 47th Street, Between Broadway and 8 Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-1401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Green Hotel in New York City
#215 Business Hotel in New York City
#244 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Edison Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 810
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1931, Hotel Edison is an architectural art deco masterpiece with a rich history dating back from the moment famed American inventor, Thomas Edison turned on the light at the grand opening of the hotel to playing host to countless notables, to movie and television appearances. Hotel Edison is conveniently situated in the heart of New York City's iconic Times Square, amidst the energy and excitement of the latest in Broadway Theatres, nightlife, fine dining and shopping. The hotel is within steps of Midtown Manhattan's premier business and leisure destinations - Time Warner Center, Rockefeller Center, MoMA and world renown Fifth Avenue Shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Hotel.de, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Travelbag, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Edison Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edison Towers Times Square
Edison Hotel New York City
Edison New York
Edison Towers Time Square
Edison Hotel Nyc
Hotel Edison New York City
Edison Towers New York
Edison Towers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing