We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old but very clean and in An excelent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Edison Times Square
Ranked #310 of 468 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mexico
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Old but very clean and in An excelent location”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The hotel is very old but it was very clean and very very close to times square. It is a very busy part of the city and sometimes there is a lot of noise. You are within walking distance of a lot of theaters, stores and attractions. Most of the hop on and off buses stop very close to the hotel. The subway is two small blocks away. It is in an excellent location. The personnel is very helpful and most of them are very nice. You can store your luggage in the hotel for a couple of days for a very reasonable amount if you are going to be out of the city for a couple of days. The Internet access isn't free but you can obtain it. There is a business center with computers which you can use for a fee.

Room Tip: We had an inner room and it was very silent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sylvia20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEdison, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear sylvia20

Thank you for taking the time to post a comment about your recent experience at The Hotel Edison. We are always delighted to see new faces and hear about new experiences. It looks like you had a fun filled adventure here in NYC. We agree the hop on hop off tour is one of the best ways to get around and see the city. Once again thanks for the great review, and we hope to welcome you back to the Big Apple.

Kind Regards,
A. Santiago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,298
    3,759
    2,045
    748
    498
See reviews for
2,657
3,054
402
445
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,726)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Great location next to Times Square but the hotel was very disappointing after leaving the reception area! If you aren't lucky enough to have booked directly with the hotel or be guaranteed a superior rooms the rooms are quite dated and our room had a musty smell. Beds were comfortable but to control the temperature of the air conditioning in the first room we were given you had to call the engineers out to adjust it! In the second room we had you could open a grill on top of the air conditioning unit, put your hand inside and switch between high cool, low cool and off! The shower was difficult to control and the water temperature fluctuated quite a lot, and the sink plug did not hold the water in the sink and was not fixed after we reported it! The walls were also quite thin. Security was excellent and the hotel had bell boys. Attached to the hotel was a excellent cafe for breakfast. On arrival I was very disappointed to be told there was no free wifi but after complaining and moving rooms I was given a free wifi code. Not a hotel to stay at if you are looking for a modern hotel.

Room Tip: Ensure you book a updated superior room if you want a modern hotel room. Higher floors are quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brechin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

If like us and are visiting New York for the first time and want to be smack bang in the middle of it all then this is the hotel for you. It is a 1 minute walk to the centre of Times Square. Is it noisy yes, is it very busy yes so if it's quiet you want then it's not for you. Everything we needed was right there and the buzz was great. The hotel itself is nice. We had read lots of reviews about people not getting the room they asked for. We booked a signature Queen room with a view and that is exactly what we got which had a great view of the river on the 21st floor and included free Wi-Fi. It was small but had everything we needed. We stayed for 9 nights and enjoyed every minute of our stay. The hotel from what we saw was very nice and I guess there are not so nice rooms which have yet to be refurbished but as the saying goes you get what you pay for If you want the nice rooms then pay a bit more and it will still be much cheaper than nearby hotels and lets face it who goes to New York to sit in their room? If in doubt about this hotel book a signature room (floors 19-22) and enjoy!!!

Room Tip: signature rooms are refurbished and have free wi-fi
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEdison, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Wendy F

Thanks for your brilliant review. Our Signature Rooms are wonderful and so close to Times Square. We are so happy you enjoyed your room and was able to get a great view. Our location is amazing, you have it all within reach, food, shopping, theaters. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Warmest Regards,
A. Santiago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

A great buy for the location. Right beside Times Square. I would recommend for a cheap stay for a short trip. I was in New York for the day. It was great for the price. Staff friendly, room dated but clean. I would stay here again if I was on a short trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEdison, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Joe K

We are pleased to know you had a comfortable stay at the Edison and found our facilities and location satisfying to your travel needs. On behalf of the entire staff we thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards,
A. Santiago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed at the Edison for 4 nights last month with 2 others for a girls weekend & it was wonderful. The staff was extremely friendly, the room (I booked a Signature room that has been updated) was modern, clean and larger than other hotels I have stayed at in Manhattan-2 queen beds! Location is great for going to the theater, Hell's Kitchen, Rockerfeller Plaza, shopping and jumping on the Subway. Pay the extra money for the Signature room - you won't be disappointed. And the complimentary cocktail party on Friday night for all guests was awesome - wine, drinks, hors d'oeuvres and music.

Room Tip: Get a signature room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DMK702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEdison, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear DMK702

Thank you for your superb review. We are really delighted that you have had a hands down positive experience. Glad to know that our Wine Hour completed your girls weekend! We will ensure to share your review with our team. We look forward to welcoming you all on your next weekend trip.

Warm Regards,
A. Santiago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilmer, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This is our 3rd stay at the Edison, and each time is better than the last. The lobby is a beautiful Art Deco , and several floors of the hotel's rooms have recently been remodeled. We stayed 8 days and nights recently (late June/early July, 2014, & was extremely satisfied. Our remodeled room was on a higher floor tucked away from the noise of Broadway (although we wouldn't complain about the noise: we are in NYC, which is certainly not a vacation one takes to relax!! We had a great view of NYC outside our room. The remodeled room featured two queen size beds, storage space and a wonderful large bathroom. We never turned on the room's TV since we came to be in NYC & television was not necessary. We had free wi-fi with our room. We ate several times at the cafe attached to the lobby; good food, easy to grab breakfast or late snack. All of the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel has entrances on both 47th and 48th streets which was wonderful for getting to and from the eleven (11) Broadway musicals and plays we attended during our stay. We took taxis a couple of times and the bellman could always be counted on to get one quickly. Edison Hotel is our permanent hotel choice for all our NYC visits!

Room Tip: If you don't want to hear the " beautiful noise' of NYC, ask for a room on a floor high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psgarmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEdison, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear psgarmon

What a lovely review! Thank you for taking the time to write it and your loyalty over the years. It sounds like you stayed in one of our Signature Rooms and had a great view! We will share your wonderful comments with our staff as they continually strive to exceed our guests expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next and 4th trip to the Edison.

Warm Regards,
A. Santiago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stayed for 7 nights at the beginning of June. Got to the hotel early, just after 1pm and was given a room straight away. Room was basic, but clean and quiet, tucked in a corner on a high floor. Room for storing suitcases, large bathroom, fresh towels and a comfy bed. Yes the room could do with a bit of TLC but let's be honest, your in New York, get out there and enjoy the wonders. I would recommend and stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonScoffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEdison, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear SimonScoffin

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are so glad we were able to accommodate you with an early check in. We have renovated many of our rooms and introduced our Signature Collection. Visit our website and view our photos as this might be an option for you on your next visit. Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards,
A.Santiago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#344 of 468 in New York City
17,599 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 468 in New York City
11,100 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#194 of 468 in New York City
9,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#153 of 468 in New York City
6,937 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#295 of 468 in New York City
7,136 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#380 of 468 in New York City
4,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edison Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edison Times Square

Property: Hotel Edison Times Square
Address: 228 West 47th Street, Between Broadway and 8 Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-1401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Green Hotel in New York City
#215 Business Hotel in New York City
#244 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Edison Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 810
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1931, Hotel Edison is an architectural art deco masterpiece with a rich history dating back from the moment famed American inventor, Thomas Edison turned on the light at the grand opening of the hotel to playing host to countless notables, to movie and television appearances. Hotel Edison is conveniently situated in the heart of New York City's iconic Times Square, amidst the energy and excitement of the latest in Broadway Theatres, nightlife, fine dining and shopping. The hotel is within steps of Midtown Manhattan's premier business and leisure destinations - Time Warner Center, Rockefeller Center, MoMA and world renown Fifth Avenue Shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Agoda, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Edison Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edison Towers Times Square
Edison Hotel New York City
Edison New York
Edison Towers Time Square
Edison Hotel Nyc
Hotel Edison New York City
Edison Towers New York
Edison Towers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing