We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Edison Times Square
Ranked #313 of 469 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Lovely character art deco hotel in perfect location. Our room was fine, lovely comfy bed and cleaned every day. The cheese and wine reception was a lovely touch and we had a great stay. We used the fantastic deli next door as it was open 24 hours a day for anything you needed. I do not know why some people were moaning about the hotel

Room Tip: our room on the 12th floor was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JuliaTrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Julia Trew

Thank you for posting such a great review. We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at the Edison. Oh and we agree with the Deli next door. Its great and convenient especially during the late hours. Remember to book your next visit on Tuesdays or Fridays so you can enjoy another lovely wine hour with us. We look forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards,
A. Santiago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (9,881)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,442 - 3,448 of 9,883 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

Location is great but everything else isn't! Staff is rude and not welcoming. The room had a bad smell plus the air condinining wasn't working correctly.

We had a health situation with my in laws, during the crisis the security personnel helps us out, but the tyoe of question they asked was like they were trying to rule out any responsability from the Hotel. That made use VERY unconfotable.

Wouldn't stay here again regardless of the cheap rate and good location!

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms facing the avenue, there is alot of traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Joel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Joel B

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are truly sorry to hear that you deem our staff and security team to be unfriendly and we sincerely apologize if you were not made to feel welcome during your stay with us. This is never our intent and we realize that whenever challenges may present themselves genuine warmth and quality service must never be compromised. We wish you and your family all the best and hope you will return in the future and allow us the opportunity to restore your confidence in us.

Kind Regards,
A. Santiago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The location of this hotel is brilliant for the price. Very close to Times Square and well within walking distance to Port Authority bus station. Room and bathroom was cleaned thoroughly every day. Room is quite small but what else would you expect from New York?

We arrived an hour before check in time but the friendly reception staff made sure this wasn't an issue and let us check in anyway.

If we book another trip to New York, we will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Andrew D

Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience with us. We are glad that everything was to your satisfaction and we were able to provide you with an early check in. We will share your nice thoughts with our staff. We hope to see you in the near future, when your travels bring you back to The Big Apple!

Warm Regards,
A. Santiago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Location is great but everything else isn't! Staff is rude and not welcoming. Our room was smelly and the ac wasn't wiring correctly and the staff was not willing to move us to another room. They told us the hotel was full but later did move us. Obviously the hotel wasn't full! Wouldn't stay here again regardless of the cheap rate and good location!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jetsetter0103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Jetsetter0103

We are sorry you had such a disappointing stay. We apologize for your challenges you had during your visit and will certainly submit your comments to management. Our goal is to ensure your comfort, and we regret this was not the case. We hope to see you again, where we will work hard to make sure the quality of your stay is much improved.

Kind Regards,
A. Santiago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This place is garbage!! The service is garbage, the rooms are garbage, the matresses are garbage, about the only that isn't garbage is the location. In fact the location is GREAT! Upon arrival, we were greeted by a fine gentleman at the curb. We had loads of luggage and he was quite helpful. However, a few mins later we needed to add 2 pieces of luggage to the cart with the rest of our stuff. I went to the bell stand and asked to add the bags and caught the worst attitude from a bellman named Kevin. Rather than just helping me get the bags checked he told me to go stand by the cart or go find the man the helped us originally. This was terrible customer service number one. Later in the day we returned to find the room stuffy and smelling like a gym locker. The ac unit had gone out so, since it was July, we requested another room. We were given the run around and made to stand at the front desk for almost 30 mins until they finally agreed to move us. I'm convinced they made us wait to see if we actually would. I have stayed in loads of hotels in NYC and I will NEVER return to this one. Spend the money you would use to buy Advil and book another hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matta2309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Location:Perfect

My boyfriend and I spent the weekend in NYC and found an extremely cheap deal through Retailmenot.com on this hotel for 2 nights. We were paying $118 a night to be right in the middle of Times Square. We had heard awesome reviews of this place, but in the end, we were really just looking for something close by so we could walk everywhere we wanted to go. Well, when we first got there we were unable to check in early so instead we waited and walked around with all of our luggage. When we got to the room it wasn't quite what we expected from various photos. The wallpaper looked stained and was peeling, the lights flickered a bit. The bathroom was clean, yes, but the temperature of the water in the shower was AWFUL. It fluctuated so much that all you wanted to do was quickly shower and get out. Oh yeah, and on our first night there, we swear someone opened our closed door and realized someone was in the room and immediately shut it.. either that or the room was haunted. Either or, we were not impressed or pleased that we felt someone was sneaking into our room.

If we had to stay there longer, I definitely would've paid more somewhere else that had a better facility and not that its a major thing, but at least had coffee/tea available in the room. But like I said, for the price we paid for two nights, I can't complain too much. It was just a nice weekend getaway and welcome back gift for my boyfriend after studying abroad for 9 months.

Room Tip: The queen beds in the rooms weren't too bad. Try to find deals on Retailmenot.com through trave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knightmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The hotel is located as close as it could be to the time square. very comfortable and centralized.
This is an old building and the hotel maintenance wasn't that good. They didn't give us the room we ordered and they were not that cooperative in changing it and the room was not very clean,
The service level was not consistent, some were very nice and some were quite unpleasant.

If you are looking to be in the center and willing to compromise on the service, than it is the hotel for you. If not please consider again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ofer_bz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#399 of 469 in New York City
4,658 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#355 of 469 in New York City
19,578 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#136 of 469 in New York City
7,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#195 of 469 in New York City
9,825 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#280 of 469 in New York City
11,707 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#185 of 469 in New York City
8,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edison Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edison Times Square

Address: 228 West 47th Street, Between Broadway and 8 Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-1401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Green Hotel in New York City
#210 Business Hotel in New York City
#239 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £104 - £350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Edison Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 810
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1931, Hotel Edison is an architectural art deco masterpiece with a rich history dating back from the moment famed American inventor, Thomas Edison turned on the light at the grand opening of the hotel to playing host to countless notables, to movie and television appearances. Hotel Edison is conveniently situated in the heart of New York City's iconic Times Square, amidst the energy and excitement of the latest in Broadway Theatres, nightlife, fine dining and shopping. The hotel is within steps of Midtown Manhattan's premier business and leisure destinations - Time Warner Center, Rockefeller Center, MoMA and world renown Fifth Avenue Shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Superbreak UK, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Booking.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, Splitty, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Edison Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edison Towers Times Square
Edison Hotel New York City
Edison New York
Edison Towers Time Square
Edison Hotel Nyc
Hotel Edison New York City
Edison Towers New York
Edison Towers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing