We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Edison Times Square
Ranked #309 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mobile
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love this hotel!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My daughter and I spent four nights in one of the newer rooms. It was great! Got the pizza package and enjoyed NY pizza everyday. Friendly and helpful staff. Wonderful location, especially for theatre goers. Had a little problem with the internet, but staff helped resolve. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janfj1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Janfj1013

What a great review. There's nothing better than New York City pizza! We are delighted you and your daughter enjoyed your renovated room. We would love to welcome you back to Edison and New York City!

Warm Regards,
A. Santiago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,354
    3,836
    2,083
    760
    514
See reviews for
2,737
3,113
407
454
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,761)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

It's a good hotel in a great location.

Myself and family have enjoyed our stay in NYC. The event with the wine and cheese and great music on the Tuesday night was a great surprise.

We stayed in one of the older twin rooms and found it met all our needs.

Would recommend.


Xxx

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear S T

We are happy that you and your family had an excellent stay with us and found our facilities and service meeting all your needs. We would love to welcome you back on your next travels to NYC!

Warm Regards,
A. Santiago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Edison Hotel is one of the many older hotel properties in New York and as such, is currently undergoing some refurbishment. The rooms and bathrooms are small which is normal for this type of property, however, most things were functional and clean. There were one or two problems with the fixtures and fittings in the bathroom but I have reported these to the hotel staff and hopefully matters will be resolved. The beds are comfortable and extra pillows can be requested. There is currently no free Wi-Fi available in the basic rooms (Free in Executive Rooms) which is a bit annoying as most places in the world these days offer this as complimentary. You can use the business centre at a cost of $3 per 15 minutes if you need to check e-mails etc. In addition, there are no tea/coffee making facilities in the basic rooms which again, is disappointing as most hotels offer this as standard and this is the first time I have come across this in the U.S.A having travelled to various states in the past including New York. A plus point is that on Tuesday & Friday evenings there is a wine and cheese reception (for hotel guests) which is a nice touch as it brings people together for an hour.

The location of the hotel is excellent for Times Square, the theatres on Broadway and restaurants of all kinds. There is a good deli right next door to the hotel which is open 24/7.
The subway is close by but most places are within walking distance i.e. Rockefeller Centre, Grand Central Station, Empire State Building, Macy's department store and Gray Line Visitor Centre if you are going to use the Hop On, Hop Off bus tours. There is a good Duane Reed Pharmacy nearby as well. (8th Avenue next to the Gray Line Visitor Centre).
Overall, I would recommend this hotel for it's location and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Higher floors may have a better view depending on which side of the hotel you are accommodated in. R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margaretpateman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear MAGS14-8

Thank you for your recent review. We appreciate all your comment, including the pros and cons list. Your feedback will be shared with our Management Team as we are always striving to improve our service. We are glad that overall our hotel exceeded your expectations and that you found your room to be comfortable. We hope to see you soon in the not so distant future.

Kind Regards,
A. Santiago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have stayed at the Edison several times. If you want a hotel in the heart of the theater district, this is it. It had its heyday in the '40s and '50s and is a little "shabby chic," but I love it anyway. The staff is wonderful--storing our bags before and after checkout time, helping with travel plans, bringing extra pillows when we needed them. The Rum House, the hotel's bar, has great live music almost every night. With 22 floors, the hotel's six elevators made trips up and down quick and easy...didn't have to wait often for an elevator. The lower the floor, the more street noise you're going to get.....request a room on the 12th floor or above.

Room Tip: Choose one 12th floor or higher for a quieter time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iowachick19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Iowachick19

We thank you for staying at the Hotel Edison and are thrilled to know your stay exceeded your expectations! Thanks for the positive comments regarding the staff and the Rum House. We work very hard to make sure every guest has a wonderful stay such as you. We look forward to seeing you during your next stay in New York.

Warm Regards,
A. Santiago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was the hotel that was included in a getaway package that we purchased.

Good points:
- the location: as soon as you exit the hotel you are in times square.
- security located right inside lobby by elevators: they would ask to see your room key on the way in

Some let downs:
- rooms were very dated
- no coffee pot in room (first hotel I've seen without coffee)
- no free wifi (you pay enough for the rooms you think wifi would be included)
- shower: good luck getting a desired temperature, have to keep your hand on the cold tap at all times
- in order to plug something in to recharge you had to unplug the radio or lamp
- the welcome book was hidden: as I was checking all drawers to go home I found it in one of the drawers, wish I had seen it the first day we got there. It should be placed out in full view.
- no fridge in room: I was going to freeze water to take with us on excursions but couldn't do it.
- old window air conditioner that made a lot of noise.
- no safe in the room to lock up our valuables.

Room Tip: We were in one of the old rooms; I heard there are renovated rooms but not sure if they are any bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shadow0966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear shadow0966

We are sorry you were disappointed with your stay with us. We apologize for the deficiencies in your accommodations. Our Front Desk is operational 24 hours and advise that you enquire regarding an alternative room to allocate to you should the one your in is not suitable. We have renovated many of our rooms and have introduced our Signature Collection and are continually modernizing our facilities. We speak to the team about your experience and look for ways to improve. We hope you allow us the opportunity to welcome you back to restore your confidence in us.

Kind Regards,
A. Santiago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Finally my first trip to NYC with my 19 year old daughter. Many stores and eating places nearby. Steps from Times Square. Elevator service was fast for the vast size of the hotel. We did splurge and stay in a signature double queen room, because I had read in reviews that they were renovated not to long ago. I know that the basic rooms are worn and outdated from friends that stayed there the same time we did. Our signature room was very spacious on the 21st floor with a poor view, but quiet at night..Bathroom was small, but clean and modern. The only bad thing was the shower was barely a trickle and took about 3 times longer to shower. Took forever to wash and shampoo our hair. The hotel is really in an awesome area close to many attractions and theaters. We enjoyed NYC so much that we are going back at Christmas time. We would have stayed at the Edison again, but their signature rooms were all booked already. ....Sorry Edison Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbRN212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear BarbRN212

Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience. We are delighted that both you and your daughter enjoyed your stay in your Signature Room. We will share your feedback about the shower pressure with our Management Team, as we continually strive to improve our service. We hope to welcome you back to New York so you can enjoy all the city has to offer.

Warm Regards,
A. Santiago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rehovot, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights, the hotel is located exactly on Times Square!! We asked for a high floor, got a room on the 18th floor and still heard the street.
The hotel rooms are big but the facilities are old...

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Berti B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Berti B

Thank you for your review. As you know we are the city that never sleeps and at times street noise can be a factor. We regret if this was an inconvenience for you during your stay. We are modernizing and upgrading the hotel, please stay in touch with us through social media and by subscribing to our website so we can keep you informed. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
A. Santiago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#187 of 467 in New York City
9,554 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#347 of 467 in New York City
18,450 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#151 of 467 in New York City
7,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 467 in New York City
11,341 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#391 of 467 in New York City
4,309 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#177 of 467 in New York City
7,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edison Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edison Times Square

Property: Hotel Edison Times Square
Address: 228 West 47th Street, Between Broadway and 8 Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-1401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Green Hotel in New York City
#211 Business Hotel in New York City
#240 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Edison Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 810
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1931, Hotel Edison is an architectural art deco masterpiece with a rich history dating back from the moment famed American inventor, Thomas Edison turned on the light at the grand opening of the hotel to playing host to countless notables, to movie and television appearances. Hotel Edison is conveniently situated in the heart of New York City's iconic Times Square, amidst the energy and excitement of the latest in Broadway Theatres, nightlife, fine dining and shopping. The hotel is within steps of Midtown Manhattan's premier business and leisure destinations - Time Warner Center, Rockefeller Center, MoMA and world renown Fifth Avenue Shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Edison Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edison Towers Times Square
Edison Hotel New York City
Edison New York
Edison Towers Time Square
Edison Hotel Nyc
Hotel Edison New York City
Edison Towers New York
Edison Towers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing