We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just right”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Edison Times Square
Ranked #311 of 466 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fort Stewart, Georgia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just right”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Older hotel and you could tell but the AC was super cold and it was in the heart of Times Square. For the price compared to others, it was just right. Staff was helpful. Parking was $45 but again, middle of Times Square. We checked out at noon and paid $0.50 a bag for storage until we picked them up at 9 pm. Highly recommend

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Javi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,323
    3,788
    2,063
    754
    506
See reviews for
2,688
3,084
404
447
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,744)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2014

we got here and our room had an air conditioner that was broken and leaking water all over the carpet and smelt bad. To thier credit they immediatly moved us to another room that was bigger and working. The furniture, paint and amenities need to be upgraded but for the price and location, i would recommmend it.

Room Tip: get a higher floor for less noise but you will stop at every floor in the elevator on your way down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g0eat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We were absolutley blown away by this hotel...
this is right smack in the middle of manhattan literally a few steps off times square, with easy access to everything from sites, food etc. to subway for accessing other areas of new york.

the real amazing thing is the hotel was practically a steal for the price we paid (under 200$ a night) for the refurbished rooms "Signature Room".

the hotel itself is really beautiful, old style mid 1900's hotel with very nice lobby and reception area.

check in was very friendly, even though we arrived well before check in time and Joseph the bellboy was a real delight from the doorway all the wau to setting us up in our room.
as stated in other reviewes there are a couple of entrances and the place feels very safe with a hotel person at the elevator entrance checking you are a guest (show room key) 24/7.

the room was just mind blowing!
high level (19) with great view of surrounding high rises and zero noise.
great space in the room - much more than what i expected in new york - with bathroom, sitting area and large Queen size bed (they also have King rooms). this room type also includes free wifi which is always a nice perk when traveling.

didn't get a chance to eat the hotel cafe but you have on the hotel street at least three places for breakfast so you're in no problem there...

this is a real no brainer - if you can get this hotel at this price don't even consider the alternatives - go here! (and say hi to Joseph...)

Room Tip: Signature Rooms are awsome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tkamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a 5 night stay at the Edison and overall we were really pleased with our experience there!

Any staff we encountered were always polite and courteous. Check in and out took a matter of minutes.

We booked a signature queen room on floor 21, which is one of those that have been renovated. The room was really clean but small. Saying that it did the job for us as we were always on the go. The bathroom was also small but had a brilliant walk in shower which made up for it. In this type of room we had daily room clean and fresh towels. Also free wifi! ( which I gather other floors have to pay for). We paid a dollar to leave each bag at the hotel on our last day so that we didn't have to carry them around.

The location of the hotel is amazing! Right at Times Square and surrounded by theatres. We found its location a brilliant base for exploring all NYC had to offer.

Overall we had a great experience at The Edison. I did get a good deal for the signature queen room though on Expedia- and would have found the price much too high to pay without this deal. Therefore I would most definitely return but only with another deal as it can be too expensive!

Tips:
*We took the subway and air train combo to JFK from 42nd and 8th Avenue and it was SO straightforward and easy to manoeuvre. Cost us $8 each and we got to the airport with half hr to spare! More to spend on duty free!!

*We bought a city tours NYC ticket for $99 dollars on our first day and used it to the max. It allowed us to hop on and off around the city (designated bus stops throughout) and included tickets to Top of the Rock observatory and Statue of Liberty Ferry. The bus drivers we encountered were really happy to help so ask them if you are unsure!

* We did a 2 hour non stop night tour of the city with our tickets. Absolutely amazing to see the place at night. Included a fantastic view of the impressive skyline and Brooklyn Bridge. Really recommend this to first timers like us.

*Juniors Restaurant just around the corner are renowned for their amazing cheesecake but I also found their meals to be gorgeous! We ate there twice-brilliant service!

*If you can manage it and get a good deal, stay in the signature rooms. They are very small but so clean and very comfortable!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank marie_doherty25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Once again I went to my favourite place New York . My granddaughter and I stayed at the Edison Hotel Times Square , where we have stayed previously . Since our last stay the hotel has seen refurbishment. It has been well done. Our room was lovely. There was a machine for making tea/coffee. The bathroom was newly done and the shower perfect. Plenty of clean fresh towels and bed linen daily. Housekeeping excellent, all staff were friendly and professional.
The hotel is in a perfect location. Within walking distance of Radio City, Bryant Park, Grand Central Station and even Central Park. Plenty of reasonably priced places to eat locally. Danny's next door has some fab take outs every day open 24/7 .
I highly recommend this hotel, hoping to book it for next year.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beaverhausen010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Mountain Falls, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This older hotel is the absolute best for a visit to New York City. It's a half block from Times Square and an easy walk or subway ride to every thing you may want to see and do in The Big Apple. The room was very comfortable and clean and the service was very good. I've stayed here twice and will always stay here when I visit NYC. It's quiet and reasonably priced. Not glitzy but just a good clean solid place to stay. (I actually stayed here early in 2013 but this review screen would only allow clicking back no earlier than Sept 2013.) Loved this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lillehammer, Oppland, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The hotel is not new, but it has charm. The bathrooms in the old section of the hotel is not so nice, and difficult to get the right temperature. But overall, the rooms are okay and the location is great.
The service is also really good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatrineStorhaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear CatrineStorhang

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts of your recent stay at the Edison. It sounds like you enjoyed your stay. We agree, our hotel has charm, history and elegance. We truly hope to welcome you back in the near future so you can continue to enjoy all the Edison has to offer.

Warm Regards,
A. Santiago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#348 of 466 in New York City
17,988 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#191 of 466 in New York City
9,474 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#272 of 466 in New York City
11,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#156 of 466 in New York City
6,996 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#297 of 466 in New York City
7,206 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#384 of 466 in New York City
4,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edison Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edison Times Square

Property: Hotel Edison Times Square
Address: 228 West 47th Street, Between Broadway and 8 Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-1401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Green Hotel in New York City
#213 Business Hotel in New York City
#242 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Edison Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 810
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1931, Hotel Edison is an architectural art deco masterpiece with a rich history dating back from the moment famed American inventor, Thomas Edison turned on the light at the grand opening of the hotel to playing host to countless notables, to movie and television appearances. Hotel Edison is conveniently situated in the heart of New York City's iconic Times Square, amidst the energy and excitement of the latest in Broadway Theatres, nightlife, fine dining and shopping. The hotel is within steps of Midtown Manhattan's premier business and leisure destinations - Time Warner Center, Rockefeller Center, MoMA and world renown Fifth Avenue Shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Edison Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edison Towers Times Square
Edison Hotel New York City
Edison New York
Edison Towers Time Square
Edison Hotel Nyc
Hotel Edison New York City
Edison Towers New York
Edison Towers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing