We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Edison Times Square
Ranked #305 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in June.As we had never been before to New York,i looked at reviews others had posted and decided to stay here and that was because of the location. It is right in the centre of times square and you literally have everything around you. As you are in the middle of Manhattan it did not take a long time to get anyway. The hotel itself has a very "new york" feel to it. The room was of good standard, the beds were very comfy and very quiet, you could not hear anything. I would definately recommend this hotel to others just because of the location. The staff were all very helpful and nice and i would go back there. New York is just amazing in itself anyway so gooo!! There are plenty of different types of restaurants and bars to go to as well as shops and cafes.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LimeyLittleBhudda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear LimeyLittleBhudda

Thank you very much for this positive review. It means so much to have our guests satisfied and content and even take the time to write about it. We're glad you found all the city has to offer on your 4 day trip. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Warm Regards,
A. Santiago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,232
    3,684
    1,999
    725
    482
See reviews for
2,592
2,979
387
431
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,678)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

First trip to NYC but this won't be our last. This hotel has charmed. It is clean, good service and the food in the restaurant is fantastic. 2 steps from Time square and the brodway shows. Even if we are in the heart of the action, the hotel is quiet and we slept like babys. The price was excellent. We will be back !!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FunInTheSun1430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabela, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Great hotel located at the heart of the Big Apple. An 80+ year hotel that looks amazing for its age. Old style look but beautiful. Our room in 17th floor, looked refurbish, very small yet cozy, good A/C, good HD TV & cable, bathroom very small but just right, queen bed very comfy, and a fare view of the city. Staff from reservation, security, to AC technicians, all friendly and most important great customer service. Just few feet away from Time Square, stores, restaurants, pharmacy, broadway theaters, and other attractions. A little pricey. Overall experience: a great hotel, good place to stay. I'll be back. Two thumbs up.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abrosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We have stayed at the Edison several times and the recent visit was the best one yet. Excellent location, within walking distance of theatres and right on Restaurant Row. Very friendly and helpful staff. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms seem to be preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Stewart, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Older hotel and you could tell but the AC was super cold and it was in the heart of Times Square. For the price compared to others, it was just right. Staff was helpful. Parking was $45 but again, middle of Times Square. We checked out at noon and paid $0.50 a bag for storage until we picked them up at 9 pm. Highly recommend

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Javi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

we got here and our room had an air conditioner that was broken and leaking water all over the carpet and smelt bad. To thier credit they immediatly moved us to another room that was bigger and working. The furniture, paint and amenities need to be upgraded but for the price and location, i would recommmend it.

Room Tip: get a higher floor for less noise but you will stop at every floor in the elevator on your way down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g0eat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We were absolutley blown away by this hotel...
this is right smack in the middle of manhattan literally a few steps off times square, with easy access to everything from sites, food etc. to subway for accessing other areas of new york.

the real amazing thing is the hotel was practically a steal for the price we paid (under 200$ a night) for the refurbished rooms "Signature Room".

the hotel itself is really beautiful, old style mid 1900's hotel with very nice lobby and reception area.

check in was very friendly, even though we arrived well before check in time and Joseph the bellboy was a real delight from the doorway all the wau to setting us up in our room.
as stated in other reviewes there are a couple of entrances and the place feels very safe with a hotel person at the elevator entrance checking you are a guest (show room key) 24/7.

the room was just mind blowing!
high level (19) with great view of surrounding high rises and zero noise.
great space in the room - much more than what i expected in new york - with bathroom, sitting area and large Queen size bed (they also have King rooms). this room type also includes free wifi which is always a nice perk when traveling.

didn't get a chance to eat the hotel cafe but you have on the hotel street at least three places for breakfast so you're in no problem there...

this is a real no brainer - if you can get this hotel at this price don't even consider the alternatives - go here! (and say hi to Joseph...)

Room Tip: Signature Rooms are awsome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tkamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#341 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16,515 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#285 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,816 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#145 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,788 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#198 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,174 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#377 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edison Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edison Times Square

Property: Hotel Edison Times Square
Address: 228 West 47th Street, Between Broadway and 8 Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-1401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Green Hotel in New York City
#215 Business Hotel in New York City
#244 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Edison Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 810
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1931, Hotel Edison is an architectural art deco masterpiece with a rich history dating back from the moment famed American inventor, Thomas Edison turned on the light at the grand opening of the hotel to playing host to countless notables, to movie and television appearances. Hotel Edison is conveniently situated in the heart of New York City's iconic Times Square, amidst the energy and excitement of the latest in Broadway Theatres, nightlife, fine dining and shopping. The hotel is within steps of Midtown Manhattan's premier business and leisure destinations - Time Warner Center, Rockefeller Center, MoMA and world renown Fifth Avenue Shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Edison Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edison Towers Times Square
Edison Hotel New York City
Edison New York
Edison Towers Time Square
Edison Hotel Nyc
Hotel Edison New York City
Edison Towers New York
Edison Towers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing