We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“average hotel with very good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Edison Times Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Edison Times Square
Ranked #307 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“average hotel with very good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

The hotel room was small and the staff were polite but not too friendly and welcoming in my opinion. But the lobby was nice and the location is Perfect. I expected more for the price I paid but as the location was good I recommend this place. But if you love to stay in hotel and rest in your room it was not ideal.

Room Tip: my room was in 7th floor and it was dark with no view of city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank par_hoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,985 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,181
    3,643
    1,970
    717
    474
See reviews for
2,549
2,934
382
419
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,648)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

I traveled to new York, for the first time, and stayed at the Edison Hotel in Times Square with my best friend. We thought the hotel was quite nice although it was slightly dated. Our room had a dresser that was coming apart and we could not purchase a movie through the television due to a flaw in the system. There was a domestic dispute in the room next to us and we had to call security to come up and see if the woman in the dispute was alright. We were slightly afraid but settled down a short time later. Overall, the location was great and we had no trouble finding our daily excursions and getting back to the hotel afterwards. The staff was helpful and the room was cleaned each day. The hotel was very close to theaters and restaurants were within walking distance so we never had to rent a cab to go anywhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DWalton714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

Our family enjoyed our recent stay (we had 2 rooms) at the Edison. The hotel is just steps from Broadway and all the action. The beautiful art deco lobby is a great place to meet up with friends. On Friday afternoon they offered a nice reception in the lobby with free wine, cheese/crackers and live music. We also enjoyed our breakfasts in the lobby coffee shop. The breakfast was fast, delicious and surprisingly reasonably priced! Our rooms were good sized and clean. The air conditioning was wonderful and kept the rooms nice and cool. All of the employees that we spoke with in the lobby were professional and very courteous. (The only small complaint we had was that the maid never left us more than 2 full size clean towels. When we pointed this out to her she said "Yeah. None of my rooms have enough towels." But this was quickly remedied when we stopped by the front desk and asked for towels. They had been delivered to our rooms by the time we got back from the theatre.)

I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends. Great staff and great location.

Room Tip: Elevators are small but move quickly. I'd request a lower floor for easier access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Vicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

Great location. Friendly employees and friendly security folks at the elevators.

Rooms are small as typical in the city, but well arranged and very adequate.

Right at Times Square and close to many theaters.

Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Lot of the upper floors have not been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

Room was perfect in location. Rooms are as stated and staff was wonderful. We had a ball!!!! Local restaurants were wonderful (especially enjoyed the staff, food and atmosphere of the Glass House). Broadway was very close. Times Square was practically at our doorstep. Double decker bus tours were very close to catch. Deli's and other amenities were all close by. Shopping for souvenirs was convenient. The door man was fantastic, the maids were friendly, the front desk staff was very helpful and the concierge was good.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
w st paul mn
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

The Edison Hotel was a great location for Times Square, Broadway Shows, Walking distance to Central Park and Rockfeller Center.
The rooms were large and very clean. Added secuity at the elevators made a a safe, pleasant stay. The complimentary wine and cheese nights were an added feature.
I would return in a heart beat.
S Thuecks

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

Central to Times Square. Clean but small rooms. Ours was a little dated but I believe they are renovating the rooms. Bathroom small but clean. The staff were friendly and you have to show your room key before heading in to the elevator area. This was nice because it just added that extra bit of safety to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bubblyblond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#337 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15,788 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#288 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,664 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#142 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,703 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#375 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,665 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#194 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edison Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edison Times Square

Property: Hotel Edison Times Square
Address: 228 West 47th Street, Between Broadway and 8 Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-1401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Green Hotel in New York City
#216 Business Hotel in New York City
#245 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Edison Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 810
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1931, Hotel Edison is an architectural art deco masterpiece with a rich history dating back from the moment famed American inventor, Thomas Edison turned on the light at the grand opening of the hotel to playing host to countless notables, to movie and television appearances. Hotel Edison is conveniently situated in the heart of New York City's iconic Times Square, amidst the energy and excitement of the latest in Broadway Theatres, nightlife, fine dining and shopping. The hotel is within steps of Midtown Manhattan's premier business and leisure destinations - Time Warner Center, Rockefeller Center, MoMA and world renown Fifth Avenue Shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Superbreak UK, Southall Travel, Hotel.de and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Edison Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edison Towers Times Square
Edison Hotel New York City
Edison New York
Edison Towers Time Square
Edison Hotel Nyc
Hotel Edison New York City
Edison Towers New York
Edison Towers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing