We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If your looking for a great location then this is the place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Edison Times Square
Ranked #308 of 466 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“If your looking for a great location then this is the place”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

When we first arrived at the hotel we were told we couldn't check into the room until 3 o'clock which is pretty normal at most hotels thus meaning we had to leave our luggage in the hotel to prevent trekking it around the streets of New York but the baggage men were very rude and wouldn't allow us to pay them later on considering we had just arrived and had no change. We stepped outside the hotel and realised how close we were to Times Square with actually amazed me and my mother because it was an ideal location for a tourist.

Considering we were travelling for my mums birthday which was informed to the hotel before we visited we were given a free token for breakfast and a nice little card was left in our room which I suppose was a nice touch. The breakfast was average. The beds were a nice size and rather comfortable. The safe in the room did not work meaning we had to carry dollars all the time and hide passports and also we had no fridge and the shower was very decisive as to whether it was boiling or freezing.

The tv was very good in the room offering new movies for free and also the gym facilities were decent which pleased me.

We only stayed for 4 nights which meant it was a short journey with a lot of travelling and the shuttle bus the hotel offered to JFK made the long travelling a whole lot worse making us wait around for ages and it would've probably been quicker and just a tad more expensive to get a taxi straight there so I would not advise.

Overall good location, cheap hotel what can you expect really.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T0m_Spence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,324
    3,795
    2,069
    754
    507
See reviews for
2,693
3,089
404
448
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,747)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

We stayed here for 8 nights in August 14. Our first ever trip to New York so we were very excited. I do not expect 5 star facilities when paying 3 star.....but I do not expect to be taken for a ride. It seems that "Marco on the front desk" tried that on us. We had pre paid through Expedia months beforehand. On receiving our room keys for our "Signature Queen Series Room" we opened the door and nearly hit the bed with the door...it was the smallest room that I have ever seen much smaller than the square metres it said on the website......that wasn't the real problem,,,,it was the smell. We immediately returned to "Marco". The look on his face told the story..."I didn't get away with giving these first timers a really really bad room" I asked if we could have a bigger 2 bed room and was told that since we booked with an outside agency then I would have to deal with them. I asked if he could check his computer and he said no...they were booked out. I said that I had just checked tripadvisor and they had plenty of rooms that I was after. He then proceeded to tell me that I have no idea how the Hotel business worked and glare at me.................What is going on here....the room stunk and was the size of a shoebox and we paid for the upgraded rooms and here we are getting the worst ever service. He would not allow us to pay for another larger room when they were available....why.
Eventually he won the stare down contest (this shoulnt be happening) and we were given another room. It was just ok only slighty bigger but no smell....8 nights in this box...great. Well 3 o clock in the morning my partner thought I was having a shower...no I was in bed. Water was gushing through the bathroom roof in our bathroom for about 3 minutes. We called and reported it to the night manager. Three hours later the same thing happened. Called the night manager who was lovely and he sent up a maintenance man....his first response...OMG. They did the right thing and closed the room. They moved us to another room, which was indicative with what we expected in the first place ...which we were very happy with.(n.b.....all three rooms had the same size small bathroom) It seems that they have different sizes for rooms that are stated as Signature Queen rooms.....so it is pot luck..... I really don't know how to rate this hotel...is it only through luck that we got had to go through 2 dodgy rooms to get a good one. Other than the horrible customer service we received from Marco everyone else at the hotel were lovely..

Room Tip: Free wifi only with signature rooms....and you had to re log in every 24 hours
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMartin270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Researched hotels before our visit to NYC and saw mixed reviews of this hotel however must say location is supberb and rooms where clean. It was good value for us especially we spent little time in room.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to newer room more modern than our kids room which didnt get upgrade but if u have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dinoToronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2014 via mobile

This was an awesome find! It's an old renovated hotel that is so accommodating. They found me a fridge,kept my room tidy and offered great suggestions to places every where I'd go! Oh and the gym was clean and new. Found this amazing hotel by contacting them directly online. There was a sale going on and saved 30% plus they upgraded me. Can't wait to come back to NYC.

Stayed September 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jenny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

The hotel room was small and the staff were polite but not too friendly and welcoming in my opinion. But the lobby was nice and the location is Perfect. I expected more for the price I paid but as the location was good I recommend this place. But if you love to stay in hotel and rest in your room it was not ideal.

Room Tip: my room was in 7th floor and it was dark with no view of city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank par_hoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2014

I traveled to new York, for the first time, and stayed at the Edison Hotel in Times Square with my best friend. We thought the hotel was quite nice although it was slightly dated. Our room had a dresser that was coming apart and we could not purchase a movie through the television due to a flaw in the system. There was a domestic dispute in the room next to us and we had to call security to come up and see if the woman in the dispute was alright. We were slightly afraid but settled down a short time later. Overall, the location was great and we had no trouble finding our daily excursions and getting back to the hotel afterwards. The staff was helpful and the room was cleaned each day. The hotel was very close to theaters and restaurants were within walking distance so we never had to rent a cab to go anywhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DWalton714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burke, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Our family enjoyed our recent stay (we had 2 rooms) at the Edison. The hotel is just steps from Broadway and all the action. The beautiful art deco lobby is a great place to meet up with friends. On Friday afternoon they offered a nice reception in the lobby with free wine, cheese/crackers and live music. We also enjoyed our breakfasts in the lobby coffee shop. The breakfast was fast, delicious and surprisingly reasonably priced! Our rooms were good sized and clean. The air conditioning was wonderful and kept the rooms nice and cool. All of the employees that we spoke with in the lobby were professional and very courteous. (The only small complaint we had was that the maid never left us more than 2 full size clean towels. When we pointed this out to her she said "Yeah. None of my rooms have enough towels." But this was quickly remedied when we stopped by the front desk and asked for towels. They had been delivered to our rooms by the time we got back from the theatre.)

I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends. Great staff and great location.

Room Tip: Elevators are small but move quickly. I'd request a lower floor for easier access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Vicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#347 of 466 in New York City
18,102 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#191 of 466 in New York City
9,485 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#272 of 466 in New York City
11,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#154 of 466 in New York City
7,008 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#298 of 466 in New York City
7,222 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#384 of 466 in New York City
4,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edison Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edison Times Square

Property: Hotel Edison Times Square
Address: 228 West 47th Street, Between Broadway and 8 Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-1401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Green Hotel in New York City
#212 Business Hotel in New York City
#241 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Edison Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 810
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1931, Hotel Edison is an architectural art deco masterpiece with a rich history dating back from the moment famed American inventor, Thomas Edison turned on the light at the grand opening of the hotel to playing host to countless notables, to movie and television appearances. Hotel Edison is conveniently situated in the heart of New York City's iconic Times Square, amidst the energy and excitement of the latest in Broadway Theatres, nightlife, fine dining and shopping. The hotel is within steps of Midtown Manhattan's premier business and leisure destinations - Time Warner Center, Rockefeller Center, MoMA and world renown Fifth Avenue Shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Southall Travel, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Edison Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edison Towers Times Square
Edison Hotel New York City
Edison New York
Edison Towers Time Square
Edison Hotel Nyc
Hotel Edison New York City
Edison Towers New York
Edison Towers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing