We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, good service, average room quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Edison Times Square
Ranked #309 of 468 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“Excellent location, good service, average room quality”
Reviewed 14 December 2010

Were to stay if you only have 2 nights in NYC ? I would strongly recommend Edison. Very close to Times Square, Broadway, Rocekefeller Plaza and walking distance to Macys, what else do you need ? The room was ok, a little "worn out" but alright when you consider price.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torgny_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,295
    3,751
    2,038
    745
    496
See reviews for
2,651
3,045
399
443
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,719)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
salisbury
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2010

Location better than expected, professional service from both the desk and the gentlemen outside. Easy walk to St. James Theater to see American Idiot. If money is no object then you should probably look elsewhere but for the rest of us it is fine. Great view from room 2030; you can see the lights on Broadway and the St. james Marquee.
Rooms are warm (opened a window), plenty of hot water (carefully adjust)r, only one ice machine (2nd floor) are the downsides. Also, for the uptown shoppers, cabbies don't like to drive into the congestion around 47th st. We will return

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2010

I stayed in this hotel for the first time in 1993, when after spending 1 night in the Pennsilvannia Hotel I needed to get out of there as soon as possible (Penssilvannia was a nightmare). I have stayed in the Edison about 6 times, 3 in the last few years and I will soon be returning. Location is excellent, in times square, near attractions, subway station, etc. I have stayed with my husband, alone, with children and with teenagers, for new year's eve, in summer, etc, and everytime has been a good experience. I feel secure, the price is right. The rooms are small, bathroom small, no ammenities in the room, place is old but clean, no filthy odors, no bedbugs. If your are going to be in the city most of the time and come to the hotel for sleeping, this is the perfect place.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rvbolorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 December 2010

This hotel is old-fashioned but in a classy nice way. We arrived at 11am and were surprised to be able to check in. Valet service was great, the hotel was very efficient. Check in was no hassle, and even though we only had a few bags we were taken to our room by a bellhop. The room was clean,warm, plenty big enough. The bed was comfy. Slept like a log. Never heard any noise during the night. Bathroom is small but water was nice and hot. Cafe had good affordable food. The sitting area was beautiful,a Christmas tree putting you in just the right mood. All the attractions were very close by. We were able to walk to the Empire State Building, Radio City Music Hall, Central Park,5th Avenue and of course Rockefeller Center to see the beautiful tree. We were inches away from Times Square and Broadway. The Edison made our trip an enjoyable and affordable great time. Doorman were very helpful and friendly also. Great job.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CraftycatRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2010

Yes there are better hotels,but at a price. My wife and I just came back from a long weekend in New York and found the hotel perfectly situated, yes it feels like your staying in your Grannies spare bedroom, but we found it very clean and comfortable with good service. Being so close toTimes Square and Broadway we did not need 1 taxi, and could enjoy a walk up 5th past all the shops to central park easily. Personal note, If you are in New York the only time spent in your hotel room should be with your eyes shut

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank todrunktofunkdunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2010

Me and my daughter stayed at this hotel on the 9th floor and found it to meet all our requirements and more, it was warm ,clean and very well furnished. the staff were polite and helpfull and the location could not be bettered if you planned it yourself! all in all an excellent place to stay and good value, would recommend to all my friends and family.NO BUGS !!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caz2411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2010

Stayed here from 29th Nov to 3rd Dec on 6th floor - we had rooms 620 and 642. 620 was parallel with the lifts, so was a little noisy - used ear plugs on the last night which helped. Both rooms were quite small with two single beds and a cramped bathroom, but very clean (no sign of any bed bugs), which was the main thing as we didn't spend alot of time in them. Lobby area was nice, but we felt that a bit of refubishment is needed - well on 6th floor at least, which was all we saw of the rest of the hotel. One thing you can't beat though was the location - perfect in every way being a few steps from Times Square. As a previous poster has put, would recommend the Curve on the corner in the opposite direction from Times Square - lovely pizza and yummy cakes!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shell58UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#345 of 468 in New York City
17,505 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#277 of 468 in New York City
11,088 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#153 of 468 in New York City
6,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#191 of 468 in New York City
9,407 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#295 of 468 in New York City
7,120 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#380 of 468 in New York City
4,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edison Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edison Times Square

Property: Hotel Edison Times Square
Address: 228 West 47th Street, Between Broadway and 8 Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-1401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Green Hotel in New York City
#215 Business Hotel in New York City
#244 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Edison Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 810
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1931, Hotel Edison is an architectural art deco masterpiece with a rich history dating back from the moment famed American inventor, Thomas Edison turned on the light at the grand opening of the hotel to playing host to countless notables, to movie and television appearances. Hotel Edison is conveniently situated in the heart of New York City's iconic Times Square, amidst the energy and excitement of the latest in Broadway Theatres, nightlife, fine dining and shopping. The hotel is within steps of Midtown Manhattan's premier business and leisure destinations - Time Warner Center, Rockefeller Center, MoMA and world renown Fifth Avenue Shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Edison Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edison Towers Times Square
Edison Hotel New York City
Edison New York
Edison Towers Time Square
Edison Hotel Nyc
Hotel Edison New York City
Edison Towers New York
Edison Towers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing