We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ALWAYS PLEASANT EXPERIENCE!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Edison Times Square
Ranked #312 of 470 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 14 December 2010

I have stayed at the Edison on multiple occasions (more than 8) and have always had a good experience. Yes, the hotel is an older art-deco building, but the location and wonderful service of the staff more than makes up for the lack of extra amenities, such as room service. When I visit New York, I never even consider any other hotels. The Edison is one of the best values in the city, expecially if you want to be in Times Square.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vicbend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (9,973)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,726 - 5,732 of 9,973 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2010

Were to stay if you only have 2 nights in NYC ? I would strongly recommend Edison. Very close to Times Square, Broadway, Rocekefeller Plaza and walking distance to Macys, what else do you need ? The room was ok, a little "worn out" but alright when you consider price.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torgny_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2010

Location better than expected, professional service from both the desk and the gentlemen outside. Easy walk to St. James Theater to see American Idiot. If money is no object then you should probably look elsewhere but for the rest of us it is fine. Great view from room 2030; you can see the lights on Broadway and the St. james Marquee.
Rooms are warm (opened a window), plenty of hot water (carefully adjust)r, only one ice machine (2nd floor) are the downsides. Also, for the uptown shoppers, cabbies don't like to drive into the congestion around 47th st. We will return

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2010

I stayed in this hotel for the first time in 1993, when after spending 1 night in the Pennsilvannia Hotel I needed to get out of there as soon as possible (Penssilvannia was a nightmare). I have stayed in the Edison about 6 times, 3 in the last few years and I will soon be returning. Location is excellent, in times square, near attractions, subway station, etc. I have stayed with my husband, alone, with children and with teenagers, for new year's eve, in summer, etc, and everytime has been a good experience. I feel secure, the price is right. The rooms are small, bathroom small, no ammenities in the room, place is old but clean, no filthy odors, no bedbugs. If your are going to be in the city most of the time and come to the hotel for sleeping, this is the perfect place.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rvbolorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2010

This hotel is old-fashioned but in a classy nice way. We arrived at 11am and were surprised to be able to check in. Valet service was great, the hotel was very efficient. Check in was no hassle, and even though we only had a few bags we were taken to our room by a bellhop. The room was clean,warm, plenty big enough. The bed was comfy. Slept like a log. Never heard any noise during the night. Bathroom is small but water was nice and hot. Cafe had good affordable food. The sitting area was beautiful,a Christmas tree putting you in just the right mood. All the attractions were very close by. We were able to walk to the Empire State Building, Radio City Music Hall, Central Park,5th Avenue and of course Rockefeller Center to see the beautiful tree. We were inches away from Times Square and Broadway. The Edison made our trip an enjoyable and affordable great time. Doorman were very helpful and friendly also. Great job.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CraftycatRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2010

Yes there are better hotels,but at a price. My wife and I just came back from a long weekend in New York and found the hotel perfectly situated, yes it feels like your staying in your Grannies spare bedroom, but we found it very clean and comfortable with good service. Being so close toTimes Square and Broadway we did not need 1 taxi, and could enjoy a walk up 5th past all the shops to central park easily. Personal note, If you are in New York the only time spent in your hotel room should be with your eyes shut

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank todrunktofunkdunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2010

Me and my daughter stayed at this hotel on the 9th floor and found it to meet all our requirements and more, it was warm ,clean and very well furnished. the staff were polite and helpfull and the location could not be bettered if you planned it yourself! all in all an excellent place to stay and good value, would recommend to all my friends and family.NO BUGS !!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caz2411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#402 of 470 in New York City
4,749 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#355 of 470 in New York City
19,890 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#141 of 470 in New York City
7,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#199 of 470 in New York City
9,897 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#188 of 470 in New York City
8,281 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#286 of 470 in New York City
5,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edison Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edison Times Square

Address: 228 West 47th Street, Between Broadway and 8 Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-1401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Green Hotel in New York City
#116 Family Hotel in New York City
#210 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £100 - £376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Edison Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 810
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1931, Hotel Edison is an architectural art deco masterpiece with a rich history dating back from the moment famed American inventor, Thomas Edison turned on the light at the grand opening of the hotel to playing host to countless notables, to movie and television appearances. Hotel Edison is conveniently situated in the heart of New York City's iconic Times Square, amidst the energy and excitement of the latest in Broadway Theatres, nightlife, fine dining and shopping. The hotel is within steps of Midtown Manhattan's premier business and leisure destinations - Time Warner Center, Rockefeller Center, MoMA and world renown Fifth Avenue Shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Edison Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edison Towers Times Square
Edison Hotel New York City
Edison New York
Edison Towers Time Square
Edison Hotel Nyc
Hotel Edison New York City
Edison Towers New York
Edison Towers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing