We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply marvelous!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Blakely New York
Ranked #134 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2012

The service was truly commendable. Before I could hang up the phone with a request, there was someone at my door within seconds. 9 delightful days spent in Junior suite 1601 last month.
The breakfast was basic, but the location as well as the ambiance was superb. Very clean, great hospitality.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank donut007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

808 - 814 of 1,447 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2012

What a lovely experience. Our room 903 was beautiful and comfortable...perfect queen size bed and everything we needed for comfort. The young staff was particularly helpful and accommodating and the door men always welcoming and friendly. We particularly appreciated how quiet our front room was on the 9th floor...except for an occasional honking taxi, it couldn't have been nicer. Continental breakfast is included in a restaurant adjoining the lobby, but we preferred Au Bon Pain from Boston right across the street...and even better, a Pret a Manger from London down at the corner. To our surprise, Benoit, our favorite restaurant in Paris, has a New York location just east of the hotel on 55th...wonderful. When we next visit NYC, we'll be at the Blakely for sure... The free internet connection was a real plus too...and when we were discussing our departure, they suggested a wonderful car service...we rode to Kennedy in a black SUV with door to door service only about ten dollars more than a cab. Merci!!~!

Room Tip: Queen size 903 was perfection...bathroom was simply luxurious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kitldo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

The best part about the hotel was its location.
We went in not expecting much from the hotel but were pleasantly surprised.
Comfortable rooms (big by NY standards), clean bathrooms.
The staff/concierge was very helpful in recommending the different things that you could do in NY.
We had free Breakfast which was nothing to write home about.
We actually went out for breakfast 2 out of the 4 days.

But the location was something that was excellent which would make us stay here again.
2 blocks from Central Park, 3 blocks from Times Square, 2 blocks from 5th Avenue. You cannot go wrong with the location. In case you want to travel by subway, the subway is literally a minute's walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manish A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

To be able to actually open your window and get fresh air is no small feat in NY... Stayed on a room facing the street on the 8th floor. The room was spacious, the bathroom spot clean with lots of fresh towels when we needed. Thanks to a tip provided on this forum, we draw a straight line when presented with the "tip voucher" at b'fast, whch was included in the room rate, as not to be surprised with "additions" at the end of our stay..... All the staff were more than helpful, but outstanding were the bell boys/concierge. And, finally, the location!!! Subway station right at the hotel's front door can't be beaten.
The only complaint is the mattress - it sunk in the middle and I had to sleep on the edge... careful not to fall on the floor......
Otherwise - highly recommended !

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danielakorem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Great location with easy walking to most attrations as well as sub way and busses.
Comfortable room (suite) but very dark (6th floor).
Wonderful bed and great bathroom.
Very booring breakfast. The same things every day and not too many choices but certainly plenty to fill you up (if you eat enough bagels and english muffins).

Room Tip: Probably higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frideborg10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

My husband and I stayed five nights the first week of May. Staff very quick in handling our two concerns over smoking smell from another room and noisy air conditioner. Obtained sixth row tickets to Broadway play at a terrific discount for us. Lovely rooms and ammenities. Would recommend to anyone who enjoys staying at a small hotel. Wonderful breakfast up the block at Park Cafe next to Wellington Hotel. Convenient to walk to many sights including Times Square. Kudos to Barry, Alex, and Edwin.

Room Tip: Request a higher floor due to traffic noise. We stayed on the 16th floor and could still hear traff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Overall good experience on well located boutique hotel with suite accommodation, very suitable for couples or small family of 3 like us.
Pros- great location, subway close, 10 minute walk to Lincoln centre, times square, rockefeller centre, fifth ave shops. Very close to dry-cleaning, restaurants, nail bars etc. Decor is boutique, old fashioned , very clean. Free breakfast and wifi included. We had a one bedroom suite. Very comfortable queen beds, small dark sitting room with comfortable sofa sleeper, nice bathroom and excellent spa bath. Noise not w problem away from 55th street. Elevators work fine, apparently were being fixed for 3 months hence others comments.
Cons- no outlook, dark rooms, 2 queens in main bedroom so a bit tight for space . Closet room sufficient. The breakfast is adequate, certainly saves money and time, but staff so rude that they all should be sacked. This restaurant is not the Blakely but allied to it and they should change as it reflects badly on them. Similarly room service food is limited and closes early. We found the lovely library entrance to be sadly lacking in warmth from staff for most of our 8 day stay, although the last 2 days we were suddenly noticed and assisted in a helpful way. The staff multitask and as there is no dedicated concierge or door opener or person to get taxi, if the is is important, maybe this is not the hotel for you.
Overall- excellent value for money. Perhaps make contact with Andreas or staff downstairs early on to be recognized and/ or have concierge advice. No need for lower room- elevators are fine and there may be a little more light in room.

Room Tip: A suite with a queen bed would provide more room if they have this layout
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stellamAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#115 of 469 in New York City
1,759 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#117 of 469 in New York City
1,289 reviews
Midtown
The London NYC
The London NYC
#191 of 469 in New York City
3,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#44 of 469 in New York City
2,860 reviews
Midtown
Chambers Hotel
Chambers Hotel
#158 of 469 in New York City
644 reviews
Midtown
Carnegie Hotel
Carnegie Hotel
#260 of 469 in New York City
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blakely New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blakely New York

Address: 136 W 55th St, Bet. 6th & 7th Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-5305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Family Hotel in New York City
#107 Business Hotel in New York City
#109 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#109 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £170 - £384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Blakely New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Midtown Manhattan Central Park West, steps way from Times Square and 5th Avenue Shops. A 4-Diamond Property, continuously voted as one of the top independent hotels by US News & World Report - 2014 - 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Blakely New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blakely New York Hotel New York City
Blakely Hotel New York City
Blakely New York City
Blakely New York Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing