We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value On 55th”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Blakely New York
Ranked #139 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
144 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good Value On 55th”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Snagged a very reasonble rate given location and room size for this smallish boutique hotel on 55th between 6th and 7th avenue. Room was very large by NYC standards with a nice bathroom and a small kitchen area as well. Previous readers were spot on about getting a high floor room; there can be a lot of street noise and a higher floor helps to mitigate. Don't expect much from the free continental breakfast, choices are few, quality is just average (think Fairfield Inn) and service non-existant. Front desk and door staff very pleasant. Subway is a block away. Would stay again

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winwolf56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    680
    531
    110
    27
    16
See reviews for
392
483
43
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

My wife, daughter and i stayed here for 4 nights recently at this wonderful boutique hotel and and it could not have been a better stay. The staff, particukary Edwin and Pedro and the manager and other whose names I do not have, were just exceptional. The housekeepers were terrific and actually seemed to like working at this establishment. What a great attitude. We had a minor problem in the room (light bulbs) which i mentioned at the front desk and before i got back upstairs someone was there to take care of it. They say they are totally focused on a positive experience for their guests, and trust me, that is true. Our room was a large one bedroom suite which was reasonably priced (particularly by NYC standards, at least 50% less than comparable rooms in the area) and like the rest of the hotel, was immaculate. Guidance and suggestions provided by the staff were excellent. These people become "friends" during yours stay. Location too is excellent...2 minutes from Carnagie Hall, 7-10 minutes walk to central Park and Columbus Circle, and 10-15 minute walk to any Broadway theater. The continental breakfast was the only weak spot but certainly does niot change my praise for the hotel. The breakfast is adequate assuming the adjacent restaurant they contract with doesn't run short on the basics, which they did during our stay, and when asked about it, the restaurant staff didn't seem to care. Regardless, overall this is probably the best stay we have had in NYC over the 40 years or so of traveling there a couple of times a year. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: We prefer the Street side rooms for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013 via mobile

Started with a great welcome and fast check in. Our room was on 12 floor with a view not looking onto a brick wall as some ny hotels are. Good size room which included a small kitchenette with tea and coffee making facilities also micro wave. Nice bathroom with whirlpool bath.
Complementary breakfasts of cereal and toast etc . In great location just a couple of blocks bown from Central Park ans short walk to Times Square.
Staff very helpful and courteous . Ideal for a short stay in the bug apple

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buster1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Greenwich, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

I've stayed at the Blakely several times in the past five years on business and with family. The hotel is a bargain in a city known for expensive lodgings. The rooms, especially the one-bedroom suites, are generous for NYC. This is not a cookie-cutter, high-rise hotel. Continental breakfast is complimentary. The parking garage is next door. The location is perfect if you're calling on mid-town offices or taking your family to see the sites at Rockefeller Center or Central Park. Quality stay at reasonable rates.

Room Tip: Suites are very generous in size and affordable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VicTriplev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannes, France
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013 via mobile

We found this hotel on luxury group and booked directly with the hotel. Cozy little gem between Times Square and fifth avenue. Everything was excellent. It's an older bldg but bathrooms are upgraded to modern standards.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m00ikut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We always stay at the Blakely when visiting New York. (Tried a different hotel once and hated it).
The hotel looks small but is generous and comfortable inside. The rooms are lovely with the most comfy beds ever. Tea and coffee in the room makes a big difference as well as a fridge. The Concierges are excellent without being officious. Basic breakfast is provided which is also a plus for us, although on this occasion additional items to order were not available which was a shame. A perfect location, an easy walk to 5th Avenue and Times Square complete the deal for us.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 350TinaP350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

My two teenagers and I stayed in a one-bedroom suite and could not have been happier with this hotel. I called the night before to request an early check-in, and the room was ready when we arrived at noon. We were given our keys and that was that...no grand, unnecessary act of showing us up to the room, which we liked. We utilized the sitting room. The beds were incredibly comfortable with nice, firm mattresses and quality pillows. The room was very clean, and we felt safe and well taken care of here. Though there was a delay with one item on our room service order (mushroom flatbread), it was worth waiting for. Breakfast was a great perk. When we asked for a late check out the next day, it was granted. A car service was called for us, which ended up costing less than a cab. I wish we were there now!

Room Tip: Our fourth-floor suite faced W 55th St. We had a late night, so the traffic in the morning was a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rleewin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The London NYC
The London NYC
#168 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,398 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#95 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
Midtown
The Hilton Club - New York
The Hilton Club - New York
#200 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#91 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,192 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#40 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,584 reviews
Midtown
Chambers Hotel
Chambers Hotel
#158 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blakely New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blakely New York

Property: The Blakely New York
Address: 136 W 55th St, Bet. 6th & 7th Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-5305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 Family Hotel in New York City
#108 Business Hotel in New York City
#109 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#111 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Blakely New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Midtown Manhattan Central Park West, steps way from Times Square and 5th Avenue Shops. A 4-Diamond Property, continuously voted as one of the top independent hotels by US News & World Report - 2014 - 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Blakely New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blakely New York Hotel New York City
Blakely Hotel New York City
Blakely New York City
Blakely New York Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing